Fiction logo

Vocalstaffitis

A newfound respect for the Vocal staff. Folks, I doff my hat to y'all.

By Novel AllenPublished 7 months ago β€’ 1 min read
19
WillSpirit L.N. - Unsplash

I did not get my stories entered into the Vocal Writing Awards. Phlurking site wouldn't accept my 'Postal Code'. Thanks, HandsomeLouiiThePoet, for nominating me right from the start. I tried Lonzo, so sorry for the snafu. Thank you very much for the confidence which you placed in me. I really appreciate your kind thoughts and beautiful work on the poetry of life.

Anyway, now that the event is over, and it is time to vote amongst ourselves on the platform, I decided to have a go at reading the entries. I entered my email and started reading, didn't even choose a category, I was gonna read every single one.

Two or three stories in and my brain was already addled. I clicked off and went to distract me'self elsewhere. Maybe the stories didn't grab or interest my imagination, maybe it was my attention span of a six-year old, but I was already sated.....three stories in, and I felt like I was drowning, with no option to scroll. I am ashamed of me'self.

So this begs the question:

"HOW THE PHLURK DOES THE VOCAL STAFF DO THIS EVERY SINGLE DAY"?

Two days later....I tried again (mind you, I was thinking about tackling the task the whole time) but procrastinated a lot.

I again read three stories, and oh Jezu, the words started morphing into each other. So far only one story got my interest. I am mortified at the thought of reading more!

Ye Gads!! The Vocal Staff is phlurking AWESOME!

Amy Shamblen - Unsplash

HumorMicrofictionFan Fiction
19

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Sid Aaron Hirji7 months ago

    Ya before joining vocal I read it was all a scam but I joined anyways. So happy I did

  • 'Tis indeed an undertaking. Bless their hearts.

  • Mackenzie Davis7 months ago

    Oh i love this! I totally get what you’re saying. We can do it in tiny pieces, but they have to contend with so many entries and deadlines! Amazing.

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Haha. Yeah, I hear ya. I managed to get through all the entries, but I wouldn't want to do it on a regular basis.

  • This is fantastic. Painfully true, and yet presented in Novel Allen fashion. I nearly died laughing! I too gave it the ol' college try at judging some entries. If they were relying on me for assistance, all of the entrants are "phlurked!" I lasted about 20 minutes before my mind was wandering. Judging (and moderating) is no doubt a thankless job!

  • Donna Renee7 months ago

    it is really no wonder things slip through sometimes with allllll the entries that they have to go through in challenges, and I'm assuming they still don't use AI to screen those and that it is all done with real human eyes!

  • I have not read anything in any category! Lol, not that I don't want to but I don't even have enough time to read what everyone publishes. So yea, I thought I'll leave the voting to others πŸ˜…

  • Jay Kantor7 months ago

    'n' - You Phlurking ~ Addle Me - 'j'

  • Mariann Carroll7 months ago

    At least you tried. I would get overwhelmed. I tried it once for a Facebook group. It was exhausting. Great Word , How you like me to pronounce it πŸ˜‰

  • Dana Stewart7 months ago

    Phlurking is brilliant. It’s as if you type with a lisp. Nice job.

  • Lamar Wiggins7 months ago

    Haha, good one. I felt the same about all the material they must go through on the daily. They do deserve some kind of reading award themselves. Nice entry, novel.

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    ❀

  • Joe Patterson7 months ago

    Well done, Novel.

  • Tiffany Gordon 7 months ago

    Good day No-No! What an awesome word! 😍It's so phlurking Kool that I'll be adding it to my vocabulary asap! Have a great week my kind & witty friend!

  • Darkos7 months ago

    I am sorry for what You go through on Vocal it's better to forget I already forgotten even my submission as it wasn't a good time for such things and in Qigong I was adviced to protect from it it's when I posted triple attack was about things may go wrong in online website so each day was doing practices as last year had enough of this bad luck today You can change all so maybe today give more Luck I think we should be here for our own need to write I don't feel like these all challenges are judged fairly they more give us impression as if we can't manage their standards writing from heart we don't need meet any of it but just have fun with it I think Vocal should give you a chance cuz it wasn't your fault I waited 3 weeks for withdrawal and some months my entries were in entire red error so I wasn't able to check correct when it was on finally it was not enough time to do it at the moment I just keep forgetting it all keep it with flow and it will flow as otherwise it takes good energy away when something doesn't work means you should skip for later soon another competition will arrive so you keep on believing it will come β˜ΊοΈπŸ’œYour stories and poems are great and they will stay Great !

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    Love the way you got Phlurking in here!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.