Fiction logo

Overland Pass

The Vacation to End All Vacations

By Christy MunsonPublished 5 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
Overland Pass
Photo by Gemma Evans on Unsplash

you tried

and I love you for it

you tried to strong arm the steering wheel

you tried as best you could

you tried to floor the brakes

to break my fall

to break through

science and physics and certainty,

the calculations running through your head at breakneck speed

//

you didn’t oversteer

you didn’t pump the brakes

you didn’t panic

you held firm

I know

you tried

and tried

I saw it too—in the moments just before

we careened

and careened

and screamed

//

last thing

wasn’t music

or I love you

or are we there yet?

last thing

wasn't my touch

or your laugh

or silence

last thing

was skidding, swerving, tumbling, bumping, gliding, shifting, twisting

metal into plastic

plastic into metal,

cracking, thwacking, smacking, snapping

you

and

I

hitting

black ice

black ice

hitting back

our car

and theirs

and theirs

and theirs

slamming, damning

the ice-coated guardrail

careening, sending

me into you into us into them into them into them

the last chance

for the last of your name

disappearing

into oncoming traffic

into winter

into fluffy white powder that

coated a

perfectly framed mountain of

hopes and dreams, promising tomorrows, giant slopes

that until this precise instant we couldn't wait to

escape to

//

all I care about is

finding my way into your vast arms

and speaking without words

one more frantic moment

being seen by your perfect eyes,

answer me

echoing

as the helicopter finds

a safe place

to land

***

Copyright © 01/10/2021 by Christy Munson. All rights reserved.

Microfiction

About the Creator

Christy Munson

My words expose what I find real and worth exploring.

Top Stories: 🥳

JUN | MAY | MAY | MAY | MAY

APR | APR | MAR | MAR | MAR

FEB | JUN

Unofficial Challenge Winners:

Ask Me in December | Story of Humanity | Strangely Art

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Barb Dukeman4 months ago

    Black ice strikes fear in any northerner’s heart. We’ve lost family in that way, and through your purposefully choppy lines and onomatopoeia you sent me there.

  • Yusuf Alam4 months ago

    🔥🔥🔥🔥👌👌👌Christy You nailed it! 💪 Great job, seriously! 👌 https://vocal.media/authors/yusuf-alam

  • F Cade Swanson4 months ago

    Beautiful. Painful. Your words and structure make a person feel so much. Well done!

  • Caroline Craven5 months ago

    Wow. This was so well written. I felt like I could see the scene unfold in front of my eyes.

Christy MunsonWritten by Christy Munson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.