Fiction logo

Linger

✨A microHERstory✨

By Gina C.Published about a year ago 1 min read
34
Image created with Midjourney

"So it happened here, eh?"

"Yes."

"How?"

A scroll was drawn from a satchel and unrolled. The two women studied it.

I watched from my window. During the summer, the dwelling spirits within the tower walls hushed; eager to eavesdrop on tourists.

"Poor soul."

"So young."

I twisted my strawberry trendils; waiting for more.

"That white dress; how innocent!"

"My, how her hand-ladies sobbed."

"Gentle he was; guiding her to her death."

The scroll lowered, revealing a lithograph. I examined from afar; straightening my long, pearly-white gown.

Some details were erroneous; sure.

Mostly, however, the painting divulged why I linger.

"The Execution of Lady Jane Grey" by Paul Delaroche

Short StoryHistorical
34

About the Creator

Gina C.

Achievements:

  • Twice-published in Vocal's Moment of Freedom Collection:

My Soul of Red

Free Verse

Free-Form poet of ethereal style🧚‍♀️✨

Fantasy writer

A sucker for a good rhyme

Follow my Ghosts of Relationships' Past series:)

TT: poetry.in_pajamas

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (27)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäferabout a year ago

    She is one of my favourite historical figures 😁

  • Thavien Yliasterabout a year ago

    I hope it was one simple, clean, swing.

  • Natalie Wilkinsonabout a year ago

    Great, I think she does still stay in the tower chapel.

  • Deasun T. Smythabout a year ago

    Great job! I've read history of the English monarchs, but this puts a new spin to the story.

  • Stephanie Downardabout a year ago

    Wow! This was very well done! You have an amazing way with words! ❤️❤️

  • Andrei Z.about a year ago

    I really liked it! Great work!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Oh I reaaaaaaally like this one, Gina! 👏👏👏 I wasn’t super familiar with this story but this was fascinating!

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Ooooo, I like it! Great job, Gina!

  • Testabout a year ago

    i got hung up a sec on the typo - ekphrastic piece. a fascinating take, Gina. Your writing here is layered and interesting. One has to work a bit. I like this very much.

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    I adore the blend of art history and fiction. Delaroche's masterpiece is both powerful and tragic. Well done!

  • Amazing ✨😉💖

  • Whoaaa, this was soooo amazing. I love HERstorical fiction and you did a fantastic job!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Great, well executed concept. Your artwork stuns me every time, too!

  • Brannan K.about a year ago

    Excellent job again! Niche topic, and I fear to say I wasn't familiar off-hand. But now know context and re-reading it, I was impressed! Delicate yet powerful!

  • Aphoticabout a year ago

    This is so, so good. Very nicely done!

  • Moe Radosevichabout a year ago

    Nice one my friend 😊

  • Rob Angeliabout a year ago

    This is a fun little version of the story of Lady Jane done by the British children's show Horrible Histories. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gL3wsQII_gc

  • Rob Angeliabout a year ago

    Beautiful and evocative, I greatly enjoyed it. Lady Jane Grey was the first Queen of England crowned in her own right, although in the 1100's Mathilda or Empress Maude through her rights as Holy Roman Empress after her husband's death had ruled England grandly. Lady Jane was just a teenager when crowned, and a woman with high education and great possibilities. Unfortunately in the eyes of England and under its laws, the grim Mary Tudor (Bloody Mary) was the rightful heir to the throne. Off with her head!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fantastic!!! Loved it!!!💖💖💕

  • And why we continue to linger as well. Herstorically heart-wrenching.

  • Kim Loostromabout a year ago

    Such a great read, I know the challenge was micro-fiction, but I definitely want more!!

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Wow. Artfully horrific and unsettling! 🥰 You have a rare vision with the skills to interpret for the impaired reader to pull us into the scene. Literary critics call it Double vision. Awesome story. ❤️

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Great take on the challenge. Well done.

  • Kelly Robertsonabout a year ago

    Love your spin on this! Great job!

  • Gal Muxabout a year ago

    A very beautiful story and painting

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.