Fiction logo

Foggy Half- Real Hellscape

3rd May, Story #124/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished 2 months ago 3 min read

The mist curled around my paws. I listened to her footsteps. Bless her pink nighty, she thinks she's soft-footed. She thinks I don't know she's following.

I keep my pace measured, tail waving carelessly, as if I didn't know she was there.

It took every ounce of control not to unfold into the tiger and turn in one fluid motion with my teeth bared. How dare you! Don't you know how dangerous it could be? Don't you know you were never supposed to see that?

I came to a stop, sat with my tail curled round my paws, and started washing my ears. Waiting. I knew by my whiskers she was hugging her knees, chewing her lip, eyes wide.

I was getting far too comfortable in this cat body. I was going to have to do something about that.

"Tilly?" she said, in a voice like a mouse. "Are you mad?"

Yes, I admitted, A bit.

"On'y a bit?"

A bit mad at you, I said, and a lot mad at me.

"Why?"

I should've been more careful. You should never see that.

She shrugged. "It's not real. He's ok when he wakes up, right?"

I thought of him, his skin hanging and grey, his eyes hollow, feet shuffling. The pause went on a little too long. Mostly, I said.

Another pause. Hannah didn't say, "Like me". The thought reverberated in my mind anyway.

I was suddenly tired of this shape, this dreamworld. Sickened. Longing for the realness of my fleshy body, my flat, my job.

Still not looking at her, I said, I can't visit tomorrow.

"But you will come back won't you?" I could hear the dewdrops standing in her eyes.

What have I done? In my quest for vengeance, or rationalisation... how much damage have I done? Now she will think this is her fault, as well.

The real world is less complicated, and I wanted to fold it round me like a blanket and never set foot in this foggy half real hellscape ever again.

Yes.

The word tasted bitter.

++++++++++++

Word count: (excluding note): 366

Submitted on: 3rd May at 23:45

*Quick Author's Note*

First, and most importantly: thank you for reading!

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one makes an 124 day streak since the 1st January. As easy as 1,2,3! I'm collating them all here.

If you'd like to lend your support to the other creators also on this story a day adventure:

Rachel Deeming

Gerard DiLeo

Prompts: Shoot, I am late with my May prompts because I am working on the April challenge! Bear with me!

Thank you

Thank you again! Especially if you are one of the wonderful people who has been staunchly reading these daily scribbles since the start of the year. I see you, and appreciate you 😁

I do my best to reciprocate as many reads as possible. If you leave me a comment, that makes it much easier. Thank you for your patience while I catch up with reads!

++++++++++++

SeriesShort StoryMicrofiction

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (14)

  • Donna Fox (HKB)2 months ago

    Well this certainly was a savoury tidbit and had me craving more! Nicely done LC!!

  • Gerard DiLeo2 months ago

    Clawing at the mind, stalking dreams. Very creepy.

  • Katarzyna Popiel2 months ago

    I got hooked, can't wait for the next episode!

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    Oh it's for the best!

  • Oooo, dewdrops on her eyes. I loved that!

  • Carol Townend2 months ago

    These stories about cats are sweet, and yours is a pleasure to read.

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Uh oh. Tilly is in trouble. Seems a little to attached. Another great entry.

  • Caroline Craven2 months ago

    So good! I love this series.

  • Esala Gunathilake2 months ago

    Well done

  • Mark Gagnon2 months ago

    A shape-shifter cat, a mind walker, or both? Questions, so many questions.

  • Oof - when the Reality sets in unexpectedly! Well done LC!

  • John Cox2 months ago

    I love this series, LC. But I can’t help but wonder when your narrator pines for the real if I hear just a smidgen of your voice in hers as well.

  • Heather Hubler2 months ago

    Ooo, I loved all the tidbits dropped here and there keeping me dialed in. Great last lines!

  • Alex H Mittelman 2 months ago

    Maybe add sugar to the word! Very well written! I loved it! ♥️❤️🎈😇🦊

L.C. SchäferWritten by L.C. Schäfer

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.