Fiction logo

Rain

Chapter Nine

By Lily AnnPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Rain
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

William’s POV

I walked into work on Friday morning to find father once again sitting in the chair in front of my desk. “Must we always meet this way father?” I asked as I walked over to my desk and sat down. ”apparently we must, are you aware that Chloe is with Mae at this very moment?” I froze then looked over at my father “no, I was not aware of this.” I hoped that my father couldn’t tell the pain that I felt in my chest. “That’s a relief, then. Did you manage to get the mission done that I have given to you?” I unlocked my computer screen and opened a window of notes that I have taken from things that I know about us, “I have found nothing so far, I did find however, that we are not the only kind that are like this.” My father snickered then leaned forward in the chair and clasped his hands together. “How many?” He asked giving me his full attention. “That I’m not sure about.” I replied. He leaned back and sighed, “well….I will give you a week to get the rest of the information. and if I find out you have anything to do with that woman again, I will make sure that you will never see her again.”

I laid awake that night, I contemplated calling Mae. I wanted to go to her, to Chloe but I knew that my father would find out. I had to trust that Mae knows exactly what she is doing, but I am strongly afraid that something will end up happening.

Chloe’s POV

”you… Really can’t age?” I asked, I was still in disbelief even though it’s been three days since I was first told. Mae gave me a small smile and nodded slowly, “I know it’s hard to accept, and it’s not easy to explain but we don’t age. We haven’t aged a day in centuries.” Mae stated as she went over and sat on the couch, she brought her legs up and folded them, “do I always have to repeat everything with you?” She asked, a smirk growing on her face. I shook my head and continued to look around. “And I am a complete replica of the woman he used to love, his…soulmate?” I thought for a moment then turned and looked back at her “is that why he fell for me?” I asked, she shrugged and took a sip of her tea. I went over and sat next to her. “How exactly am I supposed to help him? You said your dad is a real piece of work, how am I supposed to do this without him finding out?” Once again Mae shrugged in reply. I let out a sigh and shot up “this is a huge waste of my time, you bring me here saying William needs my help yet all we have done was sit here and talking about history. Either tell me how I can help or let me go back home.” “I need to think okay!” Mae shouted As she shot up from the couch “father already knows your here, he wasn’t supposed to know yet, but he knows. So if we act now, it’ll be dangerous. We need it to look like everything was an accident.” She stated throwing her hands in the air. “I need to figure out how to make everything look like an accident.” i thought for a moment then sat back down “where is he going to be tonight?” I asked, hoping to gain insight as to where to start by making it look like an accident.

Love
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.