Fiction logo

She Lived Alone In His Room

Unknown to her was the outside world that was glimpsed through his window

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a year ago 3 min read
7
She Lived Alone In His Room
Photo by Ann Fossa on Unsplash

The outside world was unknown to her, but she could see a glimpse of it through the window in his room. Just how long had she been living in this room without him? How many days or was it months? Could it be a year?

Was there snow out there when he left? This old woman living in the house refuses to let me outside. It is a good thing he taught me how to use the toilet. I know he has to fight like everyone else as this is one crazy time to be alive.

When will he be home? Can he come home for the holidays? I know she is doing her best to make it all cheery and bright. I can tell her heart isn't in it though. She carries on like he won't be back.

Most of the windows are boarded up, making it appear as if no one lives here. It does look like a prison with steel bars on the windows of his room. Who would want to break into a prison? That may be why we have had no attempted break-ins. That and I am living here.

Someone has to have faith that we will be back together again. She is so much happier when he is here. It is just too bad, she is stuck here too. This world is not a good world to be living in now. War is all around us and we are to go nowhere, or do nothing!

We could have trouble at any minute! An old woman and her son's dog living in a house with, I am not even sure anymore, how many other old women are living here. She takes in the homeless. What would he say if he were here?

She can't afford to feed the two of us and here we are feeding several others!

I have faith that he will come home and get this living situation all straightened out! Then I let myself think about what would happen if he doesn't make it back. But only for a second. I don't want to go there. It is time for me to patrol the house!

I think it does help for some to hear me growl and bark when they get too close to the house!

Then there are the old women that I need to help keep hopeful! They talk most dreadfully about the state of the country and the world. It isn't the world but they sure think that what is going on here is going on in the whole world!

I heard Angie say, "It is the end of the world, I just know it!" Then Phyllis said, "Well, then the suffering will be over!" What suffering is there? These two women never had children. They have food to eat and a place to sleep.

It is a good thing that they have the old woman as they have no home and no family!

That is why the old woman and I need to care for them. I help comfort them as they both like me and don't have anyone for themselves. Somedays I believe my hair will be rubbed right off my body.

I am sitting there listening to the women talk when I can smell a familiar smell coming from the door. Wait, is it what I think it is? No, I must be mistaken.

The door opens and it is my boy, come home for the holidays? And with him, he brings presents for me and the old woman and what smells like baked goods and other good smells!

The women are all crying and the old woman goes to hug the boy, that is a man. With him are a couple of other soldiers. It is a good thing this house is big and can house everyone!

I am so happy, I almost trip the boy as I run around in circles by him. No more doom and gloom while the boy is home! I just hope it is because the war is over and that the world is going to be a better place from now on!

Short Story
7

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Antoinette L Breyabout a year ago

    well done

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Very interesting story.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Awesome!!! Wonderful dystopia story from the dog's point of view loving it!!!

  • Emily Marie Concannonabout a year ago

    Awww so touching ❤️🥰 really felt the love 💕 subscribed I wish you luck 🍀

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is wonderful, Denise. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.