Fiction logo

Under Branches of Juniper

#Misplaced challenge

By Heather HublerPublished 5 months ago 4 min read
Created with NightCafeStudio

Snow fell in a thick wondrous rush, covering hills and trails with fluffy white. I was tucked under a hardy bush, shielded from the worst of the storm. The soft silence of dusky evening permeated, yet there was no comfort to be had. The worst had happened.

I'd been left behind. Abandoned perhaps this time.

Oh, I'd been here before, cast aside during the height of battles, tossed on the banks of frozen shores, flown off during daring, downhill escapades. But he always came back for me.

This time...was different. I saw his indecision, felt his shame as he tossed me aside.

Those other boys were taunting him. My youthful pattern, the source of all the ribbing.

He put on a good show though, tried to mask the hurt with bravado but his pain bled through. I absorbed it all the best I could, but cotton wasn't armor.

Their jabs struck a nerve that he'd been struggling to reconcile. Those moments in time when a boy grew up.

I'd seen his older brothers make the transition. Watched their joy for building snowmen and drinking hot chocolate by the fire fade. Swapped for video games and romance.

We'd been through it, thick and thin. He and I.

I was his faithful sidekick. Plundering distant seas tied round his crown. Weathering doctor's visits with his sissy as a sling. Cradling a broken bird we once found, searching for treasure in the yard. Keeping the chill away as we dawdled on the way home from school, hoping to get out of chores.

And yet, here I was.

I didn't blame him for his messy feelings. I just wish he would've given me to someone else. Maybe the little girl next door. She always looked so sad.

Here? I had no purpose. The ground didn't need a shield.

***

Dawn's watery light finally breached my solitude, drawing birds and squirrels out to forage. They sniffed and nuzzled against my sides, pushing my folds this way and that to search for bare earth beneath.

Would he come back for me today now that the winds had calmed and the snow stopped swirling? Did his neck feel bare without my warmth?

Before long, shadows stretched across the horizon signaling the day was near to close. My confidence waned. This was it for me. I'd lie here til spring when calloused men would sweep the park for winter 'debris', tossing me in a bin and taking me wherever it was they delivered useless things.

My thoughts turned dark and sluggish as evening began, and I succumbed to its frigid embrace.

Another morning followed, bright and crisp. Familiar creatures scampered about, endlessly on the lookout for food. I ignored their cheerful chittering, content in my discontent. Until their sounds dropped off abruptly.

A predator was here.

I strained to listen, not daring to believe he'd come for me, but unable to stop the hope from rising. Moments passed, and then I felt it. A cold nose pressed up against my side, chuffing. Then gentle teeth latched hold, pulling me from my little nest, and dragging me out into the dazzling sun.

Disappointment hit hard. It wasn't him. It was a little rust-colored fox. I tried to scream, to protest, anything to keep me where I might be found and taken home. Yet fate had its way.

She didn't take me far, just around the bend along the hillside surrounded by a grove of trees. I barely felt her grip as she pulled me through a small hole and down into her den where more fuzzy faces greeted me.

My length was pawed and pushed, creating a nesting space that three eager cubs were quick to fill. A hushed silence fell as excited pants turned to deepened breathing. It was cozy and warm. Safe.

Until they each woke from drowsy slumber, delicate ears perked and ready. A disturbance was growing outside.

I listened hard, worried, already protective of this new family.

But it was his voice that carried on the wind.

"Mom, you don't understand. I put it right under this bush, so I could come back and get it." Anguish and regret bled into his words. "We have to find it."

"Sweetheart, it looks like something got to it first, see the tracks in the snow?"

"Maybe we can follow them?" he pleaded.

His mom gentled her reply, "Maybe it's time for a change. Why don't we go shopping for a new one today, something a little more grown up? Something, say Suzie would like?"

"Mom," he groaned. "I don't have a girlfriend. Will you let it go? Let's just go home, I'm supposed to be online to play in fifteen minutes..."

Their voices drifted away, and I realized this was the way things were supposed to be. We were each gaining new meaning, new purpose.

And although the sting of change burned brightly, we'd both be better for it in the end.

____________________________________________________

Thank you for spending your time with me :)

Young AdultShort Storyfamily

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (13)

  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    I did an "awwwww!" out loud. More than once!

  • ROCK 5 months ago

    I felt so sad for both the boys loss of innocence and forever loss. I still have my favourite doll, a weird little clown, from 1968. You are a fabulous story teller.

  • Nice

  • Poor Linus, forced to grow up. (Though it sounds as though it might have been a child's scarf rather than security blanket.) But what an endearing take. I've always loved foxes.

  • Awww those cubs! I wanna cuddle with them! I feel so sad that he had to get a new one because I'm the kinda person that is very attached to all my belongings. But yes, it's keeping those cubs warm. So it's like a bittersweet story. I loved it! I also loveeeeee your cover pic! How do you create such beautiful pics with Nightcafe? It only gives me crap, lol!

  • sleepy drafts5 months ago

    Oh, my heart! This was an emotional read and so beautifully done. 💗

  • Thavien Yliaster5 months ago

    "Snow fell in a thick wondrous rush, covering hills and trails with fluffy white." That first sentence, like... damn. I never thought of the word "white" as anything but a description, but transitioning it to a noun, and You get the idea of the soft snow before it even becomes slush. Ohhhh, that hurt. That's a shame to toss away a perfectly good scarf. At least let it be donated to the Goodwill or given to a cold person on the side of the street that would appreciate its warmth. It sucks that he was made fun of for having something with a youthful design. Yet, it's a scarf. It sounds like it didn't have cartoon characters, but that the design was really tasteful and something that he'd always enjoy. A monochromatic scarf might read adult, but they're also, well not bland and tasteless, but they're lacking in a bit of personality and depth that a unique pattern design has. It's like having a nicely decorated tie. Sure, a monochromatic tie is nice and maybe chic, but a tie with a beautiful pattern does wonders when it comes to complimenting a suit. I'm gonna assume that the scarf mentioned is similar in pattern to the fox in the thumbnail. It is upsetting that he felt bullied by his group of friends. At the end of the day, friends should know not to cross that line. In that instance, they're not friends and just peers. There's a lot of peers whose opinions that I don't give the time of day cause most of them are unsubstantiated claims. It's sad that they had to move on and away from one another, but I do feel happy that the scarf had a new family find it. Plus, it's really quite a blessing to have a fox family live nearby (unless You own chickens and other smaller pets that could potentially become a meal) cause they're so rare. Besides, his mom may not be Suzie, but that doesn't mean that she can't help find something that'll work and make him appear a bit more mature.

  • Great take on the challenge , wonderful story, and probably a Top Story

  • Rene Peters5 months ago

    This is beautiful!

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    A lovely poetic story. Well done.

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    That is such a beautiful story. I'm sad it was left behind, but happy ot found a greater purpose. Well done, my friend.

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Exquisitely written!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    Sis, your descriptive writing is absolute gold! "The soft silence of dusky evening permeated..." is just the first phrase that put me right in the middle of this story. A beautiful story, beautifully told.

Heather HublerWritten by Heather Hubler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.