Fiction logo

Special Smoothie

20th April, Story #111/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished 13 days ago 3 min read
11
Special Smoothie
Photo by Douglas Bagg on Unsplash

I aim to write these so that you can enjoy them as stand alone stories, or one after the other. If you'd like to do the latter, here are the others:

1. Just a Nosebleed

2. Vyrus

+

Hi Gramma,

I know I haven't been in touch for a while. That's my bad. I know it's awful of me to reach out just because I need something. Thing is, I need help. Badly.

I'm taking a risk even writing this, because I'll be in trouble if anyone finds it. I'm trusting nobody else will look here, and mostly, I'm trusting you won't snitch.

I'm sorry for using Uncle Jack's resting place this way. Please hear me out. Or read me out. I've got a hunch you'll understand.

I'm pregnant. I found a boy, an actual boy. We did something stupid, and now I'm growing your grandbaby. Like in the old days. No forms, home visits, means testing, turkey basters... Just a boy and a girl and... you know.

I tried Auntie Dharsheena's special smoothie to shift it, but it didnt work. I tried other stuff, but he's strong and he's holding on in there, and honestly, after what I've done to flush him out, he's earned his place at this point.

That's my first trouble: a baby in my belly as stubborn as he is illegal.

The next thing is, everything is fine at the moment... but what if it isn't? What if I need a doctor sometime? The little one is growing in there and all I can do is trust that it's all working right because I don't know what they'll do to us if they find us out. Could you help at all? With your nurses training?

I've got the boy hidden in my spare room. I don't know, I get the feeling you've got happy memories of Gramps and Uncle Jack and you might not think I'm totally stupid for wanting to help him.

He's nice, Gramma, I swear. Sweet. Not like in the stories of the old days. And he can't hurt anyone locked in my room can he? Sometimes he lies with his head in my lap and cries like a baby, but he can't tell me what happened to him because they cut out his tongue.

Please help me, Gramma. I don't know what to do.

Love, Liv

++++++++++++

Word count: (excluding notes): 366

Submitted on: 20th April at 22:47

*Quick Author's Note*

First, and most importantly: thank you for reading!

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one makes an 111 day streak since the 1st January. I can't believe I've come this far! I'm collating them all here.

Prompts: If you'd like to have a go at my unofficial April Challenge (Fucked Up Fairytales) I've linked it at the bottom. If you'd like some more prompts to get your creative juices flowing, I've posted a list of prompts for April, and I've linked that as well.

Thank you

Thank you again! Especially if you are one of the people who has been staunchly reading these daily scribbles since the start of the year. I see you, and appreciate you 😁

I do my best to reciprocate as many reads as possible. If you leave me a comment, that makes it much easier. I'm behind at the moment, but I will catch up!

SeriesShort StoryMicrofiction
11

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • The Dani Writer4 days ago

    I like how you switched it up to an epistolary format and included Dharrsheena's "remedy" in your story. Coolest!

  • Cathy holmes11 days ago

    This series is great! That ending though. I jumped. Yikes!

  • Well done. Your writings are great

  • Dang it! Can't believe my smoothie didn't work! Now would be a good time to go lay in that forest. The Nevergreen? The Neverwood? Sorry I forgot what it's called but you know what I mean hahahahaha

  • Sid Aaron Hirji13 days ago

    Aunt Dhar lol. This is sooooo dark

  • Babs Iverson13 days ago

    OMG! That was horrific!!!

  • Kenny Penn13 days ago

    Holy shit that took a turn! Got all gears in my head spinning with this one L.C.

  • Caroline Craven13 days ago

    If this was a tv series, I would totally binge watch it. So good. Can’t wait to read what happens next. Poor Liv though. She’s in a heck of a mess.

  • Love it! I can’t believe they had the audacity to cut out his tongue!

  • Lana V Lynx13 days ago

    Wow, the ending! I wanna know more about who and why cut out the boy’s tongue. Also, nice weaving in Dharrsheena.

  • It starts so innocently, but quickly turns into this crazy dystopian world! Well done again LC!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.