Fiction logo

Today's the Day

One Last Silent Conversation

By Judey Kalchik Published 7 months ago 4 min read
33
https://pixabay.com/users/stocksnap-894430/

You normally sit so still. Seeing you worry away at your thumbnail as you polish it over and over with the inside of your index finger is frightening me more than what we are going to do.

Maybe it's calming you. I'd try it, but you're holding my right hand too tightly, and the thumb on my left hand never has been able to bend enough to move in a circle after he broke it when he beat me last year.

If the thumb-polishing didn't give away your nerves I would have known by the soaking wetness that is pooled between our clasped palms. And now you are doing that slow breathing you've been teaching me: in through the nose for four beats, out through the mouth for five beats. In. Out. In. Out.

Are we really going to do this? Are we? Today?

~

CALM DOWN! Calm down! calm down. In. Out. In Out. In Out.

~

I'm scared, too. If you want to change your mind, if you want to forget about our plan, I promise that I will be OK when you leave. You could handle it and I will until I can leave, too.

And, really, I promise to be good, to be better, to stay quieter and not cause his headaches. If I can do that then he won't feel so sick and angry. He won't be so upset after he makes me be quiet.

I'm quiet now. I'm quiet now but your three quick squeezes let me know you know how I feel.

One squeeze for yes. Two for No. Three for I Love You.

I'm going to miss you so much. Who will give my hand squeezes? Who will sing me to sleep? Who will help me get the blood out of the sheets?

~

That's it. There you go. In. Out. In Out. In Out. You can do this.

~

I hear... I think I hear the car. The noise; the screaming noise the wheels make as he comes around the corner. Like a little bunny makes when the cats catch them. I wonder. Are there bunnies? Are there bunnies in the car that scream when he drives? Is he stamping hard on the bunnies when he goes around the corner?

He's going to be here. He's almost home. He's almost home and he's going to be mad at us because the chores aren't done. We should, we can still... OUCH!

Ouch! That hurt me- you're grabbing me too tight and my hand, your nails, my hand. Please. We can not do it. We can not do it today. He won't have to know what we were thinking. What we were going to do. Please.

You could stay. You could stay and I'll be good, and he won't drink anymore, and we'll feed the cats wet food and the bunnies will be safe, and.. and there's the car.

Oh. He's home. He's back. I can't look, feel my three squeezes! I love you! I love you! Are we going to do this?

~

Slowly. Slowly. In. Out. In Out. In Out. She's been so good. So quiet. Just a little longer. Just a little longer and we won't need to worry about him anymore. She can be a normal girl and not be afraid to sleep. And he will be.... he will be gone.

One squeeze for Yes, little Bunny. And- NOW!

~~~~

This is an entry into the Vocal UNSPOKEN Challenge. While you’re here, please do one or all of the following!

1. Leave a comment and share your thoughts. Did this structure work for you?

2. Click on the little heart to let me know that this clicked with you.

3. Click on the subscribe button and get a FREE notification when my next post goes live.

4. Feel free to share a link to anything I write on your social media.

5. A one-time tip or even a monthly recurring tip/pledge to support my writing is always appreciated if you are so moved!

I have some humdingers gathered here for you on my collection of Vocal Top Stories. FREE TO READ! No Paywall needed to read them!

Psychological
33

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (24)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher 4 months ago

    Fantastic work Judey!!! Excellent detail in such a short piece and the emotion is riveting.

  • Mohammed Darasi4 months ago

    Very well done story and so much detail for a such a short story!

  • Great job building the tension!

  • Cyrus5 months ago

    Story has an allusion to family abuse-you portrayed the fear so well with the usage of stream of consciousness! Great job

  • Phil Flannery7 months ago

    That was great. I felt the tension rising as I read.

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Pure, authentic, and powerful!!! Tension, anxiety, and thoughts are awesomely amazingly expressed and written!!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Omg. This is incredible. The tension builds as he gets closer. I could feel it! Excellent job.

  • Linda Cloud7 months ago

    1. I loved the structure - it made the conversation easy to follow. 2. OMG. This is one of your best! It really evoked the anxiety that the characters were feeling - enough that I had to do some calming breathing. Great work

  • Donna Renee7 months ago

    This is so scary and sad! And very, very well written ❤️❤️

  • J. S. Wade7 months ago

    Ooooo the tension you created is masterful. I found my own breathing pattern changing. This is excellent Judey. 😎

  • Gerald Holmes7 months ago

    This worked perfectly! I could feel the tension in your words. This is wonderfully done and a great entry for the challenge.

  • Denise E Lindquist7 months ago

    Wow...😭

  • Sandra Matos7 months ago

    I think the structure worked well. The build up was on point and kept me reading til the end. I was rooting for them. It reminded me of my sister and I and how I tried to protect her from things that shouldn't happen.

  • Excellent if worrying and creepy take on the challenge

  • Mariann Carroll7 months ago

    The silence thought of an abusive victim in a toxic relationship

  • ThatWriterWoman7 months ago

    This is brilliant Judey! They way my own blood curdled when I read about blood in the sheets! Chilling!

  • Stunning

  • Mackenzie Davis7 months ago

    Whoa. Judey, this is stunning. A+, truly. As an exercise in showing, you excelled here. Damned if this isn't chosen to place in the challenge.

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    Somebody got what was coming to them! Felt all the tension and anticipation. Great job, Judey!

  • Kenny Penn7 months ago

    Sad but so good, I was hanging on every word. You conveyed the fear and hope here so well, great job!

  • Jay Kantor7 months ago

    Hi 'j' ~ Look who's back with vigor - Never did much nervous Nail Polishing - as far as you know. But I could always GiT-U. 'j'

  • Darkos7 months ago

    It's painful and beautifully written in such way that it becomes lighter to accept to digest 💜💗

  • Powerful conspiratorial, desperately felt angst so powerfully expressed in the simple squeeze of the hand

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    This is sad and well written! ♥️ your great! I wish I could write like you! Where/how did you learn?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.