Fiction logo

Return to The Manor

Escaping Darkness

By Sandy JabourPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Return to The Manor
Photo by shannon VanDenHeuvel on Unsplash

As I open my eyes I realize that something has gone terribly wrong. I am in complete darkness, instinctively I reach for my necklace but only feel the chill of my skin. My heart and mind begin to race where am I and what has happened. Every memory I try to draw upon as to why I have or how I have become trapped in this room is so hazy.

I stand up my entire body aches an it appears that I have been sleeping on a concrete floor. I begin feeling the walls, they are made from the same cold concrete. Then I find what I have been looking for the door, alas I open it. That’s when I realize things are much worse than I feared. Something has forced me into the under ground bunker. I can not believe that wasn’t my first thought, I have been in that bunker countless times but never in the dark and thankfully I never had to use this for a real emergency. The question now was what is the real emergency and where was my locket?

As I walk across the field to the town I see many people who look so sullen and beat down. They don’t realize how good they have it the government provides all they need but they remain ever ungrateful. There have been protest lately, they want less working hours and want to be able to buy and sell good amongst themselves. As if the criminals don't already do so.

The government meets their needs not their desires, desires are decadent and unnecessary they only foster selfishness and people will push others down just to get what they need.

I know, I was here before the new regime took over. People only cared about themselves murders, abuse of children and women were rampant, and of course theft.

I lived with the worst of them my mther, she was selfish and evil. She followed here desires from man to man. Acting on every impulse abusing and neglecting my brother and I until the day he died at two years old from abuse.

Even that didn’t wake her up though she continued her ways and played the victim much like these less desirable citizens do. Looking into the crowd of people I see it my locket, I slip into the bathroom and look into the mirror, I look utterly unrecognizable my hair is matted, I am dirty from sleeping on the floor.

I step back out and ask the woman about the necklace, is it for sale. She looks back at me timidly “No Miss, you know the law”. I feel the anger bubbling inside of me and I snap. I rip the necklace off of her and flee. This woman stole that necklace from me and she will pay but the most important thing now is getting back to The Manor.

When I arrive, I am greeting by top military officials. They all question me as to where I have been but I am of no help. The test my blood, it seems that I was drugged with a large amount of Rohypnol.

The problem with this is the public have no access to any drugs who ever did this had to come from my own circle and that is how they knew to steal the small heart shaped locket I wear daily. It holds our governments most tightly kept secrets.

No one has ever seen them but me, Queen Genevieve and if I have to die or even kill to keep our secrets I will.

Young Adult

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    SJWritten by Sandy Jabour

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.