Fiction logo

In The Melting Snow

Snow Micro Challenge

By Elise L. BlakePublished 5 months ago 1 min read
In The Melting Snow
Photo by Myriam Zilles on Unsplash

I always love watching the melting snow, seeing all the things the winter tries to hide.

Cracks on the sidewalk, autumn leaves, and forgotten toys left over from summer.

And my mother.

First, I saw her hat. The pale pink now muddied and browned by the slush kicked up from the road.

Next her cheek. Though pieces of it are missing due to some hungry critters starved by the winter.

I try to tell Daddy that Mommy has come home, but he just drinks and says she left us.

A few days later, I see her jacket, but I can’t fault Daddy for believing me since it was once the same color as the snow but now there is a rusty stain on it, the same as the towel Daddy keeps with his tools for when he hurts his hand. Mom said one day he would leave his hand on our basement floor.

I try to ask Daddy if Mommy is going to get cold out there, but he says she is probably warm with some man from work named Steve.

I’ve never seen anyone with her, but I always wave goodbye to her when I walk to the bus stop. My teachers look at me with pity, whispering about a broken marriage, but I don’t let it bother me.

The weatherman says the temperature is going to reach high enough to take away all the snow and then they’ll see.

Mommy will come home.

HorrorMicrofiction

About the Creator

Elise L. Blake

Elise is a full-time writing coach and novelist. She is a recent college graduate from Southern New Hampshire University where she earned her BA in Creative Writing.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Joe O’Connor5 months ago

    "Cracks on the sidewalk, autumn leaves, and forgotten toys left over from summer."- is such a great line, and sets the tone for the story too. This is sad and wistful and I like how it's written from the perspective of a child. Good luck in the challenge!

  • Sandra Matos5 months ago

    Great story! I love what you did with this challenge! Good luck!!

Elise L. BlakeWritten by Elise L. Blake

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.