Filthy logo

Unnatural Affinity (9)

A Paranormal Romance

By Troi McAdory Published about a year ago 13 min read
Like
via Unsplash_Marek Piwnicki

I stood in front of my closet door, staring at the clothes I had on hand. I wanted nothing to do with this banquet, all the thrill left me the moment Kale cornered me in the elevator. To his credit, he stayed away from me, and any messages he wanted to be relayed he delivered through email to Donald. Donald could tell there was something amiss by Kale’s roundabout communication, but he didn’t press for it. Though he did advise if Kale and I were in an altercation to let Kale win. We weren’t necessarily arguing with one another but there was a tension of a different kind luring.

I chastised myself once more for making eye contact with him that night at the bar. I shouldn’t have broken my rule since it was there for a reason. Now Kale won’t let me go and I wasn’t so sure how I felt about that. It didn’t upset me as much as I would have liked, yet there was a level of apprehension simmering beneath it. He made me feel unbalanced as if the longer we stayed near each other the more unstable I'd get.

For a fleeting moment, I imagined what kind of tale I would spin to get out of attending the banquet when my hand rested on the dress I initially decided I’d wear. My skin was taut against my bones the longer I thought about my arrival and first encounter with Kale since the elevator fiasco. Luckily, Donald would be there to buffer most of our interactions because I could only imagine what this would be like without him.

Pulling the dress from the closet, I held it up to examine, pondering if this was the dress I wanted to go in. It was a satin, black strapless dress with a keyhole in the back. It was simple, coming just above my knees so it was appropriate for the occasion. Deciding I didn’t want to wear anything else, I laid the dress on the bed and hopped into the shower. I made it quick, not fussing with my hair, and jumped right out.

Wrapped in just a towel, I began to dig through my closet for shoes. I had several pairs that could have easily gone with the dress but I wanted to be comfortable. I was sure that I would be on my feet for the majority of the night. Despite my previous qualms and trying several comfy selections, I settled on a pair of strappy silver pumps. Figured if I was going to show up I might as well show out.

As I dressed, I reflected on my Google search on Kale earlier this week. There was nothing personal about him like his hometown or his parents. They were things the general public did not need to know but would like to know. With most celebrities, this was easily available. Anyone would be curious about the man who controlled such an illustrious company, especially in the City of Lost Angels.

He was an enigma of a man who was hard to shake. He wasn't going to let the elevator incident stay where it should remain inside the elevator. My stomach twisted at the thought. At his first opportunity, he'd bring it up. Maybe I could use it to my advantage as an opportunity to figure out more things about him. I just needed to figure out how I'd do it without sounding like I had already been creeping on him.

I moved to the mirror hanging from the wall to do my hair. Throwing it up in a bun, I left a few loose tendrils of long curls to give it the effortless look. Then, I applied lipstick, mascara, and eyeliner with accessories of a satin choker and teardrop earrings. Grabbing a small black clutch, I threw the necessities inside and started out the door.

I made the drive towards North Hollywood for the Bellaire Banquet Hall. Earlier, when Donald came gushing to me about what the venue looked like I wanted to peek. He made me promise not to pry because he wanted me to be surprised when I arrived. All he would say when I asked was that we would do a lot of dancing.

Bellaire Banquet Hall via Facebook

Upon arrival, there were parking attendants directing traffic and showing us where to leave our vehicles. I left mine with the valet and caught sight of Donald outside the venue just as I was giving the attendant my keys. There were lights all over the building and patio area of various colors and shades. To the side, there was a red carpet and backdrop with the Bellaire insignia for guests to take pictures. I met Donald under the long arch leading to the hall. He was easily the joy of the party.

I stood beside him, silently greeting everyone in the circle and Donald wrapped his muscled arm around my waist to introduce me.

“She is the loveliest girl ever,” he said with an appreciative glance. “I couldn't have asked for a better teammate. If I were straight, I’d marry her.”

