Filthy logo

Her Forgotten Past (Updated Cover)

Chapters 7-9

By Brittany BrownPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like

Chapter 7

Mystery man grasped my hand, and I froze in place. Why was he being so friendly when he didn't have to be? I had only met this man mere hours ago, and we still knew nothing about each other. Yet here I was embraced by the most handsome stranger I had ever laid eyes on.

Nonetheless, my life seemed like a mess. Whatever, or whomever I was attempting to escape from had to be unhealthy, or even dangerous, as I had mysteriously uprooted my entire life in Texas to start over. I was alive and well, despite my injuries and mystifying sudden change of appearance.

"Would you like me to drive you over to your apartment?" he quietly invited.

Hesitantly, I glanced up at his sincere eyes. "Sure," I responded. Honestly, I didn't want to go home, especially to a strange place I didn't even remember as home.

"It's only about a five-minute drive from here to Apex Apartments; I run by them every morning before work," he declared.

"Oh no, shouldn't you be at work now? I'm not holding you, am I? I'm so sorry," I started.

"No, you're no trouble at all. Work can wait."

The way his smile glowed as he spoke was so seductive. I felt that familiar clench below my waist once again. Maybe I really was losing my mind. This man solely here to help me, not lure me into his bed, I thought to myself. But then again, I wouldn't exactly mind if he did.

He helped me to my feet and carried me to the front door.

Once outside, the brightness from the sun nearly blinded me, paining my eyes. Although, the light breeze was refreshing, and I glanced around, embracing my surroundings.

His property was beautiful. Just outside the entrance, a huge water fountain rested, encompassed by the most astonishing brick driveway I had ever seen. I glanced back at the apartment I had just exited; it no longer appeared to be an apartment at all. In fact, the building coexisted as a smaller part to a huge mansion!

His home was beautiful, and I had never seen anything so fascinating, other than in the movies. Up ahead of the driveway was a massive rose garden which surrounded tall security fences. Instantaneously, I felt truly safe here, and I found myself not wanting to ever leave beyond the fences; I could dwell in the rose garden for ages.

I cleared my throat, averting his attention to me. Is this really where you live? I inquired.

"Yes," he replied, clearly not fazed by my fascination with his home.

"Where exactly do you work?" I pried, unsure if he would share details of his personal life with me. In our earlier conversation he hadn't been so willing.

"Lets just say I work in business and we'll leave it at that," he replied vaguely. He clearly wasn't offering me information about himself. And I still didn't even know his name!

He had to be extremely wealthy if he lived in a place like this, I pondered.

Either he was ashamed of what he did for a living, or he was hiding something, I concluded.

I found myself yearning to explore the remainder of his dwelling.

Who am I kidding, I admitted to myself? This will probably be the last time I see this place, and this handsome stranger, whom I know nothing about.

I glimpsed back at his place, admiring its beauty one last time as he opened the door of a sleek black BMW. He lightly assisted me into in the passengers seat as I silently fabricated in my mind memories here that I never got to make.

Chapter 8

The short car ride to Apex Apartments was awkward and silent. Mystery Man didn't speak much, other than commenting on the beautiful weather. Such a clique conversation.

Just an hour earlier, I had cried on his shoulder and he had comforted me, more than my husband ever had in all the years we had spent together.

Every time I thought about Max, I got an uneasy feeling in my stomach that he was the reason I had run away from my past life.

I had to find out the truth if I wanted to move forward in my life. I couldn't have a meaningful relationship if I couldn't have closure on my marriage or my past.

In the distance ahead, a wooden sign that read Apex Apartment Complexes in bright red letters loomed from a rusty metal pole. Is this really where I lived? My cheeks flushed from embarrassment.

He turned into the rundown parking lot, and I spotted a crooked sign on an old office building that read, Open. We parked in front of the building, and he cut off the ignition on his car. I breathed a sigh of defeat; this was embarrassing. Compared to the mansion I had just left, this place was a dump.

