Fiction logo

Just a Nosebleed

17th April, Story #108/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished 13 days ago Updated 2 days ago 3 min read
18

I hear stories about how things were in those days, and it seems like the virus was a good thing. Women used to be afraid to go out after dark. Can you imagine?

Horrible for those who suffered so much loss, of course, but better for us. The generation that came after.

It must've been so weird, to have a virus sweep the world and every news outlet be devoted to it. And then this one happened, and...nothing. So many people taken by surprise.

Uncle Jack was Grandma's favourite. Her firstborn. A golden boy. Top of his classes, shining career ahead of him. Tall and strapping, good cheekbones. Lashes like a girl, she says. Usually she talks about what he was like, but sometimes, after a drink or two, she talks about what happened that day. She'd say,

I was reading a book on the sofa, and he was sat beside me, playing a game. "Mum!" Something in his voice made me look up, concerned. Blood was pouring from his nose. He must've been frightened, there was so much of it and it was so sudden, The clots coming out were huge! Almost grown, he was trying to be brave. But I knew my boy. He was scared. I was too, but I tried to hold it in. For him.

I passed him some tissue, but it was soaked through in moments. Kitchen roll didn't hold up any better. Towels, anything we tried to stop the flow of blood with, it was useless. Head tipped back or tilted forwards, it made no difference.

I tried to call an ambulance. Couldn't get through. He looked so white... I told myself he was just shaken... The pile of towels just sat there. Wet. Red.

"Mum," he said again. He sounded different, gurgling, faint. "Mum, I feel really... weird."

Half hour later, it was still coming, worse even. I had to hold him up on the way to the car. I lied, saying, "It'll be ok, honey."

It was all for nothing. We got the hospital, and there were men everywhere with the same problem.

Jack never came home.

++++++++++++

Word count: (excluding note): 366

Submitted on: 17th April at 22:45

*Quick Author's Note*

First, and most importantly: thank you for reading!

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one makes an 108 day streak since the 1st January. I can't believe I've come this far! I'm collating them all here.

Behind the story: there will be more to come with this one!

Prompts: If you'd like to have a go at my unofficial April Challenge (Fucked Up Fairytales) I've linked it at the bottom. If you'd like some more prompts to get your creative juices flowing, I've posted a list of prompts for April, and I've linked that as well.

Thank you

Thank you again! Especially if you are one of the people who has been staunchly reading these daily scribbles since the start of the year. I see you, and appreciate you 😁

I do my best to reciprocate as many reads as possible. If you leave me a comment, that makes it much easier.

SeriesShort StoryMicrofiction
18

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Sid Aaron Hirji10 days ago

    they need to make a video series

  • Lamar Wiggins11 days ago

    Of course I had to go back and read ‘Nose bleed’ I love this story. Fingers crossed that it will continue,

  • It's interesting how some of the things that seem so simple or even normal could quickly become a tale of horror. Well done, LC!

  • Emilia Williams13 days ago

    Beautiful

  • Andrea Corwin 13 days ago

    A horror story like the old ones, nice job. poor Jack -no help for him, not even at the hospital!

  • Gosh that was so scaryyyy! Loved your story!

  • Mariann Carroll13 days ago

    This story got me in a melancholic mood. Well done 👏🏽

  • Mark Gagnon13 days ago

    Those damn germs will be our downfall. I like the way you built up the empathy for your characters.

  • Caroline Craven13 days ago

    Oof. I’m ready for the next part. This was great (to read). I’m super squeamish so I wouldn’t want to see it!

  • Poor Jack. The poor mom. His poor, girly eyelashes. Well written!

  • A beautiful, imaginative story. Great!

  • Alexander McEvoy13 days ago

    Goodness gracious LC! Nose bleeds are bad enough without them becoming a second murder plague! And only men get them? Very interesting 🧐 Looking forward to the hunted at next part!

  • Babs Iverson13 days ago

    Magnificent story!!! Love it!!!💕

  • Chloe13 days ago

    ah yeah, i've had that feeling before. (not specifically-- i don't believe i have a fictional virus, Lol.). i had hour-long nosebleeds when i was a kid, and i know the feeling. fantastic short snippet, though. i'd love to see what comes next!

  • Sandra Matos13 days ago

    This is excellent!!! I can't wait to read what's next! Will you be publishing this collection in book form at the end of the year?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.