Fiction logo

The Elysium Garden

Our Last Dance

By Lamar WigginsPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 7 min read
11
Photo by Simon Beger on unsplash

This is the most marvelous place ever...

Generous rays of sunshine reflect off the cascading waterfall, glinting like effervescent diamonds falling into a pool of fresh water. Bountiful Viceroys embrace their freedom with a joyous display of waltzing acrobatics. I watch Strange looking fish surface the large, clear pond, purposely blowing bubbles that emerge and float up toward the clear sky until playful blue birds burst them; an envious game they play.

Everything is as it should be but better. I see my beautiful gold house on hill over there. It’s statuesque and proud to be exactly where it is. The sensual breeze is calming, lifting my brown silken curls from my shoulders to do a dance of their own. I just want to lay here on my side while I twirl the bright green grass with my fingers and take it all in. I never want this moment to end...

"You must be my neighbor!" A man startles me that I've never seen before. I'm not even sure when he got here. "Hi, I'm Gernard Franklin, nice to meet you. I just moved in... not too long ago I would imagine."

I smile. "Hi, Gernard. I'm Taylor...Taylor Green but everyone calls me Tae. Nice to meet you as well. You don't seem too sure of yourself, are you lost?"

"Me? no no no. Not lost, just admiring the beauty here. Wait, is this your property? Forgive me, I'll leave right away!"

"No, this isn't my property, it's been hidden here in the woods all this time. I guess I've never ventured too far from my house."

I giggle with a slight tone of embarrassment after saying those words. Genard is a handsome man, perhaps in his early thirties with a chiseled smile and wavy blond hair like rippling clouds. He's the type of man that can get you into the good kind of trouble if you let your guard down long enough.

"I guess you won't mind me taking a seat then... do ya?" He says, with a twinkle in his eye.

"Oh, you go right ahead Mr. Franklin. Last I checked, it's a free world out there."

"Call me Gernard, Tae." He says, getting cozy near the edge of the resplendent pond. He wastes no time picking up the flattest stones he can find to skip across the surface. He begins to reflect.

"You know, I always wondered where the time goes. It passes us like a vivid memory of sunshine and roses. The clock is a relentless device that gobbles up seconds like a starving banshee. The next thing you know, it's time to plan for retirement. Do you know what I mean?"

I really didn't know where he was going with this but I'm great at holding conversation.

"Genard! That is so deep! Are you a philosopher? Ooh! or maybe a poet!"

He loses his balance while chuckling and almost joins the fish in their habitat. Him finding my reaction humorous was unexpected.

"A poet! you're amusing, Tae. I'm following in the footsteps of my father. He has more trust in me than I have in myself. One day I'll take over his apple farming business. He grows and sells corn too, but apples are the meat and potatoes."

"Well, that just sounds exciting!" I convincingly say, even though I know nothing about farming. I can barely keep my house plants alive. I continue smiling at his presence as he reaches in his pocket for a stick of chewing gum. He kindly offers me a piece. It's best he doesn’t know my rules against candy, so I bashfully decline.

"My mother always wanted me to be a nurse. She says helping people is what life is all about. I agree with her sentiment, however, I always saw myself as a beautician. I love making people over and sculpting the perfect hair style for them. That's a form of helping people...right? I guess I'm not a complete failure in her eyes, ha ha."

"Well, if your mother is as pretty as you are, I'd say you're both right!"

"That's mighty kind of you Genard. You're quite the looker yourself!"

I pause with surprise. It's unlike me to be so forward, especially with men. At the same time, it feels great to say what's on my mind.

"Your wife must be charming herself." I say, spotting a pair of love birds roosting in a nest.

"Me? No no no, never married... not yet! Came close once but she broke my heart when she said she was leaving to pursue her dreams in Hollywood. She knew I couldn't go with her. I wish the best for her. What about you, who's the lucky guy?"

"His name is Burt. Bertram Beaureguard Green is his full name. An honest man of sincerity and dedication. We married some time ago, then off to the military he went. I may have seen him ten times in the last two years. Not exactly my idea of a thriving marriage but I understand his aspirations in life. We'll be together permanently once he makes captain."

