Fiction logo

The Frozen Pond Part Three

The journey continues.

By Theresa EvansPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
The Frozen Pond Part Three
Photo by Jan Haerer on Unsplash

“Okay, I understand what you are saying, and you are my best friend too, but this new information about me dying is scaring the crap out of me, Leroy. I have never encountered anything like this before, and I am distraught right now. Thanks for having my best interest at heart. I don’t know what I would do without you. Just keep me posted on the developments.” Tazi said.

“Tazi, you seriously have no idea how important you are to me, but you will soon find out. Trust me; it’s all good on my end. I will keep you posted.” Leroy said.

When Tazi disconnected the call, she realized that she just had another ten pounds of stress on her head to deal with. “What was Leroy trying to say? I mean, it’s not like he is interested in me or anything. I mean, he could have any female he wanted, and he is sending me hidden signals that I am not used to. Maybe I am just overthinking things a bit about him. Lorey and I have been friends for years, so I assume that he has a girlfriend in his life. Just look at him. He’s tall, chocolate, smooth, even his lips look delicious.”

Those delicious lips, yeah, that’s the one, and his eyes, looking into them gets me in a lot of mental trouble, Tazi thought. She decided to go back to the library to do more research on the frozen pond when the front door to her hotel room was being knocked on. Tazi got up from the place that she was sitting and answered. “Hello, Ma’am. What can I do for you?” Tazi asked. The woman pushed Tazi to the side and just walked right into her personal space like she wasn’t even there. Tazi could feel her temper boiling, but she pushed it down before she hurt this lady.

“Tazi, you don’t know me, and I don’t know you, but we do have something in common that we both could benefit from and win. Now before you say no, let me explain the current situation we are both in. First, you, my dear, have no busy coming to Detroit to investigate this frozen pond matter. You, my dear Tazi, should be back in your hometown cuddled up next to that big hunk of chocolate Leroy.” The strange woman said.

“First of all, I do not appreciate you are pushing me to the side in my living quarters and expect me to listen to what you are about to say without you are apologizing to me first,” Tazi said.

“Oh, Tazi, get over yourself for a minute. I am not here to bring pain to you, but I am here to warn you to stay away from that frozen pond. You are crossing a dangerous line here, and I do not want to see you get hurt. You seem like a smart and intelligent woman, so take my advice and live.” The strange woman said.

“I am not going anywhere, and you just demanding that I should leave only makes me stay because this shows me that you have something to hide. I don’t know what it is yet, but I will find out. Now you can let yourself out, and by the way, the next time you come to me about Leroy, you will be eating your teeth for lunch. You got me?” Tazi said.

“Alright, already there is no need to get hostile. I am only trying to save your life and save you from embarrassment later on. You seriously have no idea what you are in for, and I will not be the one to say that I told you so when all hell breaks loose. Tazi, I need you to understand where I am coming from and why it is so important that you do not investigate any further.” The strange woman said.

“Look, lady, I do not take kindly to threats, so if you don’t mind, please see yourself out before I throw you out,” Tazi said.

The strange lady finally grabs her purse and left but, Tazi was more confused now than ever. She hoped that Leroy was alright. “I do miss him when he is not around. Leroy has the greatest sense of humor, making it so easy to talk to him about anything. Oh my goodness, have I fallen in love with Leroy and didn’t notice my reactions to him until now, or is he just playing with my emotions? But if so, this can’t be happening now; oh no, I can not look him in the face anymore. We will have to do business about the frozen pond over the phone or by computer.” Tazi said out loud.

Another knock on Tazi’s front door came, and when she got up to answer, she mentally shut down the thoughts that she was having so vividly about Leroy. Upon opening the front door to greet whoever was there he breath caught in her throat when she saw that it was Leroy.

Classical

About the Creator

Theresa Evans

I am a woman on fire for the love of life and being able to reach one life at a time through my words. If I can reach one then I can teach one the art of healing one's self from the inside out all mentaly

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Theresa EvansWritten by Theresa Evans

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.