Fiction logo

Samara

The life of Ellis's firstborn. Part 1

By Danielle MosleyPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
7
Samara
Photo by Ewelina Karezona Karbowiak on Unsplash

My name is Samara Fay. I was born in England on a pirate ship. This is the only place I know. The only home I've ever lived. My father, Ellis, was a well known pirate from England. He was one of the most evil, dangerous men to have ever existed. He loved no one. However, he did love me and my eight sisters. My mother, Daniella, was the love of his life. Especially after I was born. Pirates usually didn't get married and if they did they never had their wives or children on the ship with them. And they also didn't live on ships either. Our life however was that way. I guess my mother and father preferred a ship rather than a house to live in. I was schooled on the ship, ate there, slept there, and bathed there (when we had the water to use for it, that is).

I was the firstborn of nine children. All of us are girls. My mother is now pregnant with a tenth child. I think my parents are more into conceiving than anything else. People would say that my mother is a baby breeder. But the truth is that they just wanted a large family. My mother and father were very close. It took a very long time to mend the troubles they had faced during their first two years of their marriage. My father used to beat my mother. But my mother stayed with him. What changed was when my mother went to the hospital because her heart failed. The stress was too much on her. My father loved her so much he wanted to just rid of her because he felt that was better for her. That was until he found out she was pregnant with me. And when I was born everything changed. The beatings stopped entirely. He was more affectionate, more protective, more gentle.

I was my mother's favorite daughter. Mostly because I was just like my father. I had dark hair like he did. However, I had blue eyes. My mother said it was mainly his personality that I had that made it to where she loved me the most. My mother and father loved all of their children. Just certain ones reminded them of either my mother or my father.

Other than me I had eight sisters. Starting with the second eldest was Edith Ave Maria, Judith Patience, Salome Isabelle, Francesca Ellis, Farline May, Elsa Ellis, Grace Anne Rebecca, and Elizabeth Rose. I loved my sisters and we all had a very close relationship. We fight just like any other group of sisters. But we loved each other. Edith was my father's favorite. She was just like my mother with long blonde hair, blue eyes, and pale skin.

We didn't have a lot of activities like soccer or any other sports. We did things like read together, color, paint and do crafts, crochet, write, and help out with chores. We had a positive life. Our mother and father wanted to give us the life they didn't have. My mother and father wanted to give each other what there parents didn't have.

When my parents reconciled, they renewed their vows. My mother's vows were to love, honor, and obey. My father took the vows to love, cherish, and protect. They stuck to their vows, especially my mother. Her love for my father was so strong she couldn't be separated from him. She suffered a miscarriage when she was taken from him six months after she was betrothed to him. The US Embassy sent her back. She almost died and took a full eight months to recover.

I was born on the first of May. It was two o' clock in the morning when I was born. My father sat behind my mother, rubbing her sides and her stomach. "Don't worry baby. Our child will be here soon." "I know, Ellis. I'm just afraid." Mother cried. "I know sweetheart. My mother was too. Just breathe." "It's almost time. You are doing so well." Edward said when he was finished checking my mother. Within three hours I was born. My Uncle Edward cleaned up my mother and gave her some water. My father sat behind her, holding her and cradling her in his arms while she nursed me. "I don't think I've ever been this happy since the day we were married." My mother said to my father. "I know my love. Me too."

Samara's childhood

Growing up was a little difficult but also fun in so many ways. My life (from things which I witnessed) were full of violence. Many people were killed, tortured, and thrown off the ship to drown. It scared me at first but what made me feel safe was my father. He always made sure me, my sisters, and my mother were safe. My father would kill any man or woman that stepped foot onto the ship that were a danger to us. He provided for us ( with a little help from my mother) and gave us what we wanted and needed.

I sat up in bed one night after having a nightmare. The nightmare was so vivid it was like it happened at the exact moment before waking up. My father and mother ran into the room where I slept. My father sat on the bed beside me. "What's wrong sweetheart?" he asked. I spoke of things that I saw in my dream. I told him that I saw things that were going to happen three days from now. I told him Blackbeard would be caught and executed. My father and Blackbeard were very close. I adored him. Three days later is when it was told to us by another pirate that Edward Teach "Blackbeard" was arrested and was awaiting his execution. I walked into the bed area where my mother and father slept. My mother was holding my father in her arms. She looked up at me with tearful eyes. "It's ok sweetie. Just go on back to bed. I'll be in to tell you one of our stories in a few minutes."

I walked back to my bed area, made my bed, and climbed inside, tucking myself in. My mother came around the corner. She was sobbing. She tried to hide it but it was hard for her. My mother was very emotional. She broke down very easily. "Mommy. Did it happen? Did Blackbeard die?" I asked. She looked at me. "You must be gifted!"

TO BE CONTINUED!

IF YOU ENJOYED THIS SHORT STORY FEEL FREE TO LOVE AND SHARE AND TIP. THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO READ. STAY TUNED FOR PART TWO OF SAMARA.

Short Story
7

About the Creator

Danielle Mosley

I've enjoyed writing and reading ever since I was in grade school. I'm looking forward to making a career out of my talent as a writer. If you like any of my articles be sure to share them and leave me a tip. Any type of support is great!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.