Futurism logo

AI Writing Isn't Real Writing

Writers Need to Wake Up

By Janay EaleyPublished about a year ago 3 min read

My mother likes to call me the tech girl of our family. I was always better at than she was. I was born in 2003 so I grew up in an era of technology. People say that technology has changed our lives for the worst. I would say that it changed our lives for better.

There are many things we wouldn’t be able to do if we didn’t have technology. I have two parents from Gen X and they didn’t grow up with technology. My mom has mixed feelings towards technology, claiming it will be death of us. For someone who talks a lot about the internet, when it comes doing basic things on the internet, she always calls me. Once again, I love technology but it’s okay to say when things have gone too far.

It’s okay to say we don’t need technology for this because we have people who can do that themselves. I feel like I am the only writer that feels this way about AI. I was horrified to discover that most of the books on Amazon are written by AI. It’s a slap in the face to writers who have slaved days and nights on their books that haven’t been published yet. A girl’s father on Tiktok spend fourteen years on his book and spent eleven years without a sale.

That broke my heart and it made me mad. The Tiktok community blew him up. In 2023, the writers of the most-watched shows are all on strike. They have had enough. They are the backbone of these shows, and we deserve as much as these actors. I do understand why actors and actresses get paid more because what they do is difficult but so is writing.

Writers in the entertainment industry were paid less for years while in this world, a person can sit band let the mind of computer do all the hard work for them. I don’t approve of that method, and I never will. I am afraid of placing an order for a book on Amazon, knowing every word is written by a robot. I hope the books stores aren’t doing the same especially Barnes and Nobles. Today, we are tackling with a governor who is trying to take our right to read and that’s not okay. We should be doing the same about AI.

It worries me that I don’t see the big-time authors speaking out aganist this. Ghostwriters and co-writers are the only minds that I accept because they are the minds of actual people. It is disrespectful to REAL WRITERS, and I stand by that statement. Here is a reveal: I am working on a novel this year. It will be hard for me because it is my first time writing the bigger and longer story.

Remember that a writer can’t write a story that they are not passionate about! I am in love with the story and I hope that others will. I believe this story can change a perspective on an expression that has been a part of society. I need to stop lying to myself but sometimes it’s good to be delusional. I’m serious...AI needs to go because I feel like it’s trying to replace us.

In the modern day of age, there is an attack on literature and if we don’t fight back, we might be gone. No one will be looking for us. No one will care about us.

I know you are probably reading this and thinking that:

" Oh she is being overly dramatic, and we aren't going anywhere! "

but I don’t know what the future holds for us.

artificial intelligence

About the Creator

Janay Ealey

Greetings, my fellow readers!

Writer.

Social Media Manager.

Student.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Janay EaleyWritten by Janay Ealey

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.