Fiction logo

Reset Again?

Are you kidding me, I just did that last week.

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a year ago β€’ 3 min read
5
Reset Again?
Photo by Drew Hays on Unsplash

The sign read, "reset your password". Not again, what is wrong now she asked. She thought, didn't I just reset my password? I am so tired of this new electronic world and all of the criminals in it.

Someone is always trying to steal something. I don't have anything to steal, or do I? Is it easier to make money in the business of taking from others than getting a real job?

Then she thought that maybe she should try this career of taking from others, like Robin Hood. She thought about hearing that story once a long time ago.

In speaking with a friend about what she has been thinking, her friend surprised her and said, "Anytime you want to know more about that, let me know as I was involved in that at one point and I went to prison when caught."

"I can still help you, though, as long as you promise to not say who gave you the info. Prison on the planet of Mars is not fun at all!" She told him that she was just kidding. Nothing would make her do anything to go to Mars! She had seen some broadcasts of Mars and had heard a few things.

Why Mars she wondered. Why do you get sent to Mars? I have heard that some do not make it back from there she told her friend.

Without hesitation, he said, "Yes, it is not for weaklings. They do not favor or give anyone a break and they say things like, just remember this next time you are taking from another, what can happen to you? Then, it will be worse the second time as you didn't learn the first time."

I would rather go to boot camp if they still have that. I think I will play it safe and not do either thing. Not take from others and not end up in prison here or on Mars.

I always thought the idea of sending people to Mars for the prison was a huge expense and a huge waste of money. Our world is so much the same. We never learn from our history.

Remember when we had people in camps as they were Japanese and Japan had bombed us? Didn't we retaliate by bombing Japan? What sense did it make to have people who were born here and lived here their entire life be in camps for the behavior of someone else in another country?

Then there are reservations, that Native American people couldn't leave at one time. Now it is Mars. What does all of this have to do with resetting my password?

Nothing really. Just thinking about the new world order. And how it is so important to keep our accounts from being hacked. Our property was stolen. Then, as we age we become more and more of a target for criminals. How can people steal from some of the most vulnerable in our world?

She said how happy she was that there are some things about the new world that she enjoys. Then she mentioned a couple of things that she believed the world is doing right.

1. Women have more say in the world than before. She thought it may be due to the change in Roe vs Wade that happened about 20 years ago. It is back again. Women did not like that when it changed. It was a hard-fought battle the first time.

2. Cancer is no longer. We have herbal medicines that can prevent cancer and when it appears, it can be gone with other herbal medicines.

3. Everyone is concerned for the water and recognizes the importance of caring for the water. They actually get now that water is life!

She then said that her wish is that none of these are on a reset like passwords.

Short Story
5

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Nicely done. Prison on Mars sounds like an interesting idea.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fantastic story!!! Loved itπŸ’•πŸ’–πŸ˜Š

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.