Upon walking inside of the shabby office, with the help of Mystery Man, I took a seat in an old grubby chair and waited. He stood closely beside me. His silence and blank expression were unnerving; I glanced in his direction as we waited for someone to come to the desk.

I wanted to know so much about him. His name. His favorite foods. Where he was from. And so much more. But all the questions I dared to ask were interrupted by a quirky older lady who wobbled from some place in the back of the office.

"Hi, dear! I was starting to think something had happened to you when you didn't come home, with your apartment being broken into and all! She sounded hysterical but relieved at the same time. "

"Looks like you've finally found yourself someone to keep you company! I was starting to wonder if you would ever get out there and mingle. I've never seen you as much leave your apartment to even go grocery shopping. So how did you manage to come across this one? "

Her eyes practically undressed Mystery Man right in front of me. He didn't seem to mind; he was probably used to female attention. After all, he was the perfect male specimen. Everything from the sandy blond hair on the top of his head, the toned muscles of his biceps, the plumpness of his perfect lips, and the shoes on his toned legs was perfect. He could have walked straight out of a magazine.

I suddenly found myself jealous of the gawking lady. But what did I have to be jealous of? A stranger who wasn't even mine?

Chapter 9

Mason

It took every ounce of my being not to drag her out of this vile apartment complex and take her back home with me. Nonetheless, I had to let her make that decision herself, whether or not she wished to stay here.

Given the circumstances, the latter seemed to be working in my favor. The expression on her face combined with her skeptical body language gave me hope; maybe she would abandon this dump and leave with me.

I had witnessed Stephanie's pain so much throughout the years. Or Julianne's. I knew exactly who she was and what she endured for so long at the hands of her abusive husband.

After all, it had been my duty in Texas to surveillance the Jacobs home, and keep a close watch on Julianne in particular while Mr. Jacobs attended to personal business matters. Or his sexual affairs, rather.

I knew everything about the Jacobs, from their financial affairs to their personal intimate matters. Max had installed secret cameras throughout their home, and each day I had no choice but to succumb to observing Julianne's every move. And each night when Max came home drunk from his night with his mistress, he would abuse her. And I had to witness every second of the horror.

I found myself despising Max more and more as time passed, and the footage became more and more difficult to watch. I just wished there were something I could do to help her escape. But given the situation she had gotten herself into when she married Max, it would be nearly impossible to leave unless in was in a casket. Dead.

Death seemed the only way out. I was unsure of why Max kept her around since all he did was sleep around and abuse her.

She seemed like an impeccable housewife, tainted by the infidelity her husband bestowed upon her. I just wished he would leave her be, so she could find happiness again. 

Day in and day out, I witnessed the treacherous abuse. Some days were worse than others. I knew I couldn't do much for the situation. My life, as well as hers, was at stake if I slipped. However, the pain in her eyes and the endless tears she shed regularly tugged on the strings of my heart.

Julianne wasn't allowed to leave the small brick house she was confined to, other than attend work or go for a run around the block occasionally. Her whole life was confined between four walls, isolated from the world.

Unlike Max, I wasn't a monster. I had hastily accepted his job offering before learning of his status; I really needed the money at the time. I gathered soon enough that he was a dedicated member of one of Chicago's finest mafias. By then, it was too late to back out; I already knew too much.

My salary as a bodyguard paid well, but at that point I would risk all the money in the world just to get Julianne out of the prison she lived in. But yet, she knew nothing of me. She had never even met me, and I was certain Max hadn't mentioned my name. I was invisible to her, but she was all I could ever see.

Max's status explained his frequent business trips in and out of town. I pondered if his wife was aware of what her husband did for a living. Why was he hiding her from the rest of the world?

to be continued.....

Please leave a tip if you're enjoying the story so far...it gets steamier!

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Brittany Brown

I am a stay at home mom to four small kids, and I am happily married to my spouse of 14 years. I love to read and write. One day, I hope to become a well-known author.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.