Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

My Life At Hyper speed

And It's After Effects

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 25 days ago 3 min read
My Life At Hyper speed
Photo by Diane Picchiottino on Unsplash

People tell me all the time, how lucky I am. I guess it’s true, although, deep down, under the glamour and ease of my days I wonder, am I really?

Lucky.

Ever since I was a child, things, people came easy to me. I never struggled for anything. If I needed it, it was provided for me, almost without want. grades, friends, work, and love. everyone loves me. I don’t even try, and still, it comes to me in abundance.

I met my spouse years ago, while I was on a vacation, a contest I'd won to the southern tips of Florida. She was the bartender at the bar we spent most of our days at. Before I knew it, we were spending all of our evenings together. My buddies gave me a terrible time about hanging out with a local, but there was something particularly intriguing about her. With her, there was a challenge, not everything came as easy, she made me work for it, if you will.

But after a few years of back and forth, I convinced her to give up her life there, and join me in mine. NYC, the mecca of the good life. Well, at least mine was. on occasion I would throw some money at the homeless problem, it made my bride proud to be a part of something that aided her fellow man. Homeless not helpless was her slogan. She ran a food kitchen out a small van I bought her. aided the single moms educating their children. really trying to make a difference. I was only glad she was happy, made my life easier when she was.

Life took on a whole new perspective with her in my life. I began to need her around me all the time. I had never felt more for anyone ever in my life, and I was willing to do whatever it took to keep her. anything.

"Mike, Mike, hey buddy, are you still with us?" I felt a tug on my arm, waking me from a deep sleep.

"There he is, okay, hey buddy, can you take a sip of water for me? Come on Mike, are you with me?" I squinted and wiped my eyes, trying to get a bearing on what was happening.

"What is going on?" I asked, my throat burned like it was on fire as the words made their way out. "Where am I?" I began frantically looking around and noticed that I was surrounded by dozens of police cars. worried that something bad had happened to my wife I asked, "Where is Cali?"

As they lifted me to my feet, I could see her. She looked as if she had been through the ringer and the fear on her face as our eyes met, wounded me. "Cali," I cried out, "baby don't worry, everything will be ok." I made that promise having no idea what was happening.

Next thing I know the police are cuffing me while reading me my Miranda rights.

Three days later, I was admitted into the psych ward to have them evaluate my sleeping disorder and use of Ambien.

It's been a year since the events that took place that night. I have come to realize that the entire thing was a dream. An adverse reaction to the drug, Ambien. I had unknowingly kidnapped this young girl that I called Cali, she ran the food truck for the homeless, and convinced myself into believing that she was my wife. None of my story is factual.

My takeaway; don't buy your sleep aids from the guy on the corner.

Stream of ConsciousnessShort Story

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • The Invisible Writer18 days ago

    What a stunning twist!

  • Anu Mehjabin23 days ago

    Interesting story, I like!

  • Kenny Penn24 days ago

    Oh man what a twist at the end there. I laughed my butt off at Mike’s takeaway 😂

  • Cathy holmes24 days ago

    Holy moley. That was a good one with a completely unexpected ending.

  • Mark Graham25 days ago

    Good one. Actually one should not use Ambien anyway. Just learn how to relax with a good cup of tea or a really boring book and off to sleep you go,

  • shanmuga priya25 days ago

    Interesting to read...I liked your story....

Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenWritten by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.