Fiction logo

Key

Can You Find Me

By Mariann CarrollPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 3 min read
18
Key
Photo by Michael Dziedzic on Unsplash

I unlock the door to a castle. I got dropped among the fallen leaves.

They forgot about me? I have been stepped on by the animals in the forest.

I got peed on . I had rusted through the years. Did they even tried to find

me? I say not. For I open a most treasured home of a noble man. Who will

try to pick me up and take me home. I am priceless and one of a kind of

Key. Yet, they just past me by even when the sun shine on me. I look

Like I am made of the finest gold. Did my castle lock forever more, when

they lost me?

Finally, a child pick me up and place me in his warm pocket. What will

he do to me. He showed me to his parents. They told the child to throw me

away because I was dirty and useless to them. Little did they know, I am a

Key to a beautiful castle of a noble man? I think not for I am precious.

The child kept me in his pocket until his mother washed his clothes and I

Was thrown away forever more.

I road a smelly truck that took me to a mountain of junk. I will never be

found here. I see a lot of missed place keys here. They don’t look as antique

as me at all. Yahhh, people are coming. I will finally be found. I hope they

are adults. They can take me home and investigate where I belong. For

I am a castle key to a noble man.

I was finally picked up by a giant magnet machine. Where will it take

me. I hope to my castle, where I belong. I was in a truck full of mental.

I don’t think I will see my castle today. Why is it dark in here? I think I am

placed in a box. What kind a box is this? I cannot tell but I know it’s very

dark in here.

I am being given as gift. I hear people sing Happy Birthday, song. They

finally open me up from the box I was placed in. I have not been in

anyone’s hands for months on end. I finally I can feel the warmth of a

human touched.What will this new human who owns me do to me? I hope

they know I am a key to a noble man’s castle.

I am place in a key ring with other keys. All the other keys are shaped the

same except for me. They seem to open doors to buildings, rooms and

vehicles except for me. I am stuck with these keys. I feel so useless. I am

just a key for decoration. How can this be, I am a Key to a nobleman’s

Castle.

Great, my new owner missed place all of the keys on the keychain. He

drop us on the drive way. He cannot get in the house without us. Look he

is coming back. Look like he finally found us. He place us in his pocket.

He took us back out of his pocket. He place one of the key inside the door

Lock. He open the the door. He put us back in his pocket.

Look like he is getting undress and changing to his house clothes. He

Placed us on top of his bedside table. I guess this is my home now.

I belong to somebody now. I may never unlock a castle door of a

nobleman. I just hope I will never be missplaced or lost again.

Short StoryClassicalAdventure
18

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Loved your creative story!!!💕❤️❤️

  • C. H. Richard4 months ago

    Poor key! Gives some perspective about being lost ❤️

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    Poor key, at least now it can be happy with lots more keys for company.

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Great job. Well done.

  • This is so creative. very nice work

  • Awww, poor key! No one knows of his greatness! I wish I can give him a hug but I don't think we can hug keys, lol! Loved your story!

  • Grz Colm4 months ago

    Nice, creative work Mariann. Is this for a challenge…? I’m very behind. 😊

  • Tiffany Gordon 4 months ago

    Whoa! That was brilliant Mariann! BRAVO! This is one of my favorite pieces that you have ever written! You brought so much warm to this piece! Go girly go! 👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾

  • Deasun T. Smyth4 months ago

    Fantastic. 😁👍🍁

  • Interesting poem and topic. Good work Mariann!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.