Fiction logo

Beat the Clock

Race Against Time

By KJ AartilaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Beat the Clock
Photo by Keith Luke on Unsplash

When we walked through the old barns at the back of the run-down track, my eyes set-upon a chestnut mare. On her stall, hung a sign warning handlers of her habit of biting. (I often felt the same.) Labeled “mean,” the horse was destined for the slaughter pen.

Dad headed up to the lounge to place his bets and enjoy a tumbler or two. I hung back, claiming that I just wanted to continue my tour of the barns, as promised in the bargain to come along today.

He disappeared from sight. I snuck back to the red mare’s dusty stall.

I checked the aisle of the barn - no one appeared to be around. I took the mare from the stall with only a halter and rope, hopped onto her bare back and we walked calmly out the back gate. No one followed, or even seemed to notice.

The rear of the track lined a huge meadow. After we sauntered through the opening, I nudged the mare into a full gallop. She took off like a rocket. I had never been on a horse so fast - bonded now by running the race of our lives. We were free!

Young AdultMicrofictionAdventure

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Love this. I can feel the freedom in the air ! 🥰

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Awwwwww, this is great

  • Pauline Fountainabout a year ago

    A fantastic take on the Challenge! Having accomplished my Dad many times to the track, I’d visit the barns with my Mum. And it sounds exactly what she would do! Just not sure how I’d go on the basic. I’d say return to Dad. And help continue her subterfuge. Pauline 🌸

  • Gerald Holmesabout a year ago

    What a wonderful story. IMHO this is the best one I have read so far in the challenge. I really hope that this gets the recognition it deserves.

  • L.C. Schäferabout a year ago

    Oh I love it! You went with busting out an animal too 😁

  • I love the sentiment, but having learned to bite, can she unlearn it. I think of the movie "The Horse Whisperer" & the one horse he couldn't whisper.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    This is awesome!!! Loved it!!!

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    I’m a sucker for any story with a kid and a horse. The black stallion, black beauty I loved them as a kid. You really told this story well the shunned horse, the gambler father, the good hearted kid bravo!

  • Clyde E. Dawkinsabout a year ago

    What an amazing story!! Here's my entry: https://vocal.media/fiction/wolf-in-sheep-s-clothing

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is great. Love that last line. Well done.

KJ AartilaWritten by KJ Aartila

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.