Filthy logo

Designating Creative Spaces

#MasterClassMonday

By Kaitlyn DawnPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Designating Creative Spaces
Photo by Mick Haupt on Unsplash

Do you have an art studio, for painting or sculpting? Or maybe you're a baker, so you act on your creativity outlet in the kitchen?

I'm a writer, and I have a home office. As a writer, I have more flexibility in where I can write -- I don't have to stick to being in my office. But I choose to, 99% of the time, because I can design and layout my office in a way that will maximize my creativity (compared to if I went to a café, where I can't control the noise of other people speaking, or other external distractions that will cause my writing flow to continually be interrupted).

For this week's MasterClass, I went a little outside the box and took a tip from Emily Morse, of @sexwithemily ... that's right, I am simultaneously helping you with your creativity AND your love life right now!

Emily is a sex expert (sexpert?) and teaches a MasterClass on "Sex and Communication". So, naturally, some of her tips include how to communicate with your partner about sex, for the more "awkward" topics: desires/fantasies you haven't shared with each other before, discussions around sexual health, etc. Emily has 3 T's for communication, one of which is TURF -- a.k.a. location (where one should and shouldn't communicate about sex with a partner). Emily's biggest suggestion: do NOT talk about these sorts of things in the bedroom; the bed should only be for sleeping and sex. Instead, communicate with your partner literally anywhere else -- on a walk, during a long car ride ...

This got me thinking about the creative process.

One Action Location

Much like how the bedroom holds a limited number of functions, it's best to have one space in your home for creativity. As I mentioned earlier, my outlet of writing does allow me some freedom -- I could write anywhere, all I need is a notebook and/or a laptop -- but I choose to stick to one location for my writing. I technically have two locations, because I like to mix it up and I will decide to write in our living room from time to time ... but I NEED to minimize distractions in the living room, or else my writing process will take twice as long. (For example: I can't have the television on, at all ... I've tried, and I still do once in awhile, but I notice a significant dip in my writing if I choose the wrong show or movie to have playing in the "background".)

My office is already basically set up for me to succeed -- it has my notebooks, my computer chargers, a couch in case I don't feel like being at my desk, and more.

Multiple Brainstorming Locations

Here's the thing about having just one creative space: if I were to stare at the same walls every day, and looking out the same window with essentially the same view of just houses (MAYBE the occasional person walking by) every day, ideas would not be coming to me ... at least not as quickly or as easily as they typically do for me.

For idea generation, it's important to go out of your comfort zone, try new things and explore. One of the ways to do this is by simply switching up your environment. I've recently been enjoying short weekly walks -- I'm fortunate that I live within walking distance of a river/beach, and that there's also a gorgeous willow tree along my path. Not only do these walks improve my mood and allow me to recharge creatively, I've also gotten bursts of inspiration from my surroundings (like the poem I wrote inspired by the willow tree I just mentioned!).

Ideas come from all types of sources, so mixing it up once in awhile (especially when you're creatively blocked) can be such a valuable experience.

My Takeaway

While my actual MasterClass takeaway is related to sex, this is the creativity takeaway that came about through comparison:

Different pieces of the creative process require different locational needs. I love the idea of having one specified place for acting on my creativity (somewhere with minimal distractions, a place where I can hold all my writing tools, an ideal spot for me to JUST write), and multiple places for idea generation (because you never know where inspiration will pop up from).

how to
1

About the Creator

Kaitlyn Dawn

27, Canadian, she/her

Life & Creativity Coach

reader, writer, and lover of words

https://www.kaitlyndawn.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.