Gernard turns an eye to me, smiles and says,

"I don't know about him, but I would never leave my bride, even if it was my patriotic duty. You must get lonely up there in that big ole house of yours."

"It does get lonely, but I have my two adorable feline friends, Binker and Sally to keep me company. Speaking of which, I can't remember if I fed them today or not."

Genard looks away from me... something grabs his attention.

"Do you hear that?" He curiously asks in a whisper. I take caution and whisper back.

"Hear what?"

"That beautiful melody. I don't know where its coming from...come closer and listen. It sounds like...like."

We both say at the same time.

"Singing in the rain?"

We look at each other and laugh at our jinxed words. The ensuing eye contact feels alluring. I begin to blush in that moment.

"It is singing in the rain, sung by Gene Kelly! I saw him in concert a few years back. Why does it feel so long ago? And where is it coming from?" I say with a puzzled look on my face.

"I don't know, Tae. But please, may I have this dance?"

He reaches out his left hand, I accept his warm invitation and we dance together effortlessly, like we've rehearsed for years. He's a great dancer...

"Excuse me, Dr. Cominsky. You might want to take a look at this."

"One moment Louise. I'll be right there."

Louise, a very astute nurse, burns the midnight hours away at Acencion Memorial Hospital in Salt Lake City. Her routine of checking on patients in the coma ward brings forth a miraculous sight.

"It's Mrs. Green and Mr. Franklin... look at them!"

Dr. Cominsky drops his clip board to the ground and straightens his glasses. He zeros in on an incredible sight. The two elderly patients, both attached to machines designed to keep them alive, were smiling, teeth showing and all. Their eyes remain sealed shut as they have been for weeks. The beds they lie in are just six feet apart. Dr. Cominsky's mouth lies agape as he watches their heads sway back and forth in a synchronized tempo.

"This is impossible!" The Dr. says while looking at their digital charts. "Their heart rates are up but the other vitals seem to be stable. If you were to ask me, I would say they were dancing together."

"Should I call their loved ones?" The nurse excitedly asks.

"No, not just yet. Let's wait to see what happens. Order some Permadol for the increased heart rates and elevate their heads another thirty degrees. They might be coming to. Whatever is going on here, they’re enjoying themselves..."

Taylor Green and Genard Franklin crosses paths in a mutual world that lies at the pinnacle of death. Their unheard conversation takes place within their minds like a telepathic dream. They never knew each before this and have no idea they are side by side in a hospital clinging on to what is left of their life. They happily dance on...

Photo by Victoria Strelkaph on Pexels

Thank you for stopping by 💖.

LovefamilyAdventure
11

About the Creator

Lamar Wiggins

Creative writer in the Northeast US who loves the paranormal, mystery, true crime, horror, humor, fantasy and poetry. Take a chance, you'll be thoroughly entertained.

"Life is Love Experienced" -LW

LDubs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Marysol Ramos3 months ago

    This right here is why I love vocal. If it weren't for this platform, I would've missed out on this incredible story! Loved it!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)6 months ago

    Lamar this is another great one of yours!! I wasn't ready for the twist that they were both in a "dream-like state" (not sure what else to call it) when they met and began to dance!! This was so beautiful and I absolutely adore it!! Also, I find Mr. Franklin reminds me of Wilson from Home Improvement, just I his wiseness and way of speech!! Hopefully you know what show that is?? If not I can send you a link!!

  • A beautiful story worthy of a full episode of "The Twilight Zone".

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    Really lovely road you walked down my friend, I firmly believe in the meeting of the minds no matter where we are. This was a really heartfelt story.

  • Omggg. This is the epitome of so near yet so far. I wonder of they would eventually miraculously wake up. This was such a bittersweet story! An excellent take on the challenge!

  • Mark Gagnon7 months ago

    The virtual world you created was beautiful and the way you melded it with the real world was very interesting. I really enjoyed it.

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    This is great, and so creative.

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    Loved this, I thought it felt so very dream like, and then - the soul finding beauty in the coldest of places.

  • Wow 😮 That's Deep, but Amazing Storytelling 💯📝♥️😉I love how you played with the words for the opening of the Story, Great Job❗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.