I blushed at the compliment as everyone bubbled into pleasured laughter. Donald exchanged a few more words and politely excused us.

Arm still around me, he led us inside into what was one of the most beautiful venues I'd ever seen. Extravagant flowers on each table varying from white to blue to a deep shade of purple. Crystal glassware with cutlery of silver and pure gold linings with intricate swirling designs as if they were made for royalty. Each chair had a white covering and silk ribbon tied around to match the flower centerpiece. A grand staircase led to another area where at least three more tables fit. A gentleman dressed from head to toe in attire matching the theme colors was fixing the assortments on the table. All of the employees of the venue were matching the theme in some way.

Donald wasted no time taking me to the highlight of the banquet which was the dance floor. Underneath our feet was an aquarium where koi fish swam freely. I was hesitant to step on the glass because of my sharp heels, but Donald assured me people hosted parties and organizations here all the time, meaning the glass was surely durable. The sight was spectacular and hypnotizing to watch the glowing fish swim one way while I moved another.

Flocks of bodies moved throughout the venue as I heard hushed conversations about the program starting in the next ten minutes. Some were beginning to take their seats assigned to them by the name cards on each table. While we waited, Donald introduced me to another group of people. They were all part of a law firm that dealt with the special cases of foster children, the adoption of siblings, and other aspects involved when taking in a child.

One woman mentioned she worked at a firm specializing in celebrity scandals but grew tired of it when she realized she did not get as excited about her job as she used to. Over time, celebrity scandals were sure to be daunting experiences that required the thickest of skin to represent them. She said most of her cases involved the young and rich committing crimes an average person would spend time for.

I was attracted to her story and the two of us managed to separate to have our conversation. She gave me some thorough advice that I was sure to take with me throughout my career as a minority woman. She also provided some tips—like the dos and donts—for managing Kale's image. With him becoming a household item, Donald and I had to be on top of it. Erickson Enterprises was my first big job in a field that excited me, and I wanted to be sure I learned all I could from the industry.

The more fame Kale received, the more Donald would step forward to be the face of the PR team. Of course, the two of us did not manage everything on our own since Donald was in charge of at least twenty-five people. But I was the first-mate to his captain. Donald had the personality to step in front of the camera or be photographed alongside Kale as he roamed the streets to a lunch meeting.

The music started at this point. There were many songs we were familiar with, which got Donald more amped up. He grabbed my hands, swaying them side to side, to the beat. I couldn't help falling in line with his little dance, enjoying our time on the dance floor. Donald had us giggling and laughing until our stomachs were ready to give out. We were having a blast and granted, we'd only known each other a week but Donald was such a loving person who was growing on me.

He pulled me close, the breath from his laughter softly brushing my cheeks. “Have you been drinking, Don?”

He spun me around and brought me back to his chest. “Only two glasses of champagne. But I love parties and I love to dance, so dance with me, Max!”

And I did.

Bellaire Banquet Hall via Facebook

It was so much fun being with him in a room filled with so many lively guests. We weren’t our job titles, only people having a great time supporting an outstanding cause. I’m not sure how much time passed when I realized the building was more crowded than before. Because the aquarium lights were changing colors, more people gravitated towards it like moths to a flame.

Donald spun me around and dipped me just as Kale walked in. Also noticing him, Donald pulled me upright. Bringing his lips to my ear, he said, “Seriously, get on his good side.”

With my arms around Donald’s shoulders and his hands on my lower back, I watched Kale scan the room in one sweep. When his liquid green eyes caught sight of us he started walking our way.

We disengaged from one another and squared our shoulders to smile politely. Kale shook Donald’s hand with a pat on the back as he thanked him for coming to the event. Donald returned the gesture and thanked him for the invite. He nodded in my direction, making no attempts to touch me. Donald watched the exchange with slight tension, the delicate skin around his eyes tightening into fine lines.

“Hello, Ms. Lucchesi,” he said in a deep, soft voice. He sounded clear as day even under the rumble of music. “You look beautiful.”

