Fiction logo

Market Day

28th February, Story #59/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 3 min read
18
Market Day
Photo by Michael Starkie on Unsplash

"Girl! Girl!" the Chickens squawked.

"GIRRRRL!" the cows boomed.

"What day is it, Girl!" shouted the Pig.

It was always a cacophony when she crossed the yard. Sometimes she put her hands over her ears, but it didn't help much.

Dinnertime. Gran would serve dead bits of someone who spoke just days ago.

Rosie hated summers with her grandparents. They tried to jolly her out of vegetarianism, like it was a phase.

Now: two hours of pushing lumps of flesh round a plate. Unable to eat the things beside it either. Then, skulking to bed under Gran's pinched stare. Burrowing under the blankets, still feeling sick. The stink of seared flesh finally fading from her nose, to be replaced by growling in her belly.

Until morning brought the dream of toast, shattered by the scent of bacon before she reached the foot of the stairs.

She'd never told anyone about her talent. Couldn't handle the disbelief, the Dolittle jokes, and, if anyone did believe her, the assumption that it was something cute.

She'd become very thin. The hunger, the nausea, the vomiting... that was bad enough. But the yelling, the questions that pelted her like stones. The screaming, the begging. She felt like an empty sack, hollow of food and sleep. Sluggish, every moment a heavy grey fog.

Morning sunlight streamed into the kitchen. The scent of bacon filled the air. Humming, she poked the strips of flesh around the pan, like Gran had done so many times. It didn't smell so bad.

After breakfast, she ventured out to feed the animals.

"Hello, Pig," she said softly.

"Girl," he grunted. "What day is it?"

"Market Day," she whispered in reply. "But not for you."

The pig was silent except for the munching sounds.

The absence of a thorough grilling was palpable, like silk where your skin expected brambles.

In the farmhouse, they lay stock still, staring in shocked silence at the ceiling. A fly landed on Gran's leg, where strips of flesh had been removed. Distant humming and cheerful sunlight poured through the window.

++++++++++++

Word count (excluding note): 366

Submitted on 28th February at 23:42

Quick Author's Note

First, and most importantly: thank you for reading!

Leave me a link to your own latest story, if I haven't already seen it! Especially if you're joining me on this "story every day" madne adventure.

If you enjoyed this story, the best compliment you can give me is to share it, or read another.

Pay no attention to the writer behind the curtain: This is not autobiographical. I have never been vegetarian in my life.

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one makes a 59 day streak. You can find all of them in my Index post. It's also pinned to the top of my profile.

Thank you

Thank you again! I do my best to reciprocate all reads. Please do leave a comment, and I'll pop over and read one of yours as soon as I can.

Short StoryMicrofictionCONTENT WARNING
18

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Chloe3 months ago

    honestly this is INCREDIBLE, i had to read it like three times before i noticed the implications. got dang, that got me. and my latest story may not interest you, but i am in the process of writing a book, so i suppose i will publish the chapters on vocal before posting it out into the world...? i oughta do that! but this was fan-tastic! and i am kinda-sorta participating in this story-a-day-for-a-year challenge since writing a book is sort of like writing a piece of a story each day. anyway this boggled my mind, fantastic and.. uh, gruesome, but hey, i'm used to it. horror is my favorite genre

  • Alexander McEvoy3 months ago

    Oh damn! I had to read it twice to make sure I got it. I love when the horror of the ending comes a bit out of the blue at me. Did not expect her to eat the grandparents, but I suppose it only makes sense :) very well told!

  • Oof, dark turn at the end! Great work as always LC!

  • Rachel Robbins3 months ago

    Vegetarian for the past 35 years or so. And I remember older relatives trying to tease it out of me. I wonder if they had tasty legs. Great bit of writing.

  • Oh my! Quite different . Enjoyed the story !

  • God I was so scared reading this because I was terrified you're gonna kill an animal. I'm so grateful you didn't! I'm a vegetarian for the past 14 years. I related so much with Rosie except her ability to hear amimals talk. Loved your ending! Gran had it coming! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    Jeepers! That was a surprise. I'm not having bacon for breakfast today.

  • I take it she went for an oxymoron: aged veal (from grandmother's calf).

  • Caroline Craven3 months ago

    Yikes! What an ending! So good.

  • Gerard DiLeo3 months ago

    Grannyburgers next? Quite the story! She should have marinated her all night, though. And add Tabasco.

  • Phil Flannery3 months ago

    What did I just read? I'm all for vegetarianism, if that's your jam, Veganism if your politics lean further afield, but poor Gran. I felt so sorry for the girl. What a terrible affliction to have with no power. You always pack so much in. Well done.

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Oh, that was quite the ending. Karma!

  • John Cox3 months ago

    The girl’s and conviction are impressive. I felt her revulsion at eating her friends. Great storytelling! Don’t know if you’re a vegan or not, but my wife and I are. Have been for years. Neither of us can talk to animals though. 😁

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.