Fiction logo

Sinner

I am a sinner

By HayyePublished 7 days ago 3 min read

Before I start, I want to be honest, I'm not a good person. Yes, I'm a sinner. But I want to share this story with you. Maybe it can be a lesson, or just entertainment.

So here's the story. Since I was a kid, I was known for being naughty. Skipping school, stealing candy from the store, and often lying to my parents. I remember my parents often scolding me, but their words went in one ear and out the other. The peak was in high school, I got into smoking, drinking, and joining a motorbike gang. At first, it seemed cool, like I was part of something big and important. But eventually, I felt the impact.

One night, my friends and I were hanging out on the roadside. We were heavily drunk, laughing without realizing it was already midnight. Suddenly, we heard a motorbike speeding and then screeching to a halt with a loud crash! Our friend, Andi, got hit. Panicked, we rushed him to the hospital, but unfortunately, he didn't make it. I can still remember the blood, the shock on everyone's faces, the helpless feeling as we waited for the doctors to tell us what we already feared.

After that incident, my life fell apart. I couldn't sleep without seeing Andi's face in my dreams, without hearing the crash. I felt incredibly guilty. Every time I closed my eyes, I was back there, on that road, seeing it all happen again. I decided to quit all those bad habits. But the guilt didn't just go away. I often found myself pondering, thinking about my messed-up life. I realized that if I continued this way, I would go nowhere.

One day, I met Mr. Rahmat, my old religious teacher who I used to ignore. He always said, "Everyone has a chance to change, as long as there's the will." Those words echoed in my mind. Finally, I decided to apologize to Andi's parents. It was hard, but I knew I had to do it.

When I arrived at their house, I felt a mix of emotions. They were angry, of course. But after they heard me honestly and tearfully asking for forgiveness, they began to soften. They said, "We forgive you, Dika. But you have to change." It was the hardest conversation of my life, but it was also the most freeing.

From that moment, I started to improve myself. I regularly attended religious gatherings, participated in social activities, and tried to be a better person. I also became active on campus, trying to be a positive influence. True, my past couldn't be changed, but I learned from my mistakes.

I threw myself into my studies and community work. I found that helping others helped to heal some of the wounds inside me. I started volunteering at a local shelter, helping out at community events, and even mentoring younger kids who seemed to be on the same path I was once on.

My life now is much calmer. I realize we've all made mistakes, we've all sinned. What's important is how we rise and better ourselves. I'm still a sinner, but I strive to be better every day. I know I will never be perfect, but every day is a new chance to try harder, to do better.

I also found comfort in speaking about my experiences. I started giving talks at schools, sharing my story with teenagers who might be heading down the wrong path. I wanted them to know that they could change, that they didn't have to make the same mistakes I did. I could see in their eyes that some of them were listening, really listening, and that gave me hope.

So, if you feel trapped in your mistakes, remember: change is possible. Don't be afraid to start over because everyone deserves a second chance. We are all a work in progress, and it is never too late to turn things around.

Every day I wake up and remind myself of the promises I've made - to Andi, to his parents, and to myself. It's not always easy, but I take it one day at a time.

Fan Fiction

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    HWritten by Hayye

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.