Fiction logo

Sing

A Short Story

By Sascha Smith-AllumPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Sing
Photo by Manyu Varma on Unsplash

Aimlessly hopeful, pacing through the dirt and mush. Trying to find any source of food or shelter. It had been a week since I became lost in the jungle. A camping trip gone terribly wrong. My friends had all disappeared too. I was fending for myself.

Managing to find a source of water, I knelt down on the damp floor, surrounded by moss and fungi. Cupping my hands together, I claimed some water from the fresh flowing stream and took a delightful sip. A moment of salvation. Feeling more motivated, I decided to follow the stream; if my friends had any sense, they’d have found and followed it too.

Chopping down vines, wiping sweat from my brow, feeling battered and bruised. I began to sing. I wasn’t sure why, almost instinctually; but it helped me pace myself and keep calm through the day into dusk. As the dusk turned into night, I discovered a tree that had a large enough hole in its trunk for me to huddle inside it for the night. Using the last of my lighter fluid and some branches I sought out around me, I sparked the lighter I had once won in a raffle. I had lit a fire to keep me warm; the extra benefit was a bug repellent. Looking around me, I saw the jungle light up. Not by the fire, but by the life inside. Insects reflecting the fire, leaves swaying around me; reflecting moonlight, stars filling up the sky. It was the first time since being here that I felt relaxed. I fell into a sweet daze. Exhausted from the day, I allowed my eyes to roll back, the lids close and for sleep to take me away.

Abruptly being woken by the sound of a cracking stick, I bolted upright. My fire had long gone out and only the ashes remained. The cold had now taken affect and I began to shiver. I looked around but found nothing near me. Crawling quickly back in my hole, I began to hum my favourite melody. It had been a lullaby my parents used to chant to me to get me to sleep. As I hummed, I began to hear harmonising. Even words being sang back. I could never remember the words; or where my parents learned it. I began to hum louder, and so did the voices. I could see fire emerging and headed towards me, yet I had no fear. I felt at ease as the approaching light began to shine on me.

I continued the melody until the voices had faces in front of me. Not the faces of my friends, faces of a tribe. They all had a matching tattoo under their left eye; but I did’t know what it was. Just a symbol of some kind. I remembered that it was the same symbol my parents had. I still couldn't understand what it meant. The people approached me gently. Noticing how tired I was, two of the children helped me to my feet and assisted me through the jungle. One of the ladies had kindly wrapped a large leaf around my bruised arm as protection from the elements. They had brought me back to their their village.

It was one large hut, filled with people; all modelling the same face tattoo. Most of them were singing with joy in their voice. I couldn't understand their words but i could feel how happy they were. The children helped me onto the floor of the hut, close to the fire. Directly ahead of me was the leader of the tribe. I took the courage to be curious. I finally asked him what the tattoo meant;

“It means “sing”. This is our way of understanding. It does not matter which song; what matters is how you sing. You were so sad and alone. We heard it in your song. We wanted to help.” The leader told me. His tattoo had faded and bled around the edges; clearly representing his years as leader. I had been lost for a reason. To be found again. This might have been what my parents wanted all along. I wiped a tear from my eye and hugged him, thanking everyone for their kindness. I pulled out the necklace from my boot; which I had stored away before we got to the island. It was a cord necklace with a turquoise pendant. It was another symbol; but not the same everyone seemed to have. It was a gift from my parents when I turned eighteen. A couple months before the accident.

"What does this one mean?" I enquired, handing over the jewellery.

"This one means "spirit". It brings you closer to your ancestors. Helps to find your roots in this world." He explains, handing it back to me. Finally feeling some closure from my travels, I realised my next chapter had just begun.

family

About the Creator

Sascha Smith-Allum

New to this. Always written since a young age and never thought of a place to make them public.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    SSWritten by Sascha Smith-Allum

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.