Fiction logo

The Chase

Fear changes people

By Kay D. WrytesPublished 3 years ago 5 min read

I tried to calm my breathing. It hurt to do so and yet, thinking of what the alternative would bring, I knew I could endure it. The slight shuffle in the brush behind me halted my breathing altogether. Petrified I stood as still as one could, waiting for the next indication I was still being pursued. Or hunted? Was I prey? Certainly felt that way. My hair stood erect on my neck and arms, coupled with the fact I was in flight mode, averse to my usual fight mode nature. I knew I couldn’t possibly fight this, it. I was prey, nothing more or less.

The silence was deafening. I could almost hear my heart pumping blood into my ears. Another subtle movement. Was he... it, still stalking me? Had it given up? A low, guttural moan of obvious frustration corrected my assumption. Knowing the thing was directly behind me, all that stood between me and my demise was a flimsy bushel. Risking life and limb, I darted to my immediate left. Putting all my power into my legs I propelled myself through the underbrush of the forest. Branches sliced at my face, and I was leaving a blood-spotted trail as I ran over the sharp stones on the forest floor but I didn’t care. Nothing hurt, there was no pain, so I kept running. Seconds after I had made the decision to flee, the stalker was on my trail. The sound of snapping twigs and rapid foot movement no more than a few lunges behind me were enough to give me the fuel to keep going.

It had been well over five minutes of the constant chase when I finally spotted it. The great cobble-stone barrier that separated the tame and savage. Men who guarded the structure took notice of my hasty approach and halted me at the main gate, “State your business traveler”, The tallest guard demanded. Could he not see the urgency of the situation? It was at that moment I realized my hunter was no longer behind me. Turning my body I peered to my left and right, and into the forest. Nothing. Had it not wanted to be seen? Was it still lurking just beyond the thicket? I was in no mind to find out. Tilting my head upward I took in a deep, satisfying breath and held my hand up in reverence, “I.. mean no harm. I was… being… being hunted.” Shortness of breath clouded the panic in my voice and yet the guards seemed to be aware of my critical condition. The gate squealed open slowly as two rather burly fellows ushered me inside hurriedly.

The cobblestoned walls kept the inner rooms cool while the outside of the castle was scorching in the heat of the summer. I was led to a small room just off the foyer, with nothing much but a small straw bed and the bucket. A stool sat beside the bed as well. The guard with the slight northern accent gestured to the stool, “Wait here, the attendant will be with you shortly”. Regret surged within me as I reached to grab the guard’s arm before he left. But I couldn’t be left with that statement, “The Dukes’ attendant? Is this an urgent matter?”

The guards glanced at each other in uncertainty before the one who had gestured spoke, “You stated you were being hunted? The castle has been on alert for the past few days. Our cattle that arrive from the bordering farms have yet to make it here on time. We fear something, or someone may be stealing them… or eating them.” I stumbled back, “Eat...eating them?! Predators haven’t been spotted in this country for millennia, what could possibly-”

The door opened as I began to panic speak. In stepped a fairly short man with a beard as long as his chest. Yet even his height could not take away from the demand for attention in the room, and his voice boomed as he spoke, “Silence your voice before you alert the entire countryside. Not too many know about this matter so for your sake I would keep quiet about it.” the room fell silent as he straightened his back and combed through his stringy chin hair, “I am Santiago, the Duke of Montblanc’s attendant. You are to remain here overnight, we will feed you and give you supplies but tomorrow you must be on your way. You have caused quite a disturbance already, and to keep you from further spreading fear, you must leave unnoticed”

I just agreed. What more was there to do? Another small farm was just up the road, I’m sure I could make it there without being… eaten.

Darkness fell upon the castle walls. A dim glow was cast throughout the hallways and corridors. I couldn’t sleep. Knowing I had to jump right back into survival mode as soon as dawn came caused me deep anxiety I just couldn’t shake. I sat in silence on the small stool before deciding to make my way to the window. Maybe the cool nights’ air would calm my nerves. My wishful thinking was cut drastically short when the unnerving feeling of being watched settled over me. I did not have a candle in the room I was in so the glow from the hall created an eerie effect of shadows upon my wall. Fear gripped my heart steady as the shadows began to materialize before me. The familiar fear of being chased returned as the image before me solidified, into the shape of a gargantuan bull. It was a bull. The very thing I was taught to make a sport of and kill. I shouldn’t be afraid, and yet my feet wouldn’t allow me to move. My mouth wouldn’t budge to scream out in terror or to alert anyone. I just stood there. Stood still as the bull walked towards me on its hind legs. A few seconds felt like an eternity before it reached me. My last few seconds.

The bull opened its mouth, presumably to gnaw on my frozen limbs, but what came out was highly unexpected, “Juuuaan”. It spoke my name. Stunned, I fell back onto the bed. The bull turned facing me, calling out my name. I shut my eyes praying it would just eat me and get it over with. Then just as I was about to give in to my fate, I jolted upward, being awoken by terribly freezing water. “Juan wake up already! The Matador is about to begin his show! You’re going to miss it!” Mama yelled excitedly from the kitchen. Tio Guadalupe threw my shoes onto my small straw bed, “You still want to be a bullfighter right?” My uncle meant well. Before last night bullfighting was all I ever wanted to do. But after last night, I think the dream will die with my twelve-year-old age. “No, I think… I think I’d like to be a shoemaker like you Tio.” He smiled down at me as I placed my feet in the shoes, they were new, “Don’t let fear stop you from achieving your heart’s desires. Happy birthday Sobrino.” He mentioned as he pat me softly on the back. He truly meant well. But deep down I knew, the desires of my heart had no inclination to become a Matador anymore.

Adventure

About the Creator

Kay D. Wrytes

JuS

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kay D. WrytesWritten by Kay D. Wrytes

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.