Filthy logo

Chair Love

Do you truly rely on your chair?

By Blue Published 2 years ago 3 min read
2

Have I told you guys the story of when I fell in love with a chair? Probably not, but it is not as weird as it seems to me, since I have always found love in weird places. Once I remember that I found it in Ecuador in the color green. Last time, I found love in a little big boot back in Europe, and this time, it was on a chair in The Big Apple.

Yes, indeed, I fell in love for a plain Jane chair at first sight and I didn’t know it until something broke. The chair and I became very close from the very second we met. Our level of comfortability grew stronger as the days passed.

After a few days, I could see some changes in that plane Jane chair I had met. It seemed much more stable and very strong that it appeared to me that it had even started to change its shape. I couldn’t tell right away, but that chair became a beautiful throne for me at some point.

We “was” so happy together that I would take it everywhere, skating, partying, eating out ,etc. The chair and I “was” so mesmerizing together, and we had supported each other for a long time, but we had not sat on each other ever. Until one day I had the thought of sitting on, so I decided to be brave and asked it if we could start sitting on each other as normal people.

I mean, it was a chair and I was hell tired of being standing up all this time. Chair and I planned everything for my birthday. Our gift was gonna be sitting on each other for the first time, and I was both super excited and very nervous for that crucial moment.

Ah! When we sat on each other for the first time, it was amazing! It almost felt like heaven for me, even though, I have only been through many hells. I was loving and sitting all night long on that chair like I have never taken a sit before.

Also, Chair sat on my lap and it was for me one of the best moments of my life. Hopefully, I will never forget my best birthday ever with Chair. I was the luckiest man in the world with that beautiful chair.

However, one day something between us cracked. It was not a leg for sure. It was something deeper in tissue that used to keep us together, but none of us cared what it was. Little by little, I started to sit less and less on my throne, and sometimes it didn’t seem to be one anymore. I couldn't really tell what it was in many occasions.

In all probability, it had become a nice sofa with a cover on it. On one (leg), the fabric of that cover was beautiful and very soft. On the other (leg), the design was colorful but I couldn’t really understand the meaning of all those imprints.

Things continued to change unstoppably, and soon the sofa became a couch and the interesting cover a wet towel. I was okay with it since the couch was big enough and the towel was not very wet. I knew that the thing that broke between Chair and I was right there, under the dirty towel, but I didn’t want to find out what it was.

Believe or not, I saw the couch change form once again right in front of my eyes. This time, it turned into a bench at a train station. I was able to sit but I did not know who else had sat there before, Clearly someone else was using it since it had scratches all over. It seemed impossible, since my chair would never do something like that to me. All I wanted was that chair and it wanted me for some time or perhaps that’s what I thought.

One day that beloved chair of mine looked completely different. I could not even recognize its shape nor the eyes. I guess it became just a small unreliable stool that I didn’t want to sit on anymore. That very moment I realized what had broken was not my heart. It was my "hole" trust.

Dear chair, if someone else is sitting on you right or vice versa while you read this, I just want you to know that you are my very special chair and I hope you have a marvelous birthday of course in "do" time just as you and I celebrated mine months ago.

P.S. Please don’t break anybody else's trust again.

fiction
2

About the Creator

Blue

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Brenton F2 years ago

    Amazing; absolutely amazing! we need more of this "öutside the box" type of thinking. And here's me thinking I was alone with bizarre thought patterns akin to this. I hope to read more!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.