Fiction logo

The Pick Up

Misplaced

By Hannah MoorePublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 3 min read
15
The Pick Up
Photo by The Dark Queen on Unsplash

For feck’s sake, again?

I’m here. Here. I’m here ye feckin…

What’s the point? It’s no bother to me anyway, so why trouble myself.

Only it gets sort of boring. You always think, don’t you, that you’d do anything for a few days to just… do nothing. Sit still and do nothing. But then, if it comes, it gets sort of boring. I think to myself, I think, I wouldn’t mind just watching a film or something, you know? My favourites are the films with the car chases in them. But even those ones, I wind up just staring out the window wanting to be away to somewhere else. Some of us were just built for adventure I suppose. And so it gets kind of boring when he….

Hey! In here! Did your mother clout you too hard or something? I’m here!

It’s feckin dark in here as well. Ah, it’s warm enough alright, a little too hot if anything, but there’s nothing to look at at all. Oh, I like being comfortable well enough, who doesn’t like to be comfortable? All snug, womb-like you might say. But even feckin Einstein did nothing to write home about in the womb, did he? You’ve got to get out there, feel the wind tickle your nethers! If you’re after making anything of your life at all, you’ll not do it from under your mammy’s skirts. Ah feck it.

In here! No, right here! Yes! Right here, keep coming, you’re doing grand, you’re nearly….Jesus feckin Christ, is this guy a feckin eejit? I cannot believe it.

Do you want to know the longest time I was here? Five days. Five days! Your man there couldn’t find a fleece on a ewe. Mary mother of God I hope it’s not five days again.

It’s a good thing that I’ve no call for respiration, I’ll tell you that. Its feckin stifling in here. Sure he’d make more progress if he stopped running about like his arse is on fire. If you ask me, he’s having a panic. They’re only after going to the shops today, but tomorrow we’re away to a party, and they’ve been preparing for days now. She’ll not be happy if she can’t go now, will she, not after she’s done all that plucking and waxing and trussing herself up like a goose at Christmas. You’d think it would be him would be more disappointed, the way he talks, but if you were stuck with a husband a few sandwiches short of the picnic, you’d look forward to a party I would imagine.

Speak of the devil, here she comes. She’ll be after knowing where he’s already looked and then…yes, she’s checking again, all the same places. I’d not trust him either, the muppet. Last time, we missed the party altogether. He seemed pleased enough to pop on a film and have an early night, but she turned as sour vinegar in a wine bottle.

Hello! I’m here! In the feckin…. Is she coming over? She’s coming over. She’s patting him down. Yes! That woman’s smarter than a priest on Sunday. Yes. She’s reaching in, I can feel her…no, he’s wriggling away….no….yes? Feckin handkerchief, you’d not think you could hide a thimble in there, but here I am. Ok, no, she’s after him emptying his pockets now. Here it comes….

I’m free! Sure, she’s biting his head off and all, shrieking like a banshee about my special hook and everything, but when they’re done we’ll be on the road, touring the town, cruising the car park. I can’t wait. And then tomorrow we’ll be to the party. Ah, sure they’ll take a taxi, but they need me all the same. It’s a grand time, these parties. Not many places where the keys get to mingle like that, all together in a smooth wooden bowl, rubbing up against each other. Then some other woman, not her, will pick me out and dangle me between her finger and thumb like she’s found me all over again, and he’ll reclaim me like I know he always will. I’m the glue, you see, that holds all this together. The hook there, the one on the wall? Pride of place there, you see? It’s a grand night, these parties, for a car key.

Microfiction
15

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor4 months ago

    “Your man there couldn’t find a fleece on a ewe.”- great line! Love the unique take on this, especially giving the keys such personality! I didn’t figure out what item the speaker was until the driving part haha.

  • JBaz4 months ago

    Oh my … I had the same thought as Dharr, condom all the way. Then you flicked the switch. Maybe condom in part two? This line cracked me up ‘ That woman’s smarter than a priest on Sunday. ’

  • Phil Flannery4 months ago

    Is that Mrs Brown at a seventies wife swap party? That was fun.

  • John Cox5 months ago

    Really clever writing!

  • Yep. They'll be feckin' tomorrow night. Just not each other.

  • Not me thinking it was a condom 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 I have no idea why I even thought that! Never would have guessed keys though. Loved your story!

  • Shirley Belk5 months ago

    This is great! I love how the key views the hubby and relationship....

  • Lana V Lynx5 months ago

    This was fun! Kept me on edge between car keys, glasses or wallet until the last paragraph.

  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    Nailed it again, you did! I was bouncing back and forth between key and wallet.

  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    😱😱😱😱😱😱😱 LOVED it, and not just because it reminded me of the key party at the start of The Grinch 😁

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Those keys have an attitude, and I love it. Well done!

  • Rachel Deeming5 months ago

    Swingers?! Bloody hell. Funny. I would have imagined a glass bowl. The wooden one seems so wholesome. I'd like to say I could relate to this but that would be misleading.

  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    Fecking great. I was guessing what the object could be...OMG. car keys.

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    hahahaha. love this so much. Love the personality of the key....splendid work, Hannah!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.