“Thank you.” I couldn’t find any words to compliment him without sounding needy or tense.

I caught myself avoiding his strong gaze and so did Donald. He filled the empty space with meaningless words and at some point, Kale decided to mingle with others as they openly approached him.

Because Kale was one of the speakers, he was directed off the dance floor with two women and another man who I assumed were also speakers for the evening. As soon as Kale was out of earshot, Donald took me by the hand to pull me aside near the grand stairs where no one could see us.

“I tried not to pry earlier but I need to know,” he started, body tight in suspense, “what happened between you two.”

“Nothing.”

Donald stared pointedly at me. “You said you knew him once, right? Did you kiss him?”

I wish that were the case, I thought ironically. I pursed my lips. “No, nothing like that happened.”

“Then what happened? I can’t work around you two if you’re bickering behind the scenes.”

I poked through Donald’s head to decide how I should answer. I avoid it with people I have relationships with and I liked Donald as a person and manager. Just this once I wanted to know where his line of thinking was coming from before I answered.

She better not tell me she fucked one of the twins and Kale found out. Jesus, all of our asses will be on the line if that’s what she’s about to tell me.

She’s better off staying on Kale’s side if she wants to keep working here smoothly.

I sighed, rubbing my forehead. To satisfy Donald, I could give him part of the truth. “He wants to sleep with me.”

Donald was utterly stunned, jaw going slack. I somewhat expected the reaction based on where his mind had been. I snapped my fingers in front of his face to get rid of that frozen stare, and when he came to he blinked several times, stammering.

Donald pulled me closer to him as if we were lovers, putting a hand beside my head on the railing of the steps. I followed his lead, circling one of my hands around his waist. Now from a distance, it would look like two people having a private moment. “He told you that?”

I couldn’t find the guts to say it again, so I nodded.

“Damn, Max. I’m impressed.”

I punched him lightly in his shoulder. “You’re supposed to be on my side.”

Donald chuckled and it swiftly faded to a frown. “You know he’s used to getting what he wants.”

“I’m quickly learning that,” I muttered. I doubted there wasn’t much Kale couldn’t get his hands on at command.

“I’m not sure what to tell you, honestly.” Donald paused to think for a moment. “Is he harassing you?”

My eyes bugged. “No, he’s not! It’s not like that at all, Donald.”

His hands went up in defense. “Okay, okay. So, your dilemma is you want him too...clearly.”

I bit my lip as my cheeks flushed. “Who wouldn’t? But I can’t just give him what he wants because he’s asking for it, can I?”

Donald sighed, shaking his head. “Technically, there’s nothing wrong with it if you two decide to act on your desires. Employee relationships are not foreign but are meant to be kept under wraps and out of the office. If the CEO is making moves on you, he knows the risks he’s taking by pursuing a relationship.”

I couldn’t tell Donald Kale wanted more than just my body. He wanted to know my darkest, most secluded secrets. He wanted to know me in ways no other man or human has ever gotten to know me. And the idea of it shook me to my core. What was I getting myself into? At some point tonight, Kale was going to address what happened in the elevator.

“Just don’t make googly eyes at each other,” he said grinning, tone teasing. “I really couldn’t handle it if you two started that.”

I was a bit bothered by how quickly Donald was adapting to the idea of me sleeping with Kale. Unless…

“Has this happened before in your experience?”

Donald shook his head, mischief still ringing in his blood. “No, Mr. Webster was a bit different than Kale in many ways, but I know sexual tension when I see it. Either you sleep with him or sleep with someone else because it all stinks.” He waved his hand in mock disgust.

“You make it sound like I need to scratch an itch,” I said dryly.

My ears rang with the playful sound of Donald's laughter.

relationshipsnsfwliteraturefictionfeminismerotic
Like

About the Creator

Troi McAdory

A celestial hippie with Peter Pan syndrome. I write about the things I cannot always say out loud.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.