Fiction logo

My Brand New Android

27th February, Story #58/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
13
My Brand New Android
Photo by Mueen Agherdien on Unsplash

We've all done it. Haven't we? Daydreamed of a better life. A lottery win, marrying someone rich, becoming famous. A giant whisking us off to a castle to learn magic.

Kids like me probably do it more than average. Never in my wildest dreams did I imagine this happening, though.

My parents have never been a mystery for me. I've got a book, see. I know what they look like, and a bunch of other stuff about them. Being adopted was never a secret.

Sometimes I've wondered how things would be different if I wasn't. If I'd be less awkward, more confident. But I know kids with more typical families who are awkward, too, so I dunno.

I've had a letter from the social worker giving me more information as well, now I'm older. It was all pretty straightforward: they loved me but couldn't care for me and it was in my best interests to be placed elsewhere. There were no suitable connected persons, so I was placed with another family. They've been good to me.

Well. Little did I know that one of those connected persons was an eccentric old guy with pots and pots of money. Apparently at the end of his life he felt really bad for not agreeing to care for me, and that brings us to right now. To the letter in my lap and the enormous box on the doorstep.

I have to be honest, I'm a bit mad. He was rich, he could've just left me some money in his will. That dream of an amazing windfall could have come true for me.

But no. Instead he's sent me this. This "magnus opus", as he calls it. I get the impression from the letter that it's the reason there was no cash to leave me, in the end.

I open the box.

It's an android. A really life-like one. And he's gorgeous! He's programmed to look out for me, be a companion.

I sit here, knee deep in packaging, following the instructions to power up this terrific gift for the very first time and bond him to me, as his primary user.

++++++++++++

Word count (excluding note): 366

Submitted on 27th February at 22:59

Quick Author's Note

First, and most importantly: thank you for reading!

Leave me a link to your own latest story, if I haven't already seen it! Especially if you're joining me on this "story every day" madne adventure.

If you enjoyed this story, the best compliment you can give me is to share it, or read another. Here's a recent one from me that just got Top Story.

Pay no attention to the writer behind the curtain: This one isn't a sex robot story (or is it?) If you'd like to have a ganders at my sex robot escapades:

Do Androids Dream of Murder?

These Green Eyes Don't Cry

My Sex Robot

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one makes a 58 day streak. You can find all of them in my Index post. It's also pinned to the top of my profile.

Thank you

Thank you again! I do my best to reciprocate all reads. Please do leave a comment, and I'll pop over and read one of yours as soon as I can.



Sci FiShort StorySeriesMicrofiction
13

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    I missed this one. Well done. Off to check out the others.

  • Alexander McEvoy3 months ago

    This feels like it could be the start of another of your awesome flash fiction serials LC! Loved it :) Hoping to see more and can't wait to see what amazing stories I've missed in my bit of a reading hiatus

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Loved it!!! Terrific Sci fi story!!!♥️

  • Caroline Craven3 months ago

    Okay, hooked! What happens next? Such good writing as always L.C.

  • John Cox3 months ago

    Intriguing take on the rich relative trope! Do you plan to expand on this one we hope? Great storytelling as always!

  • I'd like to think that it's a sex robot hehehehehehehe

  • Quite the gift. Probably better than just leaving you a lot of money. Most people who receive such windfalls seem to blow through it pretty quickly & unwisely.

  • Phil Flannery3 months ago

    As huge as this year is for you, with this challenge and all, I think next year will be harder trying to work out which stories as best to expand on. I'm mean, you've done the ground work already. Great start.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.