Criminal logo

Nikolas Cruz

Death was never option for him

By Janay EaleyPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Nikolas Cruz mugshot: February 15th, 2018

I know the American people weren’t that stupid enough to believe that Nikolas Cruz was going to receive the death penalty. He’s a school shooter. School shooters will get leniency because simply they are young. As a woman who is the age of twenty, I’m going to keep it real. My mother believes that he didn’t get sent to the chair because of white privilege.

To her, the state of Florida is known for frying these criminals so why wouldn’t they do the same to him? I don’t believe it had anything to do with his skin color. I think it had a lot to do with the jury falling for these types of young men. It’s easy to feel sorry for them. The jury wasn’t thinking about the parents of the victims.

They were only thinking about him. Why do you think his defense team used the sympathy card? People believe that everyone is not born evil and there is something that shapes them into that person. I stand by that statement as well. Even after everything the other team used aganist him, it still wasn’t enough for the jury to wake up.

It’s all about influencing the jury and whose side they are going to be on. There are people that are against the death penalty and for the life sentence and then there is the other way around for their own reasons. These lawyers know the American people don’t understand these kinds of people. That’s why they pick and choose certain jurors. They don’t want jurors with common sense. You should know this by now.

Don’t you think the same technique that they used for Nikolas Cruz, they would use for Salvador Ramos? These two would have been the best friends but would still clash because they are much alike. It’s almost if they are the same person. They were known for violent and aggressive behavior towards their peers and girlfriends. They were killing animals which is what Dr. Rex Beaber calls a classic sociopath feature.

They were known for making threats to peers. Their girlfriends were scared to death of them. They were expelled from their schools. The list goes on and on... The Secret Service can claim that there is no specific trait or behavior to determine whether someone is capable of committing a horrifying act but from what I see is a pattern with these school shooters.

If Salvador Ramos was alive, he would have a strong case for the death penalty because of how he killed his victims and the disgusting things he did in that classroom. I won’t speak on that due to the respect of the parents and loved ones who lost those on that day. The difference between the two is that Nikolas was never right from the beginning and something in Salvador changed when he was a child according to his childhood teacher. I believe that she may have known that he was going down on the wrong path. I don’t like that they are desperately trying to hide information about him, his family and the elementary school that I feel the public should already know about but people are saying that they don’t care what anyone else says so I’ll keep my mouth closed on that part.

I still find it be sneaky and fishy. I don’t understand why the parents are pissed at his defense team and not at the jury. Maybe because they aren’t there to be screamed at but it’s always up to them to decide where these monsters go. I am still stuck on the man that knew Nikolas had questionable mental health and still sold him the AR. He actually believed the lie that Nikolas told him because money was all on his mind not these two questions: Should I give this nineteen-year-old boy the most dangerous weapon that is used in the miliary? Should I trust anything that this boy is telling me when I should know the history of school shootings in America?

Even if he didn’t ask him: what was going to use the rifle for? I bet you that Nikolas wouldn’t even told him anything. It’s something about teenage boys that I do not trust. It’s not to generalize because not all teenage boys are the same but there is a portion that you need watch for. At the end, the jury chose the killer over the victims.

That is exactly what I concluded when I saw the verdict. If they would’ve gone with the death penalty, it could be the start of change in this country. Maybe it would stop these young boys from having a dream of becoming a school shooter because becoming a mass murderer is the ideal for these boys and that’s not normal. It looks like the power of influence but that’s another story.

The End....

juryguilty

About the Creator

Janay Ealey

Greetings, my fellow readers!

Writer.

Social Media Manager.

Student.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Janay Ealey (Author)about a year ago

    A rewrite of this story is coming soon because some things sound strange and I don't want my readers to think I have empathy towards killers. This is why the editing and rewriting process is important. This story will be about the two individuals instead of one like what I've done with my recent story. Stay tuned! Thanks, Janay

Janay EaleyWritten by Janay Ealey

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.