Fiction logo

The Edge

An optimistic adventurer reveals their world's elusive boundary.

By Liam StormPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
34

On my adventures I never thought I'd find the Edge.

My tribe had prophecies of people finding the Edge, some tribespeople ventured out on their own, others were chosen, but out of everyone who left, no one ever returned.

I had always wanted to go, but, days before I left on my own accord, I was chosen.

Days turned into weeks, and weeks into months. My supplies were running low, but I was determined. Trudging through the thick snow, along vast barren spaces and navigating huge dense forests, I saw no signs of life.

Just as I left the last few trees behind me, I saw it, the Edge. I stopped in my tracks, admiring what was in front of me, the end of our world. The ground started to tremble, I rapidly dove to the floor and laid as still as possible, just as I'd been taught. Our tribe called them worldshakes, the ground trembled shortly before everything shook violently. The disturbed snow drifted high into the air, and when the ground stopped shaking and the trembling settled, it fell again, slowly, beautifully, blanketing the world around me.

I found myself entranced, walking clumsily to the Edge. I lifted and outstretched my hand, the Edge was cold to touch and I could see only my reflection. Looking up, the Edge rose high above and behind me, all the way up and over. Our snowy land was surrounded, enclosed, there was no escape, I'd found the Edge of our Snowglobe.

AdventureShort StoryMystery
34

About the Creator

Liam Storm

I currently work as a thatcher, but love the art of writing a narrative, currently I am working on putting my ideas onto paper and creating a book. In the meantime I create short stories to keep myself, girlfriend and two dogs entertained.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (24)

Sign in to comment
  • M.B Hesperia about a month ago

    It feels like I was struggling in the snow globe , beautifully written.

  • muhamad 3 months ago

    وعسى أن تكرهوا شيئًا وهو خير لكم: دروس النجاح من رفض الأمور الظاهرة https://alsnwy.blogspot.com/2024/01/blog-post.html

  • Anna 3 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • Caroline Jane3 months ago

    Interesting. The snow globe concept brings it all together and sets my mind racing!

  • Andy ortega3 months ago

    I thought you were going for the icewall for a second but this was very interesting too. Great work!

  • Andrea Corwin 3 months ago

    Great story! Congrats on Top Story!

  • K. Kocheryan3 months ago

    Nice. Congrats on Top Story :)

  • JOSIAH NWOKO3 months ago

    congratulations

  • muhamad 3 months ago

    سورة يوسف نزلت في عام الحزن https://alsnwy.blogspot.com/2019/12/blog-post.html

  • Hafiz Riaz Hussain3 months ago

    Good story and good work

  • Aurora3 months ago

    congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Tina D'Angelo3 months ago

    Congratulations! I've often wondered if we aren't some plaything for a giant. A snowglobe works for me, living in the snowy Northeast.

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • D.K. Shepard3 months ago

    Brilliant! Loved the concept and your writing was so compelling!

  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    Very clever! Love the original take on this challenge. “and when the ground stopped shaking and the trembling settled, it fell again, slowly, beautifully, blanketing the world around me” is a great line. Nicely done🙌🏽

  • Mackenzie Davis3 months ago

    So clever. I should have realized with "floor" rather than "ground." What a lovely interpretation of the challenge, Liam! I think my favorite part is how beautiful the MC seems to find it all, even the quakes and the end of his world. (Just my excitement talking, but I feel you could expand this...I'd love to read more of this world you've created. :D)

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    Snowglobe. I shoukd have realised when there were the quakes and the snow came down. Nice.

  • JBaz3 months ago

    Back to say congratulations, Told you it would be soon that vocal sees your talent

  • Gabbie Speirs3 months ago

    Absolutely beautiful, so incredibly well thought out and brilliantly executed! I never would have thought it was a snowglobe!

  • Omgggg, a snowglobe!! I would have never thought of that! As I was reading, the only thing that came to my mind was a flat earth where Antarctica forms an ice wall at the Edge! You're so brilliant to have thought of this! Loved your story so much!

  • JBaz3 months ago

    Liam, you definitely have a gift to tell a wonderful tale. This was terrific from the opening line the very last. A great idea written well. I will absolutely be reading more of your works

  • Lenita Lei3 months ago

    Good level of mystery in the story!

  • Mark Gagnon3 months ago

    Hi, Liam, Happy to make your acquaintance. I think the twist at the end of this story is unique, to say the least. I'm looking forward to reading more of your work, but I'm not sure Donna mentioned I rarely if ever read poetry. However, I'll be happy to help when I'm able. I get an occasional Top Story, but I've never placed in any of Vocal's challenges so I don't know if my advice will be much good.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.