Fiction logo

Tick Tock

A Clock Story

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
9
An AI Image By The Author

Introduction

This was inspired by a loud ticking clock outside a room I was sleeping in. It gave me an idea.

The music is "Tic Tic Tic It Wears Off" by Todd Rundgren from "A Wizard A True Star"

Tick Tock

Tick Tock, Tick Tock

It is eleven o'clock and it's dark, I am in bed and I am anxious.

I feel something bad is going to happen, but I don't know what

And the clock keeps going

Tick Tock, Tick Tock

I feel my breathing, and my heartbeat, aligning themselves to the ticking of the clock.

It's like the clock has some kind of hold on me, like a fatal metronome

And the clock ticks

I am becoming more anxious, and the anxiety is turning to fear.

My heartbeat follows the clock.

I feel there is some fearful presence in the room, but I know there is nothing but me, the darkness, and the ticking of the clock.

Tick Tock, Tick Tock

I don't know what the time is, I cannot see, it is dark and the clock ticks, and by heart beats.

I want to see the morning light but I will not see another sunrise.

This bed is my final resting place.

The clock stops ........

Short StoryPsychologicalMysteryMicrofictionHorror
9

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock3 months ago

    Madness! Sheer maddening! Chinese tick-tock torture.

  • Oops, he dead 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Loved your story!

  • “M”3 months ago

    🫰🏼

  • Mariann Carroll3 months ago

    That was a sad unexpected ending. I was thinking of Uncle Ben , when I saw the title

  • Gerard DiLeo3 months ago

    We all have only so many ticks.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.