Fiction logo

Grandma Could Not Find Her Glasses

Hello, I am Right Here

By Mariann CarrollPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - January 2024
Grandma Could Not Find Her Glasses
Photo by Jocelyn Morales on Unsplash

“Dear, could you help me find my glasses? I cannot sew or read without it.”, my sweet old granny asked me.

“Certainly, Grandma. Where did you last used it?” I asked my grandmother.

“I was in my bedroom reading the newspaper.” She reply.

We both went into the bedroom to look for it. We look on the bed, the side table and even in the trash next to her bed. No glasses.

We looked around all over the house. Where could it be? We asked grandpa did he see her glasses.

“The last time I saw you wearing your glasses, you were in bed reading the newspaper.” my grandfather told my grandmother.

He went to inspect the bedroom and did not find her glasses.

We search my grandparents’ whole house for it. I went into the kitchen and looked at the table and counter for it. I look on the floor to see if she might have dropped it. No glasses.

I check the bathroom, no glasses there. I went into the living room. I look on top of the piano, the coffee table, the sofa, the chairs, and the side tables. I tried looking under every piece of furniture, but still could not find my grandmother’s glasses.

We look for hours. My grandmother even retraced her steps to search for it. We still could not find her glasses. Where could it have gone? It had no legs to walk away on its own.

We had our lunch and we continued on our search. My grandmother was getting sadly upset because she could not do anything without her glasses.

“Grandma, did you go outside with your glasses?” I asked her.

“No, dear. I stayed inside and did not go outside today.” She answered.

My grandmother had to sit down and rest. She was tired from looking around the whole house. I kept on searching. I double-check the places I already searched.

My cousin came to visit late afternoon. She greeted everyone.

“Why are you all looking so frantic?” She asked.

“We are looking for grandma’s glasses. She used it this morning to read the newspaper. She cannot remember after that what happened to her glasses.” I told my cousin.

“We searched everywhere and still could not find it. I was going to finish making the dress I was making.” My grandmother said.

“If you cannot find it, I will take you to the eye doctor tomorrow and get a new pair, ok?” My grandfather tried to comfort my grandmother.

“That won’t be necessary, honey. I don’t want to waste money. We will find it.” My grandmother told my grandfather.

We all continue our search. My grandmother was bending down to pick up something. Her glasses fell from on top of her head.

My grandmother started to laugh hard.

“I found my glasses, thank God!” My grandmother announced

“Where did you find it?” We all asked her at the same time.

“I was bending down to pick up a pen and my glasses fell from my head.” I had my glasses on top of my head all this time.” my grandmother kept on laughing.

We all laugh along with her.

*****

This happened true story. We search all day for her glasses. We did not bother to look at her head or even her pockets. We get so frantic in our search for the glasses, we do not pay close attention to the obvious.

It was an unforgettable memory because the glasses were found on top of her head. We got a good laugh from it, too. We did buy her a necklace for her glasses after that incident. Have you lost your glasses?

I will submit this to the fiction community for the Challenge.

LoveHumorfamilyAdventure

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (31)

  • Caroline Jane5 months ago

    😆 Sounds like something I would do! ❤️

  • Ahsan Shafique5 months ago

    Nice

  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    I can't judge, I've used the torch on my phone to look for... my.... phone....

  • ROCK 5 months ago

    What we find when we are not looking! Congratulations for Top Story! Curious about some of the content; did you intend for this to portray a particular vernacular or am I daft?

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Loved your story!!! Congratulations on Top Story too!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Natasha Collazo5 months ago

    Love love love

  • Misty Rae5 months ago

    LOL, I KNEW they'd be on top of her head! Well done, and congratulations on the top story!

  • Tiffany Gordon 5 months ago

    Fabulous job! I've done it before. I even did it once with a cell. I said where is my cell. After a couple of minutes I realized it was in my hand! lol Congrats on your TOP STORY! It is well done & funny!

  • Wonderfil story , really enjoyed this

  • Real Poetic5 months ago

    Great story and excellent item choice. Congrats!

  • Excellent Top Story! I most often 'lose' my mobile phone when I'm charging it while playing music through the sound system in the lounge room! Thankfully now I use my smart watch (clearly more smart than its wearer) to locate it.

  • tarun bhatt5 months ago

    Your story Motivated me to write a story on something similar on my phone.

  • The Dani Writer5 months ago

    Congratulations on the top story Mariann!

  • Raymond G. Taylor5 months ago

    Ha ha I am your grandma! I now have 7-8 pairs as backup. Congrats on the TS

  • Hahahahahahahahahahahaha! Now this was hilarious! I've not lost my glasses before. But there was once I was watching a movie and suddenly I panicked because I couldn't find my phone. It took me awhile to realise that I was watching the movie on my phone 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • David E. Perry5 months ago

    From the start, I said to myself, "Please don't be on top of her head." This happens so much that when my mother can't find her glasses, her head is the first place I check. Good laugh. I'm happy that my family is not the only family this happens to.

  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    Lol. That was very entertaining, Mariann. Thanks for the laugh!

  • J. R. Lowe5 months ago

    Hahaha very sweet story, Mariann

  • Nice Mariann!!! You did a great job with this!!!

  • Kodah5 months ago

    Congrats on top story! Well deserved💗

  • Test5 months ago

    Hillatious- love how memories of funny moments remain x🤍

  • sleepy drafts5 months ago

    Hahaha, oh my goodness, I can totally picture this! Thank you for sharing this funny moment. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Funny story. Congrats on the TS.

  • Judey Kalchik 5 months ago

    True life is stranger than fiction. Funny memory, thank you for sharing.

Mariann CarrollWritten by Mariann Carroll

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.