Fiction logo

F#

-

By Lisa HerdmanPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
6
F#
Photo by Sarah Dao on Unsplash

Hard chair-sitting, Ellie holds the violin at a sharp angle. I gentle her elbow and with an encouraging smile, move her into correct position.

She goads the bow down the string, another angle, half correct. She looks embarrassed. "You never needed help..."

"I did, and I still do." She breathes in slowly, and I follow.

I gently press her fingers down on the strings, a memory of bow-resin and callouses, a gentle hand over another's, the same way my mother taught me.

Her next note is perfect.

familyShort Story
6

About the Creator

Lisa Herdman

I'm learning to be wildly inappropriate, ridiculous, needy - and alive.

Thank you so much for all the support!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • F. Leonora Solomon12 months ago

    Lisa, with even a few words you always tell such a STORY. there is so much not said...

  • Beautiful. Learning to fiddle or more classical?

  • Jay Kantor12 months ago

    Dear Lisa ~ It saddens me that you must think I'm out of your loop ~ Although we constantly end up on Google together - I enjoy your work! Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Author Community -

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.