Fiction logo

Monstre De Cirque

London, 1884

By Dean F. HardyPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
24
Monstre De Cirque
Photo by DAVIDCOHEN on Unsplash

His lungs rasped inside the tiny room. He sat with his reflection, by candlelight and wrote her:

"Could I create myself anew, I'd not fail in pleasing you."

The pen - wilting in his shovel like hand - gave way and snapped and stained his thoughts across the page.

"Darn you!"

He swung through the mirror and watched himself shatter.

The door opened: "Merrick! You're up!"

Agonisingly he rose to the stage, his head suffocating his skeleton. The spotlight seeped beneath the curtain and terror struck his heart.

The curtain vanished to the sound of his silence and gasp of the crowd.

Short StoryHistorical
24

About the Creator

Dean F. Hardy

Writer from Dublin, Ireland.

*All work here is owned by Dean F. Hardy*

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 28 days ago

    Sad story - I read it as if he is a freak in a freak show, and I felt bad for him.

  • The first word. The first word is all I need to enter into a world of speech & ideas, of presence & emotion, of whatever it is that is real & means something. If only I had that word. Where did I lay it?

  • Morgana Miller12 months ago

    Mm this reads like a play on the idea of “performance anxiety” between the sheets, to me. But I’ve read three times in speculation, and can find other inklings as well… I’ve discovered that I like the unexplained, in microfiction. I’ve been trying to toe the same lines of mystery with my own, as a novice to it. Loved that this made me think.

  • Oneg In The Arctic12 months ago

    This is so artistically crafted. Beautifully done

  • Wonderfully written. Great job Dean.

  • JBaz12 months ago

    So many thoughts running through my head right now. Wow..

  • ARC12 months ago

    Dean, this is poetry. What an environment you craft. My favorite image was the pen 'wilting'... I've never thought of that word to describe that action, but I know *exactly* the 'thing' you're talking about... the thing that pens do when the words just aren't coming. You're such a rockstar, brother. Keep up the amazing work you skilled, talented rascal.

  • Loryne Andawey12 months ago

    Oh 😥. This is tragic. I can feel the banked fury and humiliation. Well done!

  • Brannan K.12 months ago

    I can't decide if he is apologizing to the audience or somebody else. I like hangers like that. Thank you for this one Dean.

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    Wow. Absolutely fantastic.

  • Wow. What a fabulous picture you painted

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    Stunning! Really powerful piece. Well done!

  • Naomi Gold12 months ago

    Shit… this one got to me 🥺

  • Excellent writing ❤️💯😉

  • Heather Hubler12 months ago

    Oh, that last line. What a life to have lived. This made me so sad for him. Excellent piece :) Well done on that one!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.