Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

The Mad Monk

A Story Every Day in 2024 - Jan 9th 9/366

By Rachel DeemingPublished 5 months ago 2 min read
9
The Mad Monk
Photo by Sander Sammy on Unsplash

This story has been written in response to L.C. Schäfer's proposal to spend 2024 writing and writing and writing microfiction stories every day, making 366 stories for every day of this lovely leap year. You can check her original story out here:

Prompt number nine:

The picture is the prompt for this one.

***

"Hey! Look! It's the Mad Monk!"

Yep, that's what they like to call me. The Mad Monk. Always with my hood up. It's just a long coat but it looks like I'm always cloaked. But never mad. Or reverent. Unless it was about my craft.

People love to taunt someone different, don't they? Always got to poke and try and get a reaction. They hate it when someone is controlled or dismissive. It's a good job I am these things because otherwise they'd be dead by now. And I would have no regret at killing that dirty human scum.

That's why I don't do it. Because I know I could and I relish their ignorance.

But I'm not a profligate killer. I only do it for cash. And when I go out to kill, I don't dress like a monk. I sometimes wear the coat, if required. I dress like many things as the job dictates it. I am the chameleon, the blender, the mist that dissipates leaving no trace.

I'm in. Kill. Out. Quickly.

People wonder why anyone would want to be an assassin. Power trip? Enjoy killing? For the money like a mercenary?

Do you know why I do it? Because I'm good at it and because it pays well. It requires precision and exemplary execution, no pun intended. It can be intense but it's good hours. I get to travel and I don't have to work shifts.

I like to think of myself as a good assassin. I like to think that I am killing the worst of the worst, like an exclusive public service but I don't know that much about who I kill so who knows? I do know that no-one is left to leave a review. No-one knows who I am.

Let those scrotes call me the Mad Monk. They just need to hope that this monk doesn't have an epiphany or they'll be praying at the hem of my robe for mercy. And I may grant it.

Or I may not.

***

338 words

Could have added a bit more for this but liked where this took me. I wrote this in one sitting which is rare. No interruptions, just straight writing. It might be obvious to choose an assassin from the robe and the gun but hey, why not? It's only a prompt after all.

I wanted to get the sense of someone who is in perfect control but completely aware and I hope that this comes across in this. He's also not a completely bad guy although this may be hard to glean.

I like characters who are not clear cut.

For the list of prompts that L.C. has provided for January to get you moving, if you want to partake, go here. It also provides links to everybody else who has joined in the challenge:

Thanks for stopping by. If you've read this story, please do leave a comment as I love to interact with my readers.

9/366

Short StoryPsychologicalMicrofictionExcerptCONTENT WARNING
9

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock5 months ago

    I do believe that we may have discovered a new industry to help keep our abbeys, monasteries & convents afloat.

  • Jay Kantor5 months ago

    Rd - "People wonder why anyone would Enjoy killing?" I've spent an entire career trying to figure this out. You "338" Word-me-Out Jb

  • Gerard DiLeo5 months ago

    I do know that no-one is left to leave a review. Great line. A thinking assassin with a moral compass JUST ABOUT pointing to true north. Well done,

  • Shirley Belk5 months ago

    lol...I'm kind of turned on by Monk

  • Lana V Lynx5 months ago

    The ending in this story is so great! You’ve definitely accomplished what you wanted with this story, Rachel!

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    I mean, if it doesn't plague you, morally, it's got to.psy well, right?

  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    I love his reasons for doing the job. I half expected "mostly indoors, no heavy lifting" 😁

  • Okay now I aspire to be the Mad Monk! Please ask for me if he needs an assistant, lol. Loved your story!

  • D. J. Reddall5 months ago

    I am determined to secretly identify obtuse students as "scrotes" for the rest of the semester. Much obliged!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.