Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Hidden Faces

A Story Every Day in 2024 -10th Jan 10/366

By Rachel DeemingPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 3 min read
10
Hidden Faces
Photo by Serhii Tyaglovsky on Unsplash

So, Vocal are approving stories out of order, having still not approved the one for today. It's taking ages for mine to get on here so I thought I'd submit tomorrow's and here it is. I have a busy week so I thought I'd get ahead of the game and now, I'm behind and ahead at the same time.

Apt perhaps for Janus, not so much for me.

Oh well, I'm sure that there's a good reason for this and hopefully the one for the 9th will be published soon. Imagine my streak as less linear, more zigzag. Actually, in some ways, that is more reflective of me as a person anyway.

*

Double figures! Hooray!

So, I'm doing a challenge to write a microfiction story every day, making 366 stories for every day of this lovely leap year. You can check L.C. Schäfer's original story out here:

Prompt number ten:

A title prompt for "Janus", the Roman god with two faces. Use the title Hidden Faces. Someone is not what they seem - a con man, a spy, an assassin, a bigamist with a second family, a shapeshifter, whatever.

***

I stood in front of the mirror, luxuriating in the satin as it swept against my legs. The bath I had taken this evening was filled with sensual oils, the scent of which teased my nostrils with every move I made. I breathed deeply, smoothing my hands down my newly shaved thighs and revelling in the sensation of the soft, yielding fabric. Ravel's Bolero was still playing, my solo music of choice, and building in tension and volume.

This was such a refreshing change from the harsh, stiff fabrics of my tailored workwear: always so restrictive and tight, a material reminder of the daily binds of employment. I glanced down at my bosom, pert and perky in the new push-up bra I'd purchased for this evening. I wanted to look bold so I invested in some padding. My word! I looked ripe and seductive and attractive.

The new make-up too recommended on the forum was a revelation. My skin was smooth like the shell of an egg; pristine and so feminine. I wasn't a great one for make-up, not having the wherewithal to wear it on a daily basis. I liked to save it for intimate little occasions like this where I could take my time and do it with care and attention, maybe even experiment a little.

I looked at the finished look. Oh wow! I barely recognised myself and yet, here I was. The person that I always knew. Unlocked and unguarded and present in all of my wondrous unfettered glory. I was a revelation! Oh, if only I could be seen by all!

I could feel myself becoming aroused, the satin having an effect as it always did and I was luxuriating in the warmth of this, freely liberated when the bedroom door was flung open.

That was the moment that my world was crushed, the instant where the boxing glove of reality broke my nose and my existence flew apart, shattering everything, in one instant, that I possessed as mine to hold dear, as I was hit with another's unrestrained horror when she shouted:

"Martin! What on Earth do you think you're doing?"

My heart leapt!

But unabashed, I declared:

"Being myself!"

***

366 words

I've aimed for a mixture of tones in this story, half humorous, half serious. The whole build up leading up to discovery is about feeling beautiful in your own skin and being able to be comfortable with who you are regardless of what your outward appearance proposes.

I was going to end it with the words of what we can assume to be Martin's wife/mother/sister/partner - whoever - but I felt like it felt defeatist and so, I added Martin's defiance in spite of the fact that he knew this would mean the end of his life as he knew it.

For the list of prompts that L.C. has provided for January to get you moving, if you want to partake, go here. It also provides links to everybody else who has joined in the challenge:

Thanks for stopping by. If you've read this story, please do leave a comment as I love to interact with my readers.

10/366

PsychologicalMicrofictionLoveHumorFantasyExcerptCONTENT WARNING
10

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock5 months ago

    I do believe they have a position for him with the FBI.

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    I saw this coming fairly quickly but I anticipated a sad ending. I love the flowering of it.

  • Gerard DiLeo5 months ago

    Ending as is stands great. Well done. See ya tomorrow.

  • Lana V Lynx5 months ago

    Oh, that revelation at the end! Great piece!

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    I had no idea where this was going and I liked that! 😁👍

  • Okay never in a million years would I have seen that coming! You wrote this so well that I believed so much that it was a woman! So well done! Also, I loved how proud Martin was to admit the truth! Hugs to Martin! 🥰🥰🥰

  • D. J. Reddall5 months ago

    This gives the phrase "cross dressing" a fresh, semantic payload! Nicely done!

  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    I love the little clues you left us along the way 😁 I was like, "who shaves their thighs, is this Chewbacca?? Oh.... waaaaait....."

  • Shirley Belk5 months ago

    I so did not see that coming! "My skin was smooth like the shell of an egg; pristine and so feminine." loved this line!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.