Filthy logo

The Reality of First-Time Sex: It's Not Always What You Expect

What I Wish I Knew Before I Had Sex for the First Time

By ravifcboultPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
The Reality of First-Time Sex: It's Not Always What You Expect
Photo by Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

I remember the moment I decided I was ready to have sex for the first time. I was 18 and had been in a steady relationship with my boyfriend for over a year. We had talked about it and decided that we were both ready to take the next step in our relationship.

I was nervous, of course. I had heard all the horror stories about how painful it could be and how it could ruin relationships. But I trusted my boyfriend and I was excited to finally experience this milestone with him.

The day finally arrived and we headed to his apartment, where we had planned to spend the night together. I was a bundle of nerves as we undressed and got into bed.

The actual act of having sex was not nearly as bad as I had imagined it would be. Sure, there was some discomfort at first, but it was nowhere near the level of pain that I had been expecting.

What really surprised me was how emotional I became afterwards. As we lay there in bed, I couldn't help but feel overwhelmed by a flood of emotions. I was happy, relieved, and grateful to have experienced this moment with someone I cared about deeply.

But at the same time, I also felt a sense of loss. I realized that I had just given away a part of myself that I could never get back. It was a strange feeling, and one that took me by surprise.

The next morning, my boyfriend and I talked about our experience and agreed that it had been a special moment for both of us. But even as we cuddled and basked in the afterglow, I couldn't shake the feeling that something had changed between us.

In the days and weeks that followed, I found myself questioning whether I had made the right decision. I wondered if I had rushed into things and if I was truly ready to take such a big step.

But as time passed, I came to realize that having sex for the first time is a deeply personal and emotional experience. It's different for everyone and there is no right or wrong way to feel afterwards.

I learned that it's okay to have mixed emotions and to take time to process them. And most importantly, I learned that having sex for the first time is just the beginning of a journey that will be filled with many more meaningful and memorable experiences.

As the days and weeks passed, I found myself thinking more and more about my experience of having sex for the first time. I had always heard that it was a big deal and that it would change things between me and my partner, but I wasn't quite prepared for the emotional aftermath.

At first, I struggled with feelings of insecurity and self-doubt. I couldn't help but wonder if I had made the right decision or if I had rushed into things too quickly. I wondered if I was truly ready to take such a big step in my relationship.

But as time went on, I began to see that having sex for the first time was just one experience in a long journey. It was a moment that I shared with someone I cared about deeply, and that made it all the more special.

I also learned that there is no right or wrong way to feel after having sex for the first time. It's a deeply personal and emotional experience, and everyone reacts differently. Some people may feel overwhelmed with happiness, while others may feel more ambivalent.

For me, the most important thing was that I had an open and honest conversation with my partner about our experience. We talked about our feelings and made sure to communicate openly and honestly about everything.

In the end, I came to see that having sex for the first time is just one part of a long and complex journey. It's a milestone that will be filled with many more meaningful and memorable experiences, and one that I will always look back on with fondness.

********************************************************************

roleplaysexual wellnesslingeriefeminismerotic
Like

About the Creator

ravifcboult

Writer. Model.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.