Fiction logo

Freezing Fog

Being Careful Is Sometimes Not Enough

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago 3 min read
7

In The House

“Don’t go out, it’s freezing, and it’s misty, you can hardly see”

“I need to put the bin out, I’ll be fine”

Opening the door it was like the heat was sucked out and cold rushed in to replace it.

On The Drive

I went out onto the step and shut the door to keep the heat in, and grabbed the bin. The tendrils of freezing fog were like needles digging into my flesh but I only had to pull the wheelie bin to the end of the driveway then it would be back into the warm.

I put the bin at the end of the drive and it seemed awfully quiet, but fog can do that to sound, deaden it so everything is just flat, no echoes, no sound. There were no cars and no one on the street though the fog was getting thicker so it would be impossible to drive in.

In The Fog

I don't think I could see further than about ten feet, and our drive was a good thirty feet long, so behind me was fog, and in front of me was fog, and my arms were burning with the cold, it was almost as though the mist was alive, and not in a good way.

I left the bin and turned to go back to the house, it was freezing and the mist and fog was suddenly much thicker. I should have been at the door, but I wasn’t, I looked at the ground and it was soil and grass, not driveway or pavement.

“What the hell?”

The mist is like silver threads and it is entering my flesh, I can feel it like ice in my veins. My partner will be frantic, they told me to wrap up. I don't know how long I have been gone and I feel I am not going to get back, I feel I am being eaten alive or assimilated by something.

I think I can see a yellow-orange light but it makes no sense, this fog is eating me, my flesh is disintegrating, I cannot move, and the light has gone, it is just swirling greyness.

“Is this hell or limbo? I really don't know, I am lost in this fog and mist, and I can't see. When I shout it is swallowed up in the mist”

In The House

“Where has he gone?”

They opened the door, they could just about see the bin at the end of the drive. The fog had not lifted but of their partner, there was no sign. They walked out to where the bin was and could see no one or nothing.

They looked down and saw drops of blood, well quite a lot, that ended in a puddle half back to the house that they had inadvertently stepped in.

They were frightened now, they went back to the house and tried to call the police but the landline was dead and the mobile signal was none existent. They switched on the TV and there was no service, then the computer but the internet was down.

Then they saw tendrils of fog snaking through the tiny gaps around the front door.

The fog was in the house and they felt the needles of fog entering them and saw the blood dripping on the carpet, they were fading, their flesh was being eaten by something, and they could not now move.

NEWSFLASH

“WAR HAS BEEN DECLARED !! Manchester has been hin hit by an organic chemical dust weapon and has been sealed off. If you have relatives there do not try and contact them, THEY ARE DEAD !!

WAR HAS BEEN DECLARED !!

If you are hit by one of these weapons, there is no defence apart from a totally sealed room and if there is any way in, this weapon will find it. Cities are being targeted but the whole country will be covered in six months.

WE DO NOT KNOW WHO IS ATTACKING US BUT WE ARE AT WAR

GOD HELP US”

Sci FiShort Story
7

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Creepy. I can see it. 👀

  • Whoaaaa!!!! I loved the concept of this weapon. Very creative and unique!

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    The next Netflix series 🥰

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is great, Mike. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.