Fiction logo

The Compound

28th March, Story #88/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished about a month ago 3 min read
11
The Compound
Photo by Zulmaury Saavedra on Unsplash

I aim to write these so that you can enjoy them as stand alone stories, or one after the other. If you'd like to do the latter, this one follows on from Amelia's Secret.

++++++++++++

I know she meant well. Please know, I choose words deliberately. Some would say "I know..." when they mean, "I believe", or "I'm sure". They say these things to be kind, or to make themsleves feel better.

Not me.

I know. Because no matter how father punished me, or how my mother tried to teach me to squash the Talent, to hide it... I hear people's thoughts.

The Talent is despised by most people, who value their privacy. But the strain of hiding it was getting to me. I didn't think I could keep painting a smile over the cracks for mother any longer.

I couldn't write her a note, in case anyone else found it. Hiding me would get her punished.

I remember things I should have been too young to remember. But I heard her remembering them, heard the memories clanging around in her head, the echoes refusing to die away. Now they clang around mine.

She's always talked about the Compound as a terrible place, somewhere I should avoid, be scared of. But I draw close to it now, and something wondrous is happening.

It's quiet.

My whole life, quietude has been rare. Always, a cacophony from every angle. Deep in the forest, or out on a boat, I could catch moments of genuine peace. But as a child, these kind of opportunities were few and far between. Sometimes I would lie awake very late at night, and strain my ears to listen all the way to the stars. Or I'd get up early in the morning when the light was still grey and otherworldly, and move about whichever squat mother had hidden us in this time. Bathing in each second of silence.

Here I am, outside the Compound's high walls. Rumour, or maybe legend, suggests there is a bustling city behind them. Of people like me. It should be deafening, almost unbearable. It isn't.

It could be that this place isn't what we've been led to believe. Maybe not a city at all. Even a place of death. But I'm drawn to it. I follow the path along the wall to the door, and raise a hand to knock on the hatch.

++++++++++++

Word count (excluding notes): 366

Submitted on 28th March at 22.30

*Quick Author's Note*

First, and most importantly: thank you for reading!

If you enjoyed this story, the best compliment you can give me is to share it, or read another.

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one makes an 88 day streak. I'm also putting them in my Index post.

Thank you

Thank you again! I do my best to reciprocate all reads. Leaving a comment makes that easier.

Short StorySeriesMicrofictionfamily
11

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake24 days ago

    Superb! That's it.

  • A touch of "Babylon 5" mixed with JD & Anneliese's "In the Minuses". So what do we think we will find behind door #1?

  • The suspense! Will she find horror, utopia, or will it be something nice on the surface, but reveal something darker underneath?

  • Alex H Mittelman about a month ago

    I can’t wait to find out who or what is in the city! Hurry and write the next one! This is great! Whimsically great! 🪅🍄🌲

  • John Coxabout a month ago

    I'm with Cathy, keep em coming. I love the lead up in the story to 'I know.' Knowledge is such a precious and rare thing. So many of us think we possess it. The idea that someone could know down to their bones is what makes this particular tale so compelling. At least for me. For one who doesn't know.

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    Very interesting. I'd forgot about the first one, so I had a reread. Now, I want the next one.

  • “M”about a month ago

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.