Fiction logo

The Other Side

The Other Side

By Devin BrownPublished 2 years ago 11 min read
Like
The Other Side
Photo by KIMO on Unsplash

My name is Kyle lee and I've been to The Other Side. Look I know what you must be thinking like what is this old man talking about, well stick around for a bit an I'll tell ya, let me first take you back for a bit.

Growing up in Seattle as a only child with two very religious parents, you could probably imagine I didn't get out much and I didn't get a lot of sunlight either. My mother and father were pretty tight about knowing the bible, going to church every Sunday and things of that nature and it didn't bother me too much growing up as a child and even now honestly in my teenage years as my mom loves to say. I'm not the best at making friends, I'm also kind of a home body, don't like people, introverted to the fullest. Well, except for this girl Kelly in my English class, she's pretty cool, she's really beautiful too but it's not like I'd ever tell her this and I don't even think she knows I exist or therefore even knows my name. I guess it doesn't matter that much because I'm suppose to be leaving tomorrow to Hawaii to see my My uncle " Big J" an my other cousins.

Yeah my parents won this raffle at my church to fly out where ever they wanted for a week but the thing was it was only for one person so they decided that it should be for me and they also feel that I don't get out enough and I'm a little lonely, they think It'll be good for me to get out of Seattle, get some sunlight and be around family that I'm not that all familiar with, but could you imagine how ungrateful I'd sound if I told my parent's like " mom, dad I'm unfortunately going to have to decline that offer to Hawaii for a week, because I don't like people" like what, what do I look like, so of course I went.

I don't know, something about the day I left for Hawaii just felt off and little did I know that gut feeling that I had was right.

That morning was like every other morning for the most part, I took a shower, brushed my teeth, washed my face, had breakfast and then waited to be taken to the airport. Everything seemed to be going fine, was there on time, got my ticket and at that point waited with my luggage to be bored. But I still had that same feeling in my gut like when I woke up this morning. Have you ever had this feeling like when you know somethings about to happen but you don't know when or where it's going to happen, for example if you've ever been to a restaurant and see the waitress holding a tray and you feel like it's going to fall and you notice that it's beginning to tilt and you feel it in your gut that it's gonna fall and then it falls, THATS THE FEELING THAT I HAVE UHHHH. I was feeling a little encouraged to go at that point because my gut was giving me bad vibes for the most part and as soon as I began to get my phone from out of my bag to call my parents to come pick me up, the flight attendant taps me on the back of my shoulder and it startles me a bit because I had been creating all of these crazy scenarios in my mind, and she in the most settle voice tells me that "your flight is ready". I began boarding the flight.

Again everything felt fine and once we began to take off I started to become more relaxed up until the point where we began experiencing a really high level of turbulence on the plane, for a minute of two and then went away. The last thing I remember was that I was talking to that nice lady from earlier with the nice voice, she walked away, I put my head back an closed my eyes.

Then there I was, not really sure where I was but there I was, I was fine, no cuts, no bruises, nothing was broken I was fine. But it didn't make any sense, what happened? where was I? There was no luggage scattered, no plane parts, flames, nothing but the dirt beneath me and some huge trees and there I sat, unharmed and confused in this forest of some sort. You know I must walked for, I'm not sure how many miles exactly but a lot until I saw some ways down this wooden little house and as I got closer it kind looked like a "Tiki" and it had these little stairs you could walk up. This Tiki was interesting because the way it was built, it wasn't very sturdy and creaked with every step I took and it was right on the cliff of this huge mountain that I was on, if you were to look a little further past the Tiki there was this really deep and dark pit that you couldn't see down, along the sides it was perfectly cut off, there was no more ground past that Tiki, it was literally just darkness.

Now I'm not totally sure exactly what it was but I felt pulled into that Tiki, not physically, but mentally in a way, something stronger than my own being obviously was unconsciously pulling me to that Tiki and honestly there was apart of me that wanted to find out what was inside, but once I finally made it up the stairs I had no control over my own body at that point.

