Fiction logo

Lucky No. 9 - Part Deux

that's part two if you don't want to look it up, but you should anyway because why not learn something new

By Heather HublerPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
Created with CanvaPro

So, I wrote the first part of this for the Micro Heist challenge (word count - exactly 200 words), but I had so much fun with it, I thought I'd continue on.

Please read the story linked below FIRST before reading this one, thanks!!

~

Son? "Oh, hell no!" he shouted diving headfirst into the entirely too small section of portal that remained.

He hoped he wasn't ripped in half. That would suck.

And the thing about portals was that the first one through, directed the end point. Tristan had absolutely no idea where his father was going.

What an asshole. He'd totally played Tristan for a fool. His own father for crying out loud. Well, he wasn't totally convinced that was the truth. Even though he never knew his father, the Inspector looked nothing like him.

Another useful fact about portals, the closer the end point, the shorter the time spent transporting. They must not be going far, because he could already see the arrival sequence flashing.

Shit! What had he gotten himself into?

He braced for the inevitable jarring entry, stumbling a bit as he found his footing.

Righting himself, he slowly raised his eyes to look around.

Hmmm, so the good news was Inspector Dad brought them to Lorna3, Tristan's home planet.

The bad news? He was on the far side where the twin moons offered no light.

Or was that because his vision was going black?

It'd been so long, he forgot how little time he had before his current body shut down. He needed to modify. But his muscles were already spasming as his lungs collapsed.

What a way to die.

~

"Tristan."

He felt a smack to the face. And then another. That one was a little too hard.

His hands whipped up to stop an incoming assault, eyes snapping open of their own accord.

Wait, I'm not dead?

"No, you're not dead, drama queen."

Tristan's head spun to the left with a question perched on his lips.

"You said it out loud."

"Oh." He sat there a moment longer before reality came crashing in. Then he jumped to his feet launching himself at the small female, scooping her up and twirling round and around. "Nasara, you're alive!"

"Yes, you giant brute," she said on a laugh. "Now put me down before I smack you again."

Tristan slowed their movement until she hung there, in his arms. Safe. He was never letting her go again.

All the air stole from his lungs, that had been too close a call. His gaze caught hers and he could see now how shook up she'd been. Tears glistened as tremors swept over her limbs.

"So, how did I not just die? My form was already shutting down..."

Pink blossomed across her cheeks.

He stiffened, at once furious and completely in awe of her selflessness. "Please tell me you didn't."

She swallowed hard.

"Nasara, what were you thinking? How could you be so careless–"

Her lips crashed into his, shutting up his rant. His mind filled with thoughts of her and how much he'd craved her touch.

But now was not the time.

With great effort, he pulled back, gently grabbing her chin before she could mistake his intent and forcing her to really look at him.

"Nasara," he breathed. "There is nothing more I want in this life than to be with you right now. But I need to know we're safe. That you're safe."

"Oh my gods, Tristan, put me down," she began to struggle. "No no no, I've just messed everything up."

He tried to hold on, working to calm her, but she latched on with those sharp little teeth and bit him hard.

"Ouch, what the fuck, Nas?" he yelped, trying to set her down gently with her mouth wrapped around his arm.

As soon as her feet touched the ground, she bolted away like he was on fire and began frantically pacing and muttering to herself He was only able to catch bits and pieces.

"He'll understand...Shouldn't have...Panicked."

"Babe, what's the matter?" he grabbed her shoulders, but she refused to turn and face him.

"Uh...um, I have a lot to tell you. Maybe we should go to Ricky's to talk. I could use some liquid courage."

Nasara broke from his grasp and started power walking away.

What was going on with her?

"Wait," he managed to get out. "I need to know where the Inspector, I mean, my father ran off to."

At the word father, she stopped dead in her tracks, slowly spinning to face him.

"How do you know about him?"

Tristan's mouth popped open. He stared at Nas like she had two heads.

"Listen to me," she went on. "It's extremely important you tell me what you know. Tristan, please."

No words came out. He thought he might have gone into shock. Not only because she was asking about a father he never knew he had and somehow she did, but because as she was walking back to him, he noticed the delicate lacy tattoo that encircled her ring finger and trailed up the top of her hand, weaving it's way to her elbow. It was the marriage mark.

His voice was rough and pained as he managed to point to her arm, "Who?"

"Ah shit," Nasara sighed seeing what he'd noticed. "I didn't want you to find out like this. I...I'm married to your brother. Tomas."

Well that was funny, because he didn't have a brother.

____________________________________________________

Stay tuned for part 3!!

Adventure

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (19)

  • Veronica Coldiron12 months ago

    I think I forgot totell you how happy I was that you continued this one! I'm looking forward to #3!

  • C.Z.about a year ago

    What a roller coaster!!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    What a ride, I mean read!!! Love the continuation!!! Loving it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • L.C. Schäferabout a year ago

    Jesus Heather I HAVE WHIPLASH! Post part 3 soooooon please!

  • Misty Raeabout a year ago

    Loved this...so many twists and turns and people popping up, father, brother, Nasara....feels a lot like my family, just sayin'

  • Enjoyed part one and part two is just as good, but that's what I would expect from you. Great stuff and may be a Top Story

  • Whoaaaa, I don't know what hit me! I am still perplexed with the father thing and then you tell me that Nasara is married to his brother?! Okay whatever Tristan is feeling, that's how I'm feeling now. Like what the actual hell is going on. My sweet fear friend, I love you for giving us a part 2 but what the eff, lol! You left us at a cliffhanger! And now I gotta wait! Ahhhh!

  • Ruth Stewartabout a year ago

    Ooooh, I've got to know more now! This drew me in. I started off looking at the language but got hooked into the story. Great stuff!

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Love the twists & turns as well as the dialogue!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    I’m stoked you are working this into a series! I’m invested now. Can’t wait to read more! Part tres!

  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    Portals have rules! Yay for part two! And Tristan?’ That’s always the dark brother

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Ooh damn. Hurry up with part 3. Love how bloody confused I am. Same as Tristan, I guess. This is a great series, my friend.

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    This is tremendous world building and I'm totally bought in already. You have to keep going now Heather as your characters have fans who want more. Your dialogue has reeled me into these folks!

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Stayed tuned! Same time! Same channel …. Haha loving your growing saga Heather 😎

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Another great cliff hanger! Way to reel us in, Heather. 😅

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Oh, I'm so intrigued by this series! I have to know what happens next! Your ability to pull the reader in is unmatched, my friend 😍 I'm so captivated by the ongoing story and by these characters. 🥰 Also, the French is totally matching my vibe right now 😍 Amazing job!

  • Antoinette L Breyabout a year ago

    alternative realities? I'll have to read part three to see.

  • This sounds interesting. Like the dialogue!

Heather HublerWritten by Heather Hubler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.