Fiction logo

The Tome

📖

By Kelsey ClareyPublished 24 days ago • 2 min read
Top Story - June 2024

I wrote this story as part of my ko-fi based writing group's prompt for April 2024. It's inspired by a D&D party of mine, with Skylar being my own character from that game.

Prompt: Everyone else is positive that the dusty, ancient tome you found on your last expedition is a long-lost spellbook, with the grimoire containing magics long thought lost to this world. You, however, are pretty sure it's just a cookbook.

I also used this prompt as the basis for my Storytelling Collective Comics Challenge this year, so I'll share the comic at the end of this.

The journey had been long and, right now, Skylar wanted nothing more than a nice bath and to collapse into a warm bed for the night. But, of course, it couldn't been that straightforward. They still needed to eat something first, and there was the matter of the book to settle.

Maggie was thumbing through the pages of the thick tome (grabbed hastily as they had run from the haunted ruins before the geists could catch up with them), her eyes afire with the furious curiosity Skylar had seen soo many times now and knew the two of them often shared, even if they could sometimes butt heads over it.

"It has to be some sort of spellbook," Maggie stated, voice full of confidence. Skylar tried to focus on the plate of food in front of her. Regardless of her thoughts, she didn't have the energy for a debate tonight. "Ugh, it's so old that I can't translate it though!"

Maggie pushed the book back into the center of the table for everyone to look at, her face now worked into a scowl.

Esther took a quick look, shrugged, and sat back again. "Well, it's not anything I can read either."

Safrax took a much closer look, squinting at the faded text. "Me either, but it sure looks like a spellbook."

"Agreed," said Edward. "The text is older than I've seen before, but there are other books like this in the archives around here, at least the ones the church hasn't gotten to yet."

Edward pushed the book towards Skylar next. She could feel all their eyes trained on her.

"Skylar," said Maggie, smirking antagonistically. "You're being awfully quiet. Don't want to tell me I'm wrong for once?"

Skylar rolled her eyes. This was bait and she didn't want to take it.

"Didn't you say you studied old languages?" Edward asked, too earnestly for her to dismiss it. "Can you read it?"

Skylar sighed, pulling the book towards her. She knew her friends wouldn't stop asking her to at least look, and she had to admit to being curious herself.

"Well, I hate to disappoint," she said, after scanning a few pages. "But I don't think there's much magic in here."

Skylar looked up, grinning at Maggie specifically from across the table. "Unless you consider ancient bread recipes to be magical."

This story was originally posted to my ko-fi page. Follow/support me there for behind-the-scenes and early access to my work.

And if you liked this story, please consider liking/commenting/subscribing!

FantasyMicrofiction

About the Creator

Kelsey Clarey

She/Her/Fae/Faer. I live in Nova Scotia, Canada. I mostly write poetry and flash fiction currently, a lot of it fantasy/folklore/fairy tale inspired. I also like to do a lot of fiber arts and design TTRPGs.

https://linktr.ee/islanderscaper

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • Ramat Ismail17 days ago

    Nice

  • Danielle Mosley18 days ago

    Loved this story. Here is mine https://vocal.media/authors/danielle-mosley-rrf0n40ghs

  • Shirley Belk21 days ago

    Some meals/recipes can be magical...lol Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Samuel Wright21 days ago

    Now you have to write a D&D mini-adventure that centers around finding a recipe and making a magical dinner and post it here...

  • Awesome work! Love this read. Keep up he good work. When you get a chance please check out my work let me know your thoughts.

  • Ameer Bibi22 days ago

    Truly amazing job, well done Congratulations on TS

  • shanmuga priya22 days ago

    Congratulations 🎉

  • Belle23 days ago

    I'd love to see what kinda bread comes from that book!!!

  • Anu Mehjabin24 days ago

    Outstanding work, keep writing!

  • John Cox24 days ago

    I don’t know Kelsey, I seen a recipe or two that are down right magical with the right touch. Watching my grandmother making angel biscuits is the closest thing to true spell casting I have ever seen or tasted. Loved your story!

Kelsey ClareyWritten by Kelsey Clarey

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.