Once the door opened ever so gently by itself, I was in total disbelief, I couldn't believe what I was seeing, it was as if the most joyfullest star hit me and beamed me with all of it's life, I practically floated into that space, that universe, that Ora. I'm not totally sure what it was but it was beautiful, I saw people floating around with their little children and they seemed so happy, the adults were wearing these fitted white suits close to what a PowerRanger would wear but without the helmet and the children had these all white night gowns on. I sat from a distance on the most fluffy grass that I have ever been on, it was long about up to where my knee was if I were to stand and it was so soft like a really light feather. There was flying cars, flying trains and they, were so quiet as if they were running on air, it was unbelievable the thing's I was witnessing and I just couldn't believe it.

I tried my best to observe from a far but at some point I was discovered. One of the children floated down to where I was and came close to me to where I could see a face it was different it, the facial structure of this young child was so unique an nothing like I've ever seen, this child was no older then four years of age, but the way she spoke was so sharp with such elegance, for her to have been only but four she... you can just tell she was smart beyond her years. In this next moment just clarified for me that this has to be the future or another species. This little girl looked at me as if she's never seen anything like me before, this man that I can only assume was her father looked at me and back at her from a distance and this little girl while she observed me, on her forehead this little light blue dot lit up and she looked at me and said "gotta go bye" and flew back to where her father was floating.

He hovered towards me with the biggest smile on his face, came down to my level put out a hand and helped me up, then he asked me if I was okay. He asked for my name, I told him it was Kyle and he told me his, " it's Zaden" he said and that was his daughter that came over to me and her name was Shyra. Zaden was a very big man, very muscular and very clean in his appearance. After a very brief glance at me Zaden could immediately tell that I was lost because I didn't fit into the environment at all. he insisted that we head back to his column which I could only assume he meant his home.

Once we got there it was beautiful, it was this huge hour glass shape home that hovered about ten feet in the air, as did pretty much the rest of town of what I could see. At the bottom of the column there was this thin tube that took the resemblance of a elevator but a more circled one that would just zip you straight up to the floor you wanted to go. As soon as we got into his home I noticed Shyra with a Lady on a couch that I soon came to learn was Zaden's Partner. When she stood she was very tall as well and greeted me with this huge smile an a very calming " Hi Kyle, my name is Maya" and before I could even say it she told me that her daughter told her and there was no need to feel alarmed. She handed me a suit, the same kind that they both had on, it fit very loose at first but then Zaden pushed one of the buttons on the left forearm and it shrunk to my size.

I've been very quiet around them because I didn't know what to say but in that moment I felt it best to ask questions, an so I did. My first question I asked them was, where am I? they told me " The Other Side" and I asked what does that mean? they told me " That you are in a different part of the universe, what would usually take decades has only taken you a couple of seconds. For decades humans have believed that they are the only form of life in this universe and Kyle, they are not, it was no accident that you were brought here. We have chosen you to tell our story. They'll call you crazy, they'll call you insane but you keep telling them Kyle, make them believe." And my response to that was you expect me to convince billions of people that there is this beautifully magical place somewhere on another spot in the universe. Zaden and Maya both stood and looked at me with passion and purpose in their eyes and said " Yes, when the time is right will come. Now you must go we need you to deliver this message."

I blinked once and opened my eyes and heard shouting. It was my Uncle Big J, He looked at me with concern in his eyes and said " what are you doing out here all by ya self man" I remember glancing up one last time before becoming unconscious again and seeing the sand and ocean where the Tiki had once been, I was in the same spot, I didn't make sense.

I remember when I woke up in that hospital the next day, my uncle, cousins, mom and dad were all there and they were so concerned and mad. They told me how everything happened after I passed out on the plane and I don't even remember doing any of this, but apparently I got up with a emotionless blank face, got off the plane, left my luggage and walked straight out to the beach area. They said I was missing for a week, A WEEK, but it didn't even feel that long. I tried and tried to explain to them what happened and what I was told to do but no one believed me just like they said they would. It got to a point were my parents got so fed up that they made me go to therapy everyday and even to a mental care place for while because my parents being the religious folk they are thought I was possessed.

You know what's funny, no matter how much I try to tell myself that it was all made up and it must have been some silly little dream, it couldn't have really happened, right? No one till this day can explain to me why I still had that suit on when they found me, why they had to just take me out of the suit because no material on this planet could cut through that whatever it was. I was fifteen when all that happened to me, I'm sixty now and I still can't get an answer.

I've been telling folks for years about that story, no one listens, no one. It's okay though, This past week I've been having that same feeling when I was kid about to board that plane and I got a feeling they'll be here soon.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.