Fiction logo

Maternal Instinct

a bittersweet affair

By Caroline JanePublished 7 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - October 2023
80
Maternal Instinct
Photo by 🇸🇮 Janko Ferlič on Unsplash

You failed today, grandly and spectacularly. I watched you on that stage as they announced the election results, stood tall, pristine and stoic, the youngest and brightest button amongst a load of stuffed shirts. No other voice had been as honest, genuine, or well-meaning; no other campaign had been forged with such heart.

Still, you lost.

By a landslide.

And a little dark part of me was happy that you had...

... and I call myself your mother.

We drive home, a thick silence set between us, fractured only by the pulse of the windscreen wipers and the brown noise of the slush beneath our wheels. You do not want to talk about it. You do not want to make sense of it. You sit, head back against the headrest, unflinching as the lights of your beloved city stroke your face in gold and meaningless undulation. You are consumed, understandably, by the numb of it all—a stranger to such brackish tides.

*

Growing up, you were the sort of child that all mothers dreamed of. You slept well, ate everything, studied conscientiously, worked hard, and were endlessly kind to everyone around you. I would drop you off at nursery, at your school gates, at your university halls, and you would stride in and away from me with no discernible backward glance, excited by the independence, confident in who you were, carried by a boldness that never wavered. Never has.

Your sights have always been singular and certain. As you entered the world, you were like a salmon fighting its way upstream. Pink and lean, I held you in my arms, and you cried out into the world with purpose, your violet eyes searching to see before they had even coloured. I carried you home in a basket, half believing you could have made the journey alone.

From the first time I saw you, I knew that yours would be a great destiny, and mine would be its bystander. It has been a strange peace to come to terms with. I had prepared for many things as I faced into the role of motherhood. I was not naïve. I knew human connectedness was an unpredictable alchemy, and I, well-weathered, was emotionally braced for its extremes. Whatever the melting pot of humanity had mixed for us, I was ready to face all of it, but what I never foresaw was my redundancy.

Of course, I know the ultimate role of all mothers is to equip their offspring for a life without them. It is, after all, life's natural and bittersweet order. I just hadn't reckoned on the immediacy of realising this end.

No matter what life threw at you, you always coped. What would have shaken any other child you processed matter-of-factly and courageously. No scuffed knee, torn clothing, illness, hardship, or lost friendship ever saw you bow down to lick a wound. Your chin was always raised, your sights dead set. No buzzing fly was ever going to interfere with your target, your grand life vision. You swatted away all of life's everyday problems, turning them into smudges undeserving of your attention.

*

As we drive down the lane toward our house, I want to reach out and touch you. To comfort you after your loss, but I know I can annoy you with how I faff. I don't mean to. I just have this ocean of love inside me that spills out clumsily and awkwardly. I guess, without a receptacle to need it, all great love can make a mess.

I blink on our indicators, and we turn into the drive and roll slowly up to our house. I pull on the handbrake, turn off the engine, and gaze at the side of your head as you stare into the distance, into its dark, lost to it. I wait. Without the motion, the rumble of the wheels and the swipe of the wipers, the silence lies heavy, holding us still until it finally percolates through to you, disrupting the connection to wherever you are lost.

You turn to me. Your eyes are haunted. You search my gaze, hunting for an answer you don't instinctively know. I don't have any answers. But I do instinctively know how to respond. I seize the moment and reach out to touch your arm. Your reaction is immediate, and you crumple toward me, squashing your pristine jacket as you fling your arm around me to hold me tight. I cradle your head against my chest and inhale every breath of you. I stroke your cheek. I stroke your hair and rock you as you sob softly into the quiet.

*

Let's sit here a while in the cold and dark, my love; you can cry, and I can feel bad about how happy I am.

Love
80

About the Creator

Caroline Jane

Warm-blooded vertebrate, domesticated with a preference for the wild. Howls at the moon and forages on the dark side of it. Laughs like a hyena. Fuelled by good times and fairy dust. Writes obsessively with no holes barred.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (68)

Sign in to comment
  • angela hepworthabout a month ago

    Have you read the book Nightbitch? It echoes a lot of the sentiments you express here. Poignant and brutally honest, I loved this.

  • Christy Munson2 months ago

    Poignant piece! Congratulations!

  • J. R. Lowe4 months ago

    I’m trying to catch up on everyone’s stories and decided to limit it to top stories and challenge wins, and omg Caroline you’ve been BUSY while I’ve been away 😂. Huge congratulations! This one in particular is a masterpiece. I’m obsessed with your writers voice - always so elegant. Being able to make a simple car ride (that’s spent in silence no less) into such a captivating story requires real talent. I should get your autograph so I can show it off to people when you’re famous 😎

  • Alison McBain4 months ago

    You captured motherhood perfectly. Really nicely done!

  • Zara Blume5 months ago

    Woah! First of all, congratulations! Secondly, it’s funny that this is a work of fiction, because it’s one of the most honest things I’ve ever read. The title and subtitle of Maternal Instinct: a bittersweet affair says it all. The extreme highs and lows of emotions. Carrying someone in your womb for roughly 40 weeks, and being responsible for their physical, mental and emotional needs (their survival!) until they reach adulthood… then, suddenly letting go of that role, no longer needed. That last part drives it home: ‘Let's sit here a while in the cold and dark, my love; you can cry, and I can feel bad about how happy I am.’ Absolutely brilliant. Reading through the comments, I think Naomi nailed it. It’s a codependent relationship—and how could it not be? It takes a village, but I never met a woman in modern civilization who actually has one. You’d need to be rich enough to afford a staff of help. It makes me wonder how far women would be and how the world would function if motherhood was valued by all. Thank you so much for writing this!

  • Paul Levinson5 months ago

    Brilliant story, on a really original subject. And that ending, the last few words of the story, are solid gold.

  • Amelia Moore5 months ago

    damnnnn. hardcore. but really wonderful too. mothers are such a bloody thing to write about, aren't they? they're never quite good enough. it's so painful to be so connected to another person, holding their breath before they speak, forced into love whether you like it or not. this piece feels like the other side of that coin: you see a lot of stories about disappointed children and their narratives about the mothers who failed them, but this time it's from a failing mother's POV. very fascinating to read. nice work. congrats on second place!

  • Christina Hunter5 months ago

    What an achingly beautiful story of motherhood. It caught my breath. Well done.

  • Alana S. Leonard6 months ago

    Wow—I don’t have words for this. This is just truly beautiful writing.

  • Bekah Jimenez6 months ago

    You described the mixed emotions of motherhood so perfectly.

  • Alicia Anspaugh6 months ago

    Wow! I have no words. This piece is absolutely amazing.

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    Wonderfully emotional and beautifully written. The young one will thank you some day. Congrats.

  • C. H. Richard6 months ago

    This was amazing! Well deserved win! Loved every line ❤️ Congratulations ❤️ 🎊

  • Your narration is breathtaking. One of my favorite quotes is by a famous author who I can't remember and I think it could be attributed to a million different writers but the jest of it is ~If you want to be a good writer, read good writers. And that's what I think when I read your work.

  • PK Colleran6 months ago

    Beautiful story. Congratulations 💙

  • Renessa Norton6 months ago

    Phenomenal writing! Very well deserved!

  • Lamar Wiggins6 months ago

    Amazing work, Caroline! I’m so happy for you and so glad it was recognized. 💖

  • Gerald Holmes6 months ago

    Congrats on very deserved win!!!!

  • Teresa Renton6 months ago

    Back to congratulate you for your prize 🥳. Truly deserved xx

  • Dean F. Hardy6 months ago

    So happy to see this place. Congrats Caroline.

  • Kristen Balyeat6 months ago

    This is absolutely brilliant! Oh my, what an incredible piece! So many layers of emotion, reading this as a mother to two boys. Your writing is simply exquisite and this is beyond deserving of a win! Bravo, Caroline! 🙌🏽💞💫

  • Yayyyyyy I'm sooooo happy this placed in the challenge! Congratulations on your Second Place win! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • The Dani Writer6 months ago

    Phenomenal piece of emotion-filled WOW! And you WON! Congratulations on snapping up second place Caroline Jane!

  • Mariann Carroll6 months ago

    Yahhhh! congratulations 🎉🍾🎊🎈🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰

  • Denise E Lindquist6 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story and placing in the Unspoken challenge! Well deserved!🎉🎉🎉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.