Fiction logo

Genetic Heist

A Micro-fiction

By KJ AartilaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Genetic Heist
Photo by Sangharsh Lohakare on Unsplash

With the brute strength of a patriarch, you took over my genetic code, insidiously twisting, turning, hiding until the time was right. After years of silence, you punched through with a scream. You remain an unwelcome guest.

Each passing day now, a reminder of my genetic legacy, my damaged roots, as capabilities are removed, apathetically paced.

I decided earlier, life is in the choices I make, not those made for me. The legacy I wish to leave is not the one forced upon me.

Surprised by my resilience, you keep adding new limitations to be overcome. I thrive on the challenges, always seeking new ways. I learned early on to claim my independence. My resourcefulness and determination are unmatched. I guess you taught me that. And so I embrace you.

The creation of me, must be attributed to you, the (unknown) sins of my father. It is his legacy, too. To your dismay and disregard, I continue living my life.

You may continue to overpower my physical presence, but I am mentally aware - a thoughtful opponent whose treasures cannot all be pilfered. I am a thief, too; quietly taking back new found opportunities.

Your blood will never be thicker.

familyMicrofiction

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    That was a creative and empowering. good for you. Great entry for the challenge.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    This was so subtly powerful and uplifting...I loved this line so much, 'I am a thief, too; quietly taking back new found opportunities.' Wow.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fantastic!!! Creative and compelling!! Loved it!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Makes me think of "Tuesdays with Morrie". What is wrong with being #2?

  • marie e ehlenbachabout a year ago

    I read your story and it's an eye opener! I wrote a story and it came back NOT APPROVED! Story does not meet the word minimum of 600 words. I only wrote 200 words. I sent a email to them. I´ll see what they say. https://vocal.media/stories/black-penny Thanks for listening to my #$0#, Marie

  • Pauline Fountainabout a year ago

    My insights are glitching but I would have ticked everyone. Your opening paragraph sets the tone and I’m drawn to read more. A compelling read within the Microfiction genre. Masterful writing! Pauline🌸

  • This comment has been deleted

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Wow! A deep dive in so few words. Excellent! 😎

KJ AartilaWritten by KJ Aartila

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.