Fiction logo

Up the Mountain (Part 4 of the Multiverse Trials)

The story continues...

By Rigved VangaPublished about a year ago 3 min read
2
Made with starryai

THIS STORY WON'T MAKE ANY SENSE IF YOU HAVEN'T READ THE PART THAT CAME BEFORE THIS HERE IS THE LINK:

https://vocal.media/fiction/the-multiverse-trials-pt-3

Onward with the Story:

As I walked up Mount Drauk I occasionally tripped on multiple weapons. Not all were weapons though, one was a piece of a goblin's horn. I picked up the piece of horn and put it in my pocket. As I continued my ascent I noticed more weapons and pieces of armor scattered along the path. I realized that I was walking on the remnants of a recent battle. I started to grow thirsty so I ventured out to find a stream or anything of the sort. After a few minutes of walking, I found a small patch of water. I drank my fill and continued walking. As I traveled further up the mountain, I noticed more and more pieces of armor and weapons. This confirmed that the battle had indeed taken place. It was clear that at least one of the combatants was a goblin, as evidenced by the piece of horn I found.

A greater question remained about the fight. Why did it happen?

All of a sudden a goblin jumped out from behind a massive boulder.

I pulled out my bow and loosely fired an arrow. It turned out that the arrow never hit the goblin. All it did was pierce the ground in front of me. The goblin screamed out something before charging toward me, with a club in hand. I ducked but I didn't need to because the goblin tripped on the arrow I fired and went tumbling down the mountainside. When it crashed into a tree it vanished into a puff of black smoke. I picked up the arrow and headed down to investigate. When I reached the site of the goblin's demise the only things I found were a tooth and a club. I found the goblin unconscious behind the tree.

I winced at the sight of the goblin but then looked up at the sky.

Night was coming and I still had a long way to go, so I decided to look for a place to rest.

I found a nearby tree and set up camp. I quickly fell asleep, not knowing what dangers I would face in the morning. I awoke with a start to the sound of rustling leaves and a loud snort. A goblin looked straight at me. I ran from the site as fast as I could, leaving my bow near the fire, but the goblin was right on my tail. I picked up a fallen tree branch and threw it at the goblin. It hit it square in the horn and made it stumble backward. I had managed to buy myself some time, and I used it to quickly collect my things and run away, never looking back until I was out of the forest.

I noticed a cave not far ahead and decided to rest there. Inside the cave it was cold and damp, it picked up a sturdy stick and lit its tip on fire to create a torch. I saw someone up ahead and ran up to greet them. Maybe they know the whereabouts of one of the hexagon portals.

"What are you doing here? This mountain is dangerous and you should leave now!" The man shouted with worry in his voice. The man looked extremely old and used a cane to pace around the room very slowly. "Don't you know about the dragon that lives at the peak?" he asked.

"No, what do you mean by a dragon?" I replied.

"It's a giant lizard that can fly and breath fire." he started. but was cut off by me.

"I know what a dragon is but what about it, I need details," I asked starting to lose my patience, I was hoping for him to say that there was a hexagon portal at the peak with the dragon so I could rush there and walk through the portal, hopefully without the dragon devouring me.

"I've seen a hexagon thing near it, but it's probably of no importance." he started again but was halted due to the fact that I went running off to the peak to find that hexagon portal.

SeriesFantasyAdventure
2

About the Creator

Rigved Vanga

Well I write about things?

That I'm interested in

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.