Fiction logo

Heavenly Dreams

Laughter From The Other Room

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished about a month ago 2 min read

I've had this reoccurring dream for as long as I can remember, honestly, I don't remember a time I didn't have it... or at least some version of it.

The dream goes like this.

I've fallen asleep somewhere; the couch, the floor, or even the porch swing. I remember once, having fallen asleep in the car on the way home from a family trip. I am completely aware of the movement around me, I can hear the commotion of everyone gathering their things and heading into the house, but I am so tired, so completely lost to the world that I can't even open my eyes. It's like, they have been cemented shut, and no matter how hard I try, they will not budge, I am unable to open them.

Anyway, wherever I am, I can sense someone picking me up and cradling me. Ever so gently, I am being carried to the place I belong. Whoever is carrying me is sweetly speaking to me, soft and low. Their words float through the air to my ears like a butterfly on a cool summer breeze. Their breath is warm and comforting to my ears, lulling me into a sense of surreal security, making me feel so safe and secure that I begin to nuzzle into the neck of my caregiver, surrendering to the peaceful call of the sandman.

They place me onto a bed, I don't know if it's my bed, but it is soft and cool and the room is invitingly dark, but I'm not afraid. Something about this room is familiar and calming. I hear voices and laughter from the other rooms, yet I remain in a state of slumber. I feel happy, peaceful and content, as I sink deeper into this calm. I feel my mouth beginning to curve into a smile, and my head becomes heavier, sinking deeper into my pillow, and it fits perfectly into it, like a glove.

I feel my breath as it begins to slow down, almost nonexistent, and each breath is longer than the last. I consciencely feel my chest rise and fall, deep breaths in, and then slowly escapes from my mouth in a smooth rush of air, repeating this way until I have drifted into another dimension.

As I become aware of my new surroundings, I see shimmering lakes and clear azure-colored skies, beauty like nothing I have ever seen before. I feel myself beginning to rise, although I am still laying still. The air is full of sounds that I can't quite place, yet I am unafraid. Everything is new and different, but it feels as if I have been here before, many times.

Something about this dream is a little different than the ones before. I am feeling some feelings I have never felt, is that crying I hear? There is music playing and I can still hear voices, but they sound sad. I have the sense that someone is touching me, and they are whispering and caressing my hands and my face. Everything feels different. Still, I am unafraid.

Okay, I am being carried again, but this time, there is no neck for me to nuzzle my face into. I can hear singing in the distance and voices in the other room, but they are more distant than before.

Everything is still and quiet now, in perfect peace.

**

What a wonderful dream.

PsychologicalShort StoryLovefamilyClassicalAdventure

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Hannah Moore14 days ago

    I hope, so much, it is like this. That dream was so gorgeously lulling.

  • What a wonderful peaceful dream communicated with skill and artful detail.

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    Beautiful storytelling well done.

  • This is a beauty

  • Vicki Lawana Trusselli about a month ago

    This is awesome

  • angela hepworthabout a month ago

    Nostalgic and soothingly beautiful.

  • Mark Grahamabout a month ago

    Simply beautiful.

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a month ago

    This was so calming and beautiful

Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenWritten by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.