Fiction logo

Put Down the Phone and Feed Me

Waiting, waiting, waiting

By Cathy holmesPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
21
photo by author

Woe is me. In despair I come to you, a poor neglected feline princess tortured into starvation by the horrible, careless human who claims to love me.

It’s been two hours since I had a treat. It’s been 84 years since I last sniffed a dish of my delectable wet food. How am I to survive such cruel, unwarranted punishment?

How could my human gaze into my mournful eyes, stroke my protruding ribs, and do nothing more than snap a picture to post to her stupid Facebook page? Doesn’t she realize how hungry I am? Can’t she see that I am wasting away? Doesn’t my human hear my empty tummy as it cries out for sustenance?

Help me, Vocal friends. Call the SPCA and tell them she’s neglecting me. Call the police. Have her arrested for animal abuse and sent to jail for a very, very long time. Better yet, call Auntie Heather. I know she will help me.

I fear the end is nigh, Vocal friends. My emaciated body is becoming weaker by the second. If I do not receive nourishment soon, I fear my body will begin to consume its own liver. Then, if that doesn’t satiate me, I may have no other choice but be forced to forage through the full bowl of kibble sitting on the floor in the kitchen.

--------------------

For Mike Singleton's "Waiting" challenge in the FB group Vocal Social Society (VSS)

MicrofictionHumor
21

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • C. H. Richard4 months ago

    Poor Abigail! The waiting is definitely the hardest part 😫

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    That face! 😂

  • Personally, I think she's being kind of catty about this whole thing.

  • Julie Buchy4 months ago

    She must be related to our polydactyly, Snitch! Aloof with me beyond measure but the moment I sit down, there she is, looking at me longingly despite having kibble available all the time and having just been given her daily serving of gourmet wet food. It's their world and we live in it! Great job from Kitty's point of view!❤️

  • Hahahahahahahahahhaha what a Drama Queen! Well, I can't expect anything lesser from the Queen's cat, can I? 🤣🤣🤣 Also, hahahahahhahahaaha that 84 years! From Titanic! Me and my cousin always say that instead of saying it's been a long time! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Misty Rae4 months ago

    84 years? Wow, that's a long time to starve a cat! You must be feeding her very well for her to be here to complain like that! LOL. They really do act like that though. Well done, I'm still chuckling. :)

  • Caroline Craven4 months ago

    Ha! Brilliant! Abigail sounds as neglected as my three dogs. It’s a wonder they can walk to the food bowl unaided as they are so weak with hunger!

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    Poor Abigail!! She needs her some wet food!!

  • It seems you are not the only victim of such a heinous crime, Abigail. My boss' cat is sitting by her bowl, glaring at me right now, though I know she was just given food about a half hour ago.

  • Caroline Jane4 months ago

    My two are as equally precious... and they never, ever clear the bowl. What is with that?!

  • I thought Abigail might make an appearance, this is great fun

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Hilarious!!! Did anyone call Auntie Heather?

  • hahaha. That is an SPCA commercial in the making. You just need Alanis Morissette playing in the background

  • Suze Kay4 months ago

    Love that grumpy little face. And familiar with what it means…

  • KJ Aartila4 months ago

    Oh,, you poor Abigail! Now you'll have to come for me to avenge my poor DJ who I just threw outside into the snow to prevent my throttling him for the sad and relentless screaming. For the same delusional reason, I'm sure. :)

  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    Don’t worry Abigail, I will give your mom a tip so she can get you some fancy feast 😂🥰💗

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    NOT THE KIBBLE!!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.