Fiction logo

Wedding Day

29th February, Story #60/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 3 min read
20
Wedding Day
Photo by Sinitta Leunen on Unsplash

Walking up the aisle, I wonder, like many women do, if I've made a horrible mistake.

My dress is quite lovely. Tiny buds at the neckline. Ghostly leaves overlap down my torso, spreading to an autumnal swirl in the skirt. But it's not a good fit.

That's an omen.

He's solemn-backed, handsome. Jet-black suit superbly tailored. Coal-coloured hair trimmed close and freshly combed above that impossibly white collar.

Turn around, damn you.

He turns. I study his features for joy or tears. The high cheekbones, neat facial hair, the sparks in his eyes. Nothing. Only a half-smirk curling round his face then slithering off. Cold composure hinting at hidden silken heat.

I want my steps to falter, so others see a bad omen, too. Know this is wrong and (please god) save me. From this. From him. From myself.

Honeyed venom slips out the side of his mouth and pours in my ear:

"A vision, dear," he says. "You remember this couldn't happen without your consent?"

His words hit home. I'm to blame. I could've stopped this. Why didn't I? Why don't I? Because it feels too late. Because I don't want to cause a fuss.

Some say the road to hell is paved with good intentions. Women ride them in a handcart powered by social conditioning. Careening along on smile more and hashtag be kind.

How could he? Stand here! A skin-sack of lies stitched together with a forked tongue! Is nothing sacred?

His eyes flash, he lets loose a throaty chuckle.

We say the words. The rings burn. Veil lifts, lips meet. The merriment at the corners of his answers the dread pinching mine. His tongue is hot, insistent.

Crooked arm offered, as if he's a gentleman. I rest my hand on it. This feels calculated on his part, and insipid on mine. But look: I haven't moved away.

We walk out and down the steps to chimes and cheering.

Down more steps, ground cracking, lava bubbling. Everyone applauding and throwing rice, as if I weren't descending steps to Hell with my hand on the Devil's arm.

++++++++++++

Word count (excluding note): 366

Submitted on 29th February at 22:24

*Quick Author's Note* including update on Sex Robot Challenge

First, and most importantly: thank you for reading!

Leave me a link to your own latest story, if I haven't already seen it! Especially if you're joining me on this "story every day" madne adventure.

If you enjoyed this story, the best compliment you can give me is to share it, or read another. Here is the one I wrote yesterday.

Pay no attention to the writer behind the curtain: This popped into my head in the bath.

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one makes a 60 day streak. You can find all of them in my Index post. It's also pinned to the top of my profile. I'll be posting my reflections on February, plus some prompt ideas for March, over the coming weekend.

Sex Robot Challenge:

I've collated all the entries and will make a post about them over the coming couple of days. Judging is closed, but if you've got a story that fits the prompt, you're still welcome to link me to it!

Thank you

Thank you again! I do my best to reciprocate all reads. Please do leave a comment, and I'll pop over and read one of yours as soon as I can.

Short StoryMicrofiction
20

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • Kelly Sibley 2 months ago

    Always like a good twist at the end.

  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    Wow!!!! This is a fantastic piece, L.C. - I was hooked from the first sentence. Your language and imagery are vivid and the narrative voice, appropriately urgent. Brilliantly, devestatingly done. 💗

  • Alexander McEvoy3 months ago

    Oh! But I feel clever now! Normally your twists blindside me, but this time I was able to work it out! Haha! Maybe my media literacy is increasing :) I loved the sense of dread that hung in the shadows of every line! The way you described not only her fracturing sense of self, but also the understanding that, at any point she could (theoretically) stop the proceedings and yet she wouldn't, or couldn't for fear of the dreaded fuss.

  • Cyrus3 months ago

    never saw it that way...

  • And that is why we should always say NO to marriage. Hehehehhe. Loved your story!

  • I was attracted and frightened by this narrative because it goes deep and paints a clear image of the inner struggle and cultural pressures many women suffer on their wedding day.

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Fantastic!!! Several outstanding lines!!! But, Randy's comment summarizes it so well!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Phil Flannery3 months ago

    You're nailing it. I think Randy has the most apt comment.

  • Caroline Craven3 months ago

    Felt every bit of this. Phenomenal writing.

  • For some, the Devil Wears Prada. For others, it's a tuxedo.

  • Sandra Matos3 months ago

    A modern Persephone, perhaps? I love this story a day for a year! I wish that I had the stick-to-it-ness to accomplish such a feat! In the meantime, I am enjoying your stories. You are an excellent storyteller!

  • Gerard DiLeo3 months ago

    At least there’s a lot of divorce lawyers there to choose from.

  • Jay Kantor3 months ago

    Lc ~ Ah, the Sacred Vows ~ I DO, "Probably." I so enjoy your many eclectic topics and the intros always draw me in. Best to you, j.in.l.a.

  • John Cox3 months ago

    Masterpiece of social commentary, societal complicity in a rigged tradition and terrifying to boot! Absolutely loved it!

  • Daphsam3 months ago

    Wow you wrote this so well- I could feel her fear and her groom's sinister intent.

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Holy moley. That's good. I say that's a feeling for a lot of women. Well done.

  • Well done. I feel deep sadness thinking there are people who feel